Dr. Harty Cup – Ardscoil Ris v St. Colman’s

Árdscoil Rís show cup credentials

Árdscoil Rís 2-19 St. Colman’s 2-14

By Brendan Larkin for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Thursday, October 21, 2010

CHAMPIONS Árdscoil Rís remain in pole position to claim Dr Harty Cup honours again on the evidence of this display at Charleville yesterday. Fielding eight of last year’s Munster championship winning team, the Limerick men’s physical presence allied to their superb stick work had Colman’s struggling for long spells. The Fermoy side started brightly with midfielder Mike Spillane firing them to a 0-3 to 0-1 lead after 10 minutes and they would have been further ahead had Jason Mannix not shot into the side netting after rounding the goalkeeper.

Their defence coped well with the towering figures of Brendan O’Connor and Shane Dowling and when David Mangan pointed from a line ball, St Colman’s were 0-7 to 0-4 ahead after 20 minutes.

However, as the tie progressed Árdscoil began to get a grip in defence with Declan Hannon and Martin Moroney to the fore. Shane Dowling goaled from a 20-metre free to put them ahead 1-8 to 0-8 by the break and another by Óisin Hickey after a 50-metre run had them firmly in the driving seat as they led 2-13 to 0-13 at the three-quarters stage.

Colman’s narrowed the gap with a 48th-minute goal when Mannix first timed Mike Spillane’s cross to the net, but they failed to build on that score as Carmody continued to fire over points.

The Cork side kept battling and were rewarded with a second goal by Mike Spillane from a 20-metre free, but it only served to put a more respectable look on the scoreboard.

The win guarantees Árdscoil a place in the last eight, while St. Colman’s must beat Waterford Colleges to join them in the knockout phase.

Scorers for Árdscoil Rís: M. Carmody 0-7; S. Dowling 1-2 (1-0 free); O. Hickey 1-1; J. Kelleher, B. O’Connor, J. Fitzgibbon 0-2 each; D. Hannon, , D. Moloney, J. Shanahan 0-1 each.

Scorers for St. Colman’s: M. Spillane 1-9 (1-6 frees); J. Mannix 1-1; M. Pyne, D. Mangan (free), C. Spillane, P. Roche 0-1 each.

ÁRDSCOIL RÍS: PJ Wall; A. Dempsey, B. O’Connell, F. Carey; K. Lynch, D. Hannon, M. Moroney; J. Shanahan, M. Ryan; M. Carmody, S. Dowling, B. O’Connor; J. Kelleher, J. Fitzgibbon, O. Hickey.

Subs: D. Moloney for Ryan (40); J. Hannon for Carey (50); C. Keogh for O’Connor (55); K. O’Brien for Kelleher (57); D. Sheppard for Dempsey (60).

ST. COLMAN’S: E. Barry; W. Walsh, C. O’Leary, C. Barry; P. Roche, D. O’Carroll, K. Morrison; M. Spillane, E. Maye; D. Mangan, C. Spillane, M. Wade; N. McNamara, M. Pyne, J. Mannix.

Subs: E. O’Neill for Morrison (45); P. de Roiste for Pyne (55); J. Hogan for Wade (57); E. Lonergan for Maye (60).

Referee: F. Horgan (Tipperary).

Carmody’s late haul helps Ardscoil Ris into last eight


Ardscoil Ris 2-19 St Colman’s 2-14

Thursday October 21 2010

ARDSCOIL RIS assured themselves of a place in the last eight with this comfortable win over St Colman’s at Charleville.

The Limerick school settled well and, helped by a Shane Dowling goal, led 1-8 to 0-8 at half-time.

A minute into the second half Ardscoil Ris bagged a second goal, this time through Oisin Hickey, as St Colman’s began to struggle.

However, when Jason Mannix and Mike Spillane flashed home goals for Colman’s, the game was back in the melting pot.

However, up stepped Mark Carmody to send the defending champions clear with four superb points.

Scorers — Ardscoil Ris: M Carmody 0-7, S Dowling 1-2 (1-0f), O Hickey 1-2, J Kelleher, B O’Connor 0-2 each, D Hannon, J Fitzgibbon (0-1f), D Moloney, J Shanahan 0-1 each. St Colman’s: M Spillane 1-9 (1-6f), J Mannix 1-1, M Pyne, D Mangan (0-1f), C Spillane, P Roche 0-1 each.

ARDSCOIL RIS — PJ Wall; A Dempsey, B O’Connell, F Carey; K Lynch, D Hannon, M Moroney; J Shanahan, M Ryan; M Carmody, S Dowling, B O’Connor; J Kelleher, J Fitzgibbon, O Hickey. Subs: D Moloney for Ryan (40); J Hannon for Carey (50); C Keogh for O’Connor (55); K O’Brien for Kelleher (57); D Sheppard for Dempsey (60).

ST COLMAN’S — E Barry; W Walsh, C O’Leary, C Barry; P Roche, D O’Carroll, K Morrison; M Spillane, E Maye; D Mangan, C Spillane, M Wade; N McNamara, M Pyne, J Mannix. Subs: E O’Neill for Morrison (45); P de Roiste for Pyne (55); J Hogan for Wade (57); E Lonergan for Maye (60).

Ref — F Horgan (Tipperary)