Munster Football Championship Finals

Cork vs. Kerry (Senior) and
Kerry vs. Tipperary (Minor)

The Munster Senior and Minor Football Championship Finals will take place in Pairc Ui Chaoimh on Sunday July 6th. Kerry will take on Tipperary at 12:00pm in the Minor decider while at 2:00pm, old rivals Cork will play Kerry in the Senior final.

Match Preview

Always a great football championship rivalry, Cork v Kerry has gathered further momentum since the introduction of the All-Ireland qualifiers in 2001, resulting in the counties meeting no less than seven times in the last three seasons alone. Next Sunday’s Munster final clash will, in fact, be the 14th championship meeting between the counties since 2000.

Defending champions, Kerry hold a big lead over Cork on the Munster honours table, having won the Munster title on no fewer than 72 occasions between 1892 and 2005. Cork have won the title on 34 occasions. Next Sunday’s game at Pairc Ui Chaoimh will have a 2:00pm throw-in and will be shown ‘live’ on RTE 2.

Cork v Kerry: Clashes since 2000

Kerry 9, Cork 2, Draws 2.
2007: Kerry 3-13 Cork 1-9 (All-Ireland final)
2007: Kerry 1-15 Cork 1-13 (Munster final)
2006: Kerry 0-16 Cork 0-10 (All-Ireland semi-final)
2006: Cork 1-12 Kerry 0-9 (Munster final replay)
2006: Cork 0-10 Kerry 0-10 (Munster final)
2005: Kerry 1-19 Cork 0-9 (All-Ireland semi-final)
2005: Kerry 1-11 Cork 0-11 (Munster final)
2004: Kerry 0-15 Cork 0-7 (Munster semi-final)
2002: Kerry 3-19 Cork 2-7 (All-Ireland semi-final)
2002: Cork 0-15 Kerry 1-9 (Munster semi-final replay)
2002: Cork 0-8 Kerry 0-8 (Munster semi-final replay)
2001: Kerry 0-19 Cork 1-13 (Munster final)
2000: Kerry 2-15 Cork 1-13 (Munster semi-final)

Team News

CORK (SF v Kerry): A Quirke; D Duggan, G Canty, K O’Connor; B O’Regan, G Spillane, A Lynch; A O’Connor, D Kavanagh; N Murphy, P O’Neill, S O’Brien, D Goulding, D O’Connor, J Hayes.

KERRY (SF v Cork): Diarmuid Murphy (Dingle); Marc Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht), Tom O’Sullivan (Rathmore), Padraig Reidy (Scartaglin); Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht – Captain), Aidan O’Mahony (Rathmore), Killian Young (Renard); Darragh Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht), Seamus Scanlon (Currow); Donnacha Walsh (Cromane), Eoin Brosnan (Dr. Crokes), Seán O’Sullivan (Cromane); Colm Cooper (Dr. Crokes), Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks) , Brian Sheehan (St Mary’s)
Subs: Kieran Cremin (Dr. Crokes), Tommy Griffin (Dingle), Darren O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar), Tommy Walsh (Kerins O’Rahilly’s), Michéal Quirke (Kerins O’Rahillys), Daniel Bohane (Austin Stacks), Mike Frank Russell (Laune Rangers), Rónán Ó Flatharta (An Ghaeltacht), Paul O’Connor (Kenmare), Kieran O’Leary (Dr. Crokes), David Moran (Kerins O’Rahilly’s), Anthony Maher (Duagh), Kieran Quirke (Duagh), Mike Moloney (Dr Crokes), Pat Corridan (Finuge)

TIPPERARY (MF vs. Kerry): Jack English (Ballyporeen); Donagh Heffernan (Cappawhite), Shane Russell (Lattin-Cullen), Kevin O’Riordan (J. K. Brackens); Christopher Sheehan (Fethard), Robert Kiely (Arravale Rovers), Conor Walsh (Commercials); Alan Moloney (Rockwell Rovers), Peter Acheson (Moyle Rovers); David McGrath (Moyle Rovers), Gavin Ryan (Rockwell Rovers), Darren Lowry (Arravale Rovers); Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen – Captain), Paul Horan (St. Patricks), Michael O’Dwyer (Arravale Rovers)

KERRY (MF vs. Tipperary) – Brian Kelly (Legion); Padraig Reidy (Knocknagoshel), Jonathan Lyne (Legion), Fionn Fitzgerald (Dr. Crokes); Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers), Barry Shanahan (Austin Stacks), Maurice Hickey (Castleisland Desmonds); Wayne Gutherie (Austin Stacks), Daithí Casey (Dr. Crokes); James O’Donoghue (Legion), Mike Tim O’Sullivan (Tuosist), Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahilly’s); Paul Geaney (Dingle – Captain), Barry John Walsh (Kerins O’Rahilly’s), Cian Tobin (Spa)
Subs: Shane O’Leary (Currow), Colm O’Shea (Firies), Niall O’Shea (Piarsaigh Na Dromada), Jamie O’Sullivan (Kilcummin), John O’Mahony (Firies), Danny Wren (Tarbert), Kieran McKenna (Milltown/Castlemaine), Eoin Mac Gearailt (An Ghaeltacht), Colm Moriarty (Dingle)