Munster Senior Hurling Championship

Clare vs. Waterford
Gaelic Grounds Limerick
2:00pm on Sunday June 1st

They meet for the sixth time in ten years in the Championship and for the 28th time in all. The wins read 14-9 in Clare’s favour while four games have been drawn from their previous 27 encounters. They last met in the Championship in 2005 when Clare won an All-Ireland qualifier tie by five points, having been well beaten a year earlier in the Munster first round. Clare, now under the management of Mike McNamara, haven’t won a Munster first round tie since beating Tipperary in 2003. Prior to that Clare had lost first round games in 2000-2001-2002 so they’re seeking their second win this decade in first round action.

Justin McCarthy is leading Waterford into the Championship for the seventh season, a period in which they have won three Munster titles (2002-2004-2007).Waterford have never retained the Munster title, a challenge which they are looking forward to taking on while Clare will be hoping to make more progress at provincial level than has been the case this decade. They last reached the Munster final in 1999 so this is a prolonged absence from the province’s big day. In fact, not since the 1940’s when they failed to reach any Munster final have Clare gone this far into the decade without an appearance in the final.

Team News

CLARE (SH v Waterford) — P Brennan; G O’Grady, F Lohan, D Clancy; B Bugler, C Plunkett, P Donnellan; B O’Connell, C Lynch; D McMahon, T Griffin, J Clancy; N Gilligan, T Carmody, M Flaherty.

WATERFORD (SH vs. Clare): Clinton Hennessy, Brian Phelan, Kevin Moran, Aidan Kearney, Tony Browne, Declan Prendergast, Jack Kennedy, Michael Walsh( capt ), Dave Bennett, Dan Shanahan, Garry Hurney, Stephen Molumphy, John Mullane, Seamus Prendergast, Eoin McGrath

Ticket Details

Covered Stand = €30
Uncovered Stand = €25
Terrace = €20
OAP’s will get €10 refund on stand tickets at specific stile

Munster Council GAA announces that Family Tickets for the North Stand will be available to purchase for this Sunday’s GAA Munster Senior Hurling Championship Quarter-Final (Clare v Waterford) from ticket outlets at the Caherdavin End of the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday morning from 11.30am. Family tickets (one adult and one juvenile) will cost €30.

A limited number of Mackey Stand tickets will also be available to purchase from the ticket office on the Ennis Road from 11.30am. Tickets will cost €30.

There is a €10 concession refund available to Senior Citizens on Sunday. To avail of the concession a Senior Citizen must first purchase a full price Mackey or North Stand ticket. The refund will be given on production of valid photographic ID at the relevant turnstile (Stile 11 on the Mackey Stand, Stile 51 on the North Stand) prior to entering the stadium.

Entry to the Terrace is by payment at the turnstiles. Adult admission will cost €20 while Students and Senior Citizens admission will cost €15.

Last Five Championship Meetings

2005: Clare 4-14 Waterford 0-21 (All-Ireland qualifiers)
2004: Waterford 3-21 Clare 1-8 (Munster 1st round)
2002 – Clare 1-16 Waterford 1-13 (All-Ireland semi-final)
1998 – Clare 2-16 Waterford 0-10 (Munster final replay)
1998 – Clare 1-16 Waterford 3-10 (Munster final)
Clare 3, Waterford 1, Draw 1.