All-Ireland GAA ESB MHC S-Final – Tipperary v Kilkenny

Kittens repel Tipp surge to book final date as Stapleton miss proves crucial

Kilkenny 1-21 Tipperary 2-16

By Jackie Cahill for the Irish Independent newspaper

Monday August 10 2009

CHAMPIONS Kilkenny were made to sweat by Tipperary before eventually advancing to the final on September 6. The Cats led by eight points after 15 minutes and by six at half-time, before they were pegged back midway through the second half. Tipperary had the momentum, after clawing level at 2-12 to 0-18, but Kilkenny full-forward Walter Walsh fired home a 46th-minute goal to turn the tie back in favour of the Leinster champions. Tipp hit back again to trail by just a single point in the closing minutes and were left hanging their heads when Brian Stapleton, who had hit a 44th-minute equaliser, missed a glorious opportunity to level matters once again. Buoyed by that let-off, Kilkenny worked the ball to the other end of the field and, with just seconds remaining, substitute Martin Gaffney fired over an insurance free.

There was little indication of the drama that was to come as Kilkenny roared into a 0-10 to 0-2 lead against the beaten Munster finalists midway through the first half. David Collins breathed life into a flat Tipperary challenge in the 19th minute with a cracking goal, but Kilkenny still led by 0-15 to 1-6 at half-time, having played with the breeze in the first half. Tipp’s top scorer, John O’Dwyer, netted four minutes after the half-time interval to bring Tipp within striking distance — 2-7 to 0-16 — and they were level 10 minutes later as Stapleton fired over a superb leveller from the Hogan Stand side of the field. Crucially, though, Tipp failed to get ahead and they paid the price when Liam Butler coughed up possession under pressure and Walsh tucked home a super goal at the Hill 16 end. Walsh was Kilkenny’s most dangerous attacker during the game, but all six starting forwards scored from play, as Geoff Brennan and Seán Kehoe helped themselves to five points apiece. Kilkenny will now play Galway or Waterford in the final in four weeks’ time.

Scorers —

Kilkenny: G Brennan, R Kehoe (4f) 0-5 each, W Walsh 1-2, M Gaffney (1f), R Doyle (2 ’65s) 0-2 each, C Kenny, O Walsh, C Buckley, G Aylward, C Maher 0-1 each.

Tipperary: J O’Dwyer 1-8 (0-7f), D Collins 1-1, S Curran 0-3, E Murray 0-2, B Stapleton, T Butler 0-1 each.

KILKENNY — J Power; I Duggan, W Phelan, J Lyng; L Harney, R Doyle, J Gannon; C Kenny, O Walsh; G Brennan, S Kehoe, C Buckley; G Aylward, W Walsh, C Maher. Subs: S Phelan for Gannon (42), M Gaffney for Aylward (43), J Cassin for Kehoe (58).

TIPPERARY — D McCormack; S Maher, L Butler, A Ryan; D Maher, W Ryan, J Meagher; A Hogan, B Stapleton; S Curran, T Butler, E Murray; D Collins, J O’Dwyer, A Cleere. Subs: D Butler for Cleere (41), P Heffernan for L Butler (51), M O’Brien for Collins (53), J Forde for Hogan (54).

Ref — D O’Driscoll (Limerick)

Team News

The Tipperary Minor Hurling team to play Kilkenny in the All Ireland Minor Hurling semi-final on August 9th in Croke Park has 2 changes in personnel from the team which lined out against Wexford in the quarter-final. Dan McCormack replaces injured goalkeeper Paul Ryan and Andrew Ryan comes into the team in place of Michael O’Brien.

1. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)

2. Stephen Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

3. Liam Butler (Moyne-Templetuohy)

4. Andrew Ryan (Toomevara)

5. Denis Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

6. Willie Ryan (Clonakenny)

7. John Meagher (Loughmore Castleiney)

8. Alan Hogan (Shannon Rovers)

9. Brian Stapleton (Templederry Kenyons)

10. Sean Curran (Mullinahone)

11. Thomas Butler (Clonoulty Rossmore)

12. Eanna Murray (Templederry Kenyons)

13. David Collins (Drom & Inch)

14. Ruairi Gleeson (Kildangan)

15. Adrian Cleere (Ballingarry)

KILKENNY: J Power; I Duggan, W Phelan, J Lyng; L Harney, R Doyle, J Gannon; C Kenny, O Walsh; G Brennan, S Kehoe, C Buckley; G Aylward, W Walsh, C Maher (capt).