AIB Munster GAA Club Junior Hurling Championship Final – Fermoy (Cork) v Blackrock (Limerick)

Blackrock (Limerick) defeated Fermoy (Cork) by 1-12 to 0-14 in the AIB Munster GAA Junior Hurling Championship Final on Sunday in Mallow.

Match Report

Moloney nicks it for Blackrock

From the Irish Independent newspaper

Blackrock 1-12 Fermoy 0-14

Munster Club JHC Final

Monday December 14 2009

DAVE MOLONEY scored a point from 90 yards in injury-time to give Blackrock of Limerick victory in a thrilling game in Mallow. It was a deserved win for the team from Kilfinane and Ardpatrick, with Ritchie Murphy, in particular, outstanding for them. Blackrock trailed by two points at the interval, 0–11 to 1–6, but two points by Ritchie McCarthy levelled the sides soon after the restart. As the game moved into injury-time, a replay looked to be on the cards before Moloney’s late intervention.

Scorers —

Blackrock: R McCarthy 0-6 (0-4f), A Murphy 1-2, R Murphy (0-1 ’65), R O’Shaughnessy, B O’Shaughnessy, D Moloney 0-1 each.
Fermoy: B O’Sullivan 0-9 (0-8f), S Killeen 0-2, P Boyce, A O’Connor, M Flynn 0-1 each.

BLACKROCK — P Heffernan; N Hosford, TG Ryan, T Clifford; R Murphy, D Moloney, N Moloney; B Moloney, P McGrath; K Palmer, R McCarthy, S Hennessy; R O’Shaughnessy, B Hennessy, A Murphy.

Subs: B O’Shaughnessy for Palmer (38), D Danaher for Hennessy (48), K Douglas for McGrath (54).

FERMOY — J Condon; L Coleman, L Mannix, A Baragry; R O’Callaghan, D Carroll, J Hutchings; P Mahon, J O’Sullivan; P Boyce, T Clancy, B O’Sullivan; A O’Connor, S Killeen, M Flynn.

Subs: E Clancy for Mahon, P Shanahan for O’Connor (both ht), T Grumbridge for T Clancy (50), I Brennan for Boyce (52), F Ryan for Flynn (inj, 59).

Ref — S McMahon (Clare)