Munster Senior Football Championship

Tipperary vs. Limerick

Tipperary will play Limerick in Fermoy on Sunday at 3:30pm in the first round of the Munster Senior Football Championship.

The counties met 31 times in the Munster championship with Tipperary having won 21 times to Limerick’s eight while there have been two draws. Limerick won their last clash in 2004 en route to the Munster final where they lost in a replay to Kerry. Limerick were in Division 3 of this year’s National League where they finished in 6th place after wining two, drawing one and losing four of their seven games. Tipperary had a great run in Division 4, clinching promotion after winning six of their eight games. They later lost the final to Offaly who were also promoted. Next Sunday’s winners will play Cork in the semi-final on June 15.

Limerick (SFC v Tipperary): Sean Kiely; Diarmuid Carroll, Johnny McCarthy, Stephen Walsh; Padraig Browne, Stephen Lavin, Pa Ranahan; Tom Cahill, John Galvin; Stephen Kelly, James Ryan, Seanie Buckley; Kieran O’Callaghan, Dermot Phelan, Ian Ryan.
Subs: Mike Jones, Shane Gallagher, Ger Collins, Andrew Lane, Mike Crowley, John Cooke, Lorcan O’Dwyer, Micheal Reidy, John Marsh, Tom Collins, Gareth Noonan, Pat Ahern, Eoin Keating, Conal O’Cruali, James Donovan, Darragh McMahon, Conor Mullane.

TIPPERARY (SFC vs. Limerick) – Paul Fitzgerald (Fethard); Aidan Foley (Moyle Rovers – Captain), Mark Peters (Galtee Rovers), Ciaran McDonald (Aherlow); Paddy Codd (Killenaule), Robbie Costigan (Cahir), Niall Curran (Mullinahone); Kevin Mulryan (J. K. Brackens), Eamon Hanrahan (Commercials); Paul Johnson (Moyle Rovers), Brian Jones (Arravale Rovers), Damian O’Brien (Eire Og-Annacarty) ; Sean Carey (Moyle Rovers), Seamus Grogan (Aherlow), Barry Grogan (Aherlow)

2004 -Limerick 0-16 Tipperary 3-5
1998 – Tipperary 1-13 Limerick 1-12
1997 – Tipperary 1-17 Limerick 2-8
1993 – Tipperary 3-18 Limerick 3-8
1991 – Limerick 0-14 Tipperary 2-7

Cork 2-14 Limerick 0-7 (Munster quarter-final) Louth 0-14 Limerick 0-13 (Qualifier – R1)

Cork 2-18 Tipperary 0-10 (Munster semi-final) As a Division 4 team, Tipperary were ineligible for the All-Ireland qualifiers but competed in the Tommy Murphy Cup where they lost to Clare.
Clare vs. Waterford

Clare will play Waterford in Cusack Park Ennis on Sunday at 3:30pm in the first round of the Munster Senior Football Championship.

The counties have clashed 26 times in the Munster championship, with Clare holding a 15-9 lead, while there have been two draws. It’s the second time in a year that they met in the Munster campaign, with Waterford hoping to repeat last season’s success which was achieved on a 1-6 to 0-7 scoreline in Dungarvan. Prior to that, Clare had won their previous four clashes with Waterford. The counties also clashed in this year’s National League with Waterford having six points to spare in their Division 4 tie in Dungarvan in early March. Connie Power kicked 1-9 for the rampant Waterford men that day. Next Sunday’s winners will play Kerry in the semi-final on June 15.

2007 – Waterford 1-6 Clare 0-7
2005 – Clare 2-14 Waterford 2-10
2002 – Clare 3-10 Waterford 2-9
2000 – Clare 0-15 Waterford 1-7
1990 – Clare 0-13 Waterford 0-9

Waterford 1-6 Clare 0-7 (Munster quarter-final) As Division 4 teams, neither were eligible to compete in the All-Ireland qualifiers. Both played in the Tommy Murphy Cup where Clare beat Tipperary before losing to Antrim while Waterford beat Carlow but lost to Wicklow.