Camogie – Gala All Ireland Premier Junior Championship Final – Waterford 1-9 Antrim 1-9

Waterford and Antrim drew on a scoreline of 1-9 to 1-9 in the Camogie Gala All Ireland Premier Junior Championship Final on Sunday in Croke Park.

Waterford snatch late draw in Junior final

Sunday, September 12, 2010

Antrim 1-9 Waterford 1-9

A 60th minute point from Karen Kelly set the seal on a fine second half rally by Waterford to snatch a draw in the Gala All-Ireland premier junior final at Croke Park.

Antrim held the upper hand for much of this encounter, leading at the end of a dour first half by 0-4 to 0-3.

Nerves clearly had a role to play in that opening period. Two-time All Star Jane Adams fired over two frees for Antrim but had a third inexplicably scrubbed out by referee Donal Leahy for a square ball.

Waterford hung in there with points from Karen Kelly and Áine Lyng. The second half was a more open affair and the more imposing Saffrons looked set for victory as they opened up a five-point advantage, due largely to Raquel McCarry’s goal from close range.

Adams laid the groundwork for that score but was struggling to have as much of an impact as might have been expected, due to the double-teaming tactics employed by Waterford.

The Munster girls gradually worked themselves back into the game and hit four consecutive points from Lyng (two), Jenny McCarthy and Kelly before Gráinne Kenneally booted to the Antrim net in the 53rd minute after fielding McCarthy’s delivery brilliantly.

Within a minute, Kelly sent a rasper into the side-netting and a goal then would probably have sealed Waterford’s first ever title but Antrim had plenty left in the tank.

Katie McAleese caught brilliantly in a heavily contested aerial battle before turning and lofting over before Adams pushed pushed them ahead with just over a minute remaining, after making space brilliantly.

Waterford were not to be beaten though and Kelly sent over her third point from play from 35m with just seconds of normal time remaining to equalise.

There was still time for one last attack from the Déise. Niamh Rockett’s persistence earned an opportunity but her shot veered just wide and the sides will meet once again on October 3.

Antrim: M Graham; R Torney, A Martin, A Jackson; C Doherty, E Connolly, B Orchin; K O’Neill, N Connolly; M Convery 0-1, N McGuinness 0-1, S Graham, R McCarry 1-2, J Adams 0-4(3fs), L Connolly. Subs: A McCall for Martin inj (7); C Hamill for N Connolly (28); K McAleese 0-1 for L Connolly (36); M Connolly for Orchin (48)

Waterford: A O’Brien; E Hannon, S Curran, KM Hearne; P Cunningham, P Jackman 0-1(f), J Simpson; C Raher, M Murphy; A Lyng 0-4(3fs), G Kennelly 1-0, J McCarthy 0-1; N Rockett, K Kelly 0-3, N Morrissey. Subs: D Fahy for Murphy (39); S Kiernan for Morrissey (39)

Referee: D Leahy (Tipperary)

Team News

Waterford Team Lineout Premier Junior Championship Final 2010

1. Ashling O’Brien, A. Ní Bhriain Lismore

2. Emma Hannon, E. Ní hÁnnáin Gall Tír

3. Shona Curran, S. Ní Chorráin Lismore

4. Kate Marie Hearne, C.M Ní hEathírn Butlerstown

5. Pauline Cunningham, P. Nic Cuinneagáin St. Annes

6. Patricia Jackman, P. Seac Gall Tír

7. Jennie Simpson, S. Nic Shim St. Annes

8. Charlotte Raher, C. Ní Reachair St. Annes

9. Mairead Murphy, M. Ní Mhurchú (Capt) St. Annes

10. Áine Lyng, Á. Ní Loinn Gall Tír

11. Grainne Kenneally, G. Ní Chinnaolaidh Lismore

12. Jenny McCarthy, S. Nic Carthaigh Cappoquin

13. Niamh Rockett St. Annes

14. Karen Kelly, C. Ní Cheallaigh St. Annes

15. Nicola Morrissey, N. Ní Mhuireasa Lismore

16. Fiona Kiely, F. Ní Chadhla An Rinn

17. Vicky Gaffney, V. Ní Ghamhna Butlerstown

18. Sally O’Grady, S. Ní Ghráda Gall Tír

19. Shauna Kiernan, S. Hic Thiarnáin Lismore

20. Deirdre Fahy, D. Ní Fhathaigh An Rinn

21. Áine Breatnach Butlerstown

22. Mary O’ Donnell, M. Ní Dhónaill An Rinn

23. Ashling Kelly, A. Ní Cheallaigh Butlerstown

24. Aileen Cummins, A. Ní Chomáin Gall Tír

25. Margo Heffernan, M. Ní hIfernáin Gall Tír

26. Clara Hogan, C. hÓgáin Gall Tír

Manager: Andy Moloney

Coach: Niall Dunphy

Selector: Carolyn Ahern

Trainer/Physio: Shay Fitzpatrick

Antrim Lineout Gala Premier Junior Championship Final 2010

1 Mairead Graham, M. Ní Ghréacháin  Portglenone
2 Rhona Torney, R. Ní Thorna   St. Johns
3 Aileen Martin, A. Ní Mháirtín  Dunloy
4 Aisling Jackson, A. Nic Shiacais   St. Johns
5 Coleen Doherty, C. Ní Dhochartaigh  O’Donovan Rossa
6 Emma Connolly, E. Ní Chonghaile  Loughgiel  
7 Bronagh Orchin    O’Donovan Rossa
8 Kerrie O’Neill, K. Ní Néill   O’Donovan Rossa
9 Noelle Connolly, N. Ní Chonghaile  Loughgiel
10 Michaela Convery, M. Nic Ainmhire  Tír na Óg
11 Natalie McGuiness, N. Nig Aonasa  O’Donovan Rossa
12 Shannon Graham, S. Ní Ghréacháin  Creggan
13 Racquel McCarry, R. Nic Fhearaigh  Loughgiel
14 Jane Adams, S. Nic Adaim (Capt)  O’Donovan Rossa
15 Laura Connolly, L. Ní Chonghaile  Loughgiel

16 Sinead Laverty, S. Ní Laibheartaigh  Creggan
17 Eleanor McConville, E. Nic Conmhaoil Creggan
18 Charlene Hamill, C. Ó hÁmaill  Loughgiel
19 Bernie McKinley, B. Nic Fhionnlaoich Loughgiel
20 Muirinn Quinn, M, Ní Choinne  O’Donovan Rossa
21 Ashling McCall, A. Nic Camhaoil  O’Donovan Rossa
22 Louise McMullan, L. Nic Mhaoláin  Dunloy
23 Katie McAleese, C. Nic Giolla Íosa  Portglenone
24 Sarah Maguire, S. Nig Uidhir   Creggan
25 Noreen Graham, N. Ní Ghréacháin  Ahoghill
26 Chloe Drain, C. Ní Dhreáin   Dunloy
27 Maeve Connolly, M. Ní Chonghaile  Loughgiel
28 Theresa Adams, T. Nic Adaim  O’Donovan Rossa
29 Orla McCall, O. Nic Camhaoil  O’Donovan Rossa
30 Brenda Clarke, B. Ní Chléirchín  Portglenone
Michael McCullough
Ronan McWilliams
Michael McCambridge

First Aid
Maria Donnelly