Munster Senior Hurling Championship

Cork and Tipperary will contest the Munster Senior Hurling Championship Semi-Final on Sunday next June 8th at 2:15pm.

Ticket Details

A limited number of Terrace Tickets for this game will be on Sale on Sunday next from 11:00am at Kiosk’s situated at Maryville (by the Venue Bar), Centre Park Road and Monahan Road.

Team News

CORK (SH v Tipperary): D Óg Cusack; S O’Neill, D O’Sullivan, B Murphy; J Gardiner, R Curran, S Óg Ó hAilpín; J O’Connor, T Kenny; B O’Connor, K Canty, T McCarthy; P O’Sullivan, P Cronin, C Naughton.

TIPPERARY (SH vs. Cork): Brendan Cummins (Ballybacon-Grange); Eamonn Buckley (Drom & Inch), Paul Curran (Mullinahone), Conor O’Brien (Eire Og Annacarty); Eamon Corcoran (JK Brackens), Conor O’Mahony (Newport), Shane Maher (Burgess); James Woodlock (Drom & Inch), Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch); Seamus Butler (Drom & Inch), Seamus Callinan (Drom & Inch), Ryan O’Dwyer (Cashel King Cormacs); Eoin Kelly (Mullinahone), Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields), Willie Ryan (Toomevara)

Past Meetings

Cork and Tipperary have met 76 times in the championship (including two All-Ireland qualifiers) with Cork leading 36-33 while there have been seven draws. That really is remarkably close between these great rivals who rarely serve up a disappointing game. Tipperary beat Cork by a point in last year’s All-Ireland qualifiers, having lost the previous five contests, stretching back to 1992. Tipperary’s last Munster championship win over Cork was in 1991 when they won a final replay.

Tipperary have a poor ‘away’ record against Cork, having failed to win on Leeside since 1922 when they won a semi-final clash by 6-2 to 3-2. The closest they came to a win in Cork since then was in 1991 when they drew the Munster final in Pairc Ui Chaoimh before winning the replay in Thurles. Cork are in pursuit of their fifth Munster title this decade, having previously won in 2000-2003-2005-2006 while Tipperary’s last provincial title success was in 2001.


2007 – Tipperary 2-16 Cork 1-18 (All-Ireland qualifier)
2006 – Cork 2-14 Tipperary 1-14 (Munster final)
2005 – Cork 1-21 Tipperary 1-16 (Munster final)
2004 – Cork 2-19 Tipperary 1-16 (All-Ireland qualifier)
2000 – Cork 0-23 Tipperary 3-12 (Munster final)
Cork 4, Tipperary 1.


Tipperary 2-16 Cork 1-18, Thurles (July 14)
Cork led by 0-7 to 0-2 after 15 minutes but Tipperary battled back and were only a point adrift at half-time. A productive spell by Tipperary in the second half saw them open up a six point lead but Cork battled back before eventually coming up a point short after a truly absorbing contest. Willie Ryan scored 2-3 (2-0 from open play) for Tipperary while Neil Ronan (1-2) and J Deane (0-5, 0-4 frees) were Cork’s top scorers.

Tipperary: Gerry Kennedy; Eamonn Buckley, Declan Fanning, Alan Byrne; Eamonn Corcoran, Conor O’Mahony, Shane Maher; Hugh Maloney (0-2), Seamus Butler (0-2); Darragh Hickey (0-1), Benny Dunne (0-3), Francis Devaney; Lar Corbett (0-3), Michael Webster, Willie Ryan (2-3).
Subs: John Carroll (0-1) for Devaney; Darragh Egan (0-1) for Webster; Shane McGrath for Hickey, Pa Bourke for Ryan.

Cork: Donal Og Cusack; Shane Murphy, Diarmuid O’Sullivan, Cian O’Connor; John Gardiner, Ronan Curran, Sean Og O hAilpin; Kevin Hartnett (0-2), Jerry O’Connor (0-3); Kieran Murphy (Erin’s Own) (0-2), Ben O’Connor (0-1), Pa Cronin (0-2); Neil Ronan (1-2), Kieran Murphy (Sarsfields) (0-1), Joe Deane (0-5)
Subs: Brian Murphy for Cian O’Connor; Tom Kenny for Kieran Murphy (Erin’s Own, Timmy McCarthy for Hartnett, Cathal Naughton for Kieran Murphy (Sarsfields).