Clare SFC Final – Kilmurry-Ibrickane v St Senans

Clare SFC: Kilmurry retain title

From the Hogan Stand web site

Kilmurry-Ibrickane 0-12 St Senan’s 2-3

Kilmurry-Ilbrickane retained the Clare senior football championship title for the first time in their history yesterday at Cusack Park, where they came from behind to see off a tough challenge from St Senan’s. In a low-scoring affair, it was the saints who led in Ennis after the opening 30 minutes thanks to goals from Noel O’Shea and Gearoid Lynch, which sent them into a half-time lead of 2-0 to 0-3. In the second-half points were swapped twice in the opening ten minutes, as Senan’s stood their ground, but through Noel Downes Kilmurry managed to edge into the lead, as the substitute made a big impact in piercing the opponents’ rearguard. Downes, Stephen McInerney and Peter O’Dwyer all lead the way for the would-be winners in the closing stages, as they hit three unanswered points in the closing stages to clinch the title.