2010 GAA Vodafone All-Star Football nominations

Rebels lead football All-Star nominations

From the Breaking news.ie web site

Cork’s march to their first All-Ireland SFC title since 1990 has been recognised with 11 of the Rebels squad shortlisted for the 2010 GAA Vodafone All-Star Football awards. Conor Counihan’s charges lifted the NFL Division 1 trophy and Sam Maguire Cup in 2010. Last Sunday’s slender win over Down at Croke Park capped off a fine season for the Leesiders. A total of 12 counties have players shortlisted for All-Star awards. Beaten All-Ireland finalists Down have the second highest number with seven nominees, semi-finalists Kildare are third highest with five nominees, and Dublin and Tyrone are next – both with four.

The Rebels have received just under a quarter of the 45 nominations, with at least one Cork player shortlisted for each line on the pitch. Only ten of the players nominated are previous All-Stars. Kerry duo Colm Cooper and Tomás Ó Sé are the most decorated nominees, with five All-Stars each. Indeed, only three members of last year’s All-Stars team are nominated – Cork duo Michael Shields and Graham Canty along with Kerry’s Tomás Ó Sé, who are all in line for awards in defence. None of the 2009 All Star midfield, half-forward line or full-forward line selection are among this year’s nominees. Notably, last year’s Footballer of the Year, Kerry’s Paul Galvin, has also failed to make the shortlist. Of the four provincial champions – all of whom were defeated at All-Ireland quarter-final stage – Tyrone fare the best with four nominees, with Kerry and Meath on three each and Roscommon on two. Beaten Leinster and Connacht finalists Louth and Sligo, respectively, were rewarded for their resurgent seasons with two nominees each, while Munster’s defeated finalists Limerick have one nominee (John Galvin) – one less than last year when they were also beaten provincial finalists.


Goalkeepers –

Alan Quirke (Cork)

Brendan McVeigh (Down)

Pascal McConnell (Tyrone)

Full-backs –

Michael Shields (Cork)

Rory O’Carroll (Dublin)

Peter Kelly (Kildare)

Charlie Harrison (Sligo)

Philip McMahon (Dublin)

Justin McMahon (Tyrone)

Dan Gordon (Down)

John O’Brien (Louth)

Marc Ó Sé (Kerry)

Half-backs –

Paudie Kissane (Cork)

Kevin McKernan (Down)

Philip Jordan (Tyrone)

Emmet Bolton (Kildare)

Tomás Ó Sé (Kerry)

Graham Canty (Cork)

Noel O’Leary (Cork)

Joe McMahon (Tyrone)

Eamon Callaghan (Kildare)

Midfielders –

Aidan Walsh (Cork)

Paddy Keenan (Louth)

Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin)

John Galvin (Limerick)

Kalum King (Down)

Nicholas Murphy (Cork)

Half-forwards –

Paddy Kelly (Cork)

Daniel Hughes (Down)

Graham Reilly (Meath)

Martin Clarke (Down)

Joe Sheridan (Meath)

John Doyle (Kildare)

Paul Kerrigan (Cork)

Seamus Kenny (Meath)

Cathal Cregg (Roscommon)

Full-forwards –

Daniel Goulding (Cork)

Bernard Brogan (Dublin)

Donie Shine (Roscommon)

Colm Cooper (Kerry)

Donncha O’Connor (Cork)

David Kelly (Sligo)

Benny Coulter (Down)

James Kavanagh (Kildare)

Padraic Joyce (Galway)


Cork – 11

Down – 7

Kildare – 5

Tyrone – 4

Dublin – 4

Kerry – 3

Meath – 3

Roscommon – 2

Sligo – 2

Louth – 2

Galway – 1

Limerick – 1