National Football League Round 5

Kerry 0-16 Laois 0-12

Cavan 0-13 Cork 0-12

Carlow 1-10 Tipperary 1-9 – Match Report

Offaly 0-13 Waterford 1-8 – Match Report

Clare 0-11 Wicklow 0-8

Down vs. Limerick – postponed

National Football League

Limerick lost to Fermanagh on a scoreline of 0-14 to 1-7 in a rearranged National Football League match on Saturday.

Munster Under 21 Football Championship

The Munster Under 21 Football Championship semi-finals took place on Saturday and resulted in victories for Kerry and Tipperary.

Kerry 0-15 Cork 0-10 – Kerry ended five years of Cork domination with a power-packed second half performance to send the All-Ireland champions out of the Munster U-21 FC at the Austin Stack Park.

Tipperary 2-7 Waterford 1-6 – First half goals from Darrel Darcy and Richard Ryan proved decisive as Tipperary advanced to a second successive Munster U-21 football final with a four-point victory over Waterford in Ardfinnan. Match Report

National Hurling League Round 5

Galway and Kilkenny have qualified for the Division 1 semi-finals of the National Hurling League. Tipperary and Limerick qualified for the Quarter-Finals from Division 1B. Cork and Waterford finished level on points in Division 1A and will play off on Sunday at Walsh Park Limerick (note change of venue) to determine who finishes second and third. The winner of this playoff will play Limerick while the loser will take on Tipperary in the Quarter-Finals to be played on April 6th.

Galway 2-24 Limerick 1-16 – Match Report

Tipperary 4-17 Laois 1-12 – Match Report

Cork 0-22 Wexford 1-17 – Match Report

Clare 1-18 Offaly 2-13 – Match Report

Waterford 3-18 Dublin 1-17

Kerry 4-9 Mayo 1-16

Munster Council Annual Convention

The annual convention of the Munster Council took place on Friday, February 29th at the West County Hotel in Ennis. Ger Hickey (Treasurer) and Willie O’Connor (PRO) stepped down from their positions are completing their three year terms. Michael Power (Tipperary) was elected as the new Munster Council Treasurer while Jim Forbes (Cork) is the new Munster Council PRO.

Munster Council GAA Staff Appointments

At a meeting of Munster Council GAA on Tuesday February 26th, the following staff appointments were announced –

CEO / Rúnaí: Pat Fitzgerald (Limerick) former Limerick County Board Chairman
Deputy CEO / Rúnaí: Daniel Nelligan (Kerry) Ticketing Manager Croke Park

Both of these personnel will take up their appointments on 1st April 2008.

Munster Under 21 Football Championship

The Munster Under 21 Football Championship got underway on Saturday with victories for Tipperary and Kerry. Tipperary came from behind to defeat Clare by 1-9 to 1-7 at Ardfinnan while Kerry proved too strong for Limerick, winning by 0-18 to 1-8. The semi-finals will take place on Saturday next when Tipperary play Waterford and Cork take on Kerry.

Dr. Harty Cup Hurling Final – De La Salle Waterford vs. Thurles CBS

De La Salle Waterford 1-11 Thurles CBS 0-6 – De La Salle put back-to-back victories in the Dr Harty Cup together at Leahy Park, Cashel on Saturday afternoon as they easily disposed of the challenge of Thurles CBS in what was an easier victory for the defending champions than many had predicted.

All-Ireland Vocational Schools Hurling Final

Cork 2-14 Galway 3-10 – Although they were slow enough to settle and had to withstand a late rally by Galway, Cork enjoyed an edge for most of a lively and entertaining All-Ireland inter-county Vocational Schools hurling final which attracted a fair-sized crowd to Carrigoon in Mallow. Match Report

Munster Under 21 Football Championship

The Munster Under 21 Football Championship gets underway on Saturday next. Tipperary will play Clare in Ardfinnan while Kerry host Limerick at Tralee. Both games will throw-in at 2:30pm.

LIMERICK (U21 v Kerry): G. Ryan; L. Martin, M. McCormack, M. Cahill; K. Nolan, E. Joy, G. Collins ; L. Kavanagh, P. Corrigan; J. Barry- Murphy, J. Ryan, M. Scannell; M. Quilligan, I. Ryan, N. Mulvihill.

KERRY (U21 FC v Limerick): T. Mac an tSaoir; C. O’Mahony, M. Moloney, E. Murphy; A. O’Sullivan, K.Young Capt , S. Enright; D. Moran, A. O’Sullivan; P. Curran, T. Walsh, B. Looney); K. O’Leary, M. O’Donoghue, P. O’Connor.
Subs: G. Kissane, K. Brennan, E. O’Neill, J. Buckley, J. Doolan, G. Sayers, G. O’Driscoll, G. Duffy, E. Hickson

TIPPERARY (U-21F vs. Clare) – Matthew O’Donnell (Killenaule); John Coghlan (Moyne/Templetuohy), Ciaran McDonald (Aherlow), Brian Fox (Eire Og Annacarty); Christopher Aylward (Clonmel Og), John Hennessy (Aherlow), Paddy Codd (Killenaule); George Hannigan (Shannon Rovers – Captain), Philip Donnellan (Shannon Rovers); Brian Jones (Arravale Rovers), Ciaran McGrath (Loughmore/Castleiney), Cathal Dillon (Aherlow); Timmy Dalton (Arravale Rovers), Seamus Grogan (Aherlow), Darrel Darcy (Shannon Rovers)