All Ireland Junior Club Hurling Championship Q-Final – Meelin (Cork) 2-15 Fullen Gales Birmingham (Lancashire) 0-8

O’Riordan on song as Meelin march into final four

by Anthony McLaughlin for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Monday, January 24, 2011

Meelin (Cork) 2-15 Fullen Gaels (Lancashire) 0-8

MUNSTER champions Meelin progressed to an All-Ireland Club JHC semi-final in Birmingham on Sunday but manager Liam Ryan wasn’t resting on any laurels. Ryan said: “It was always going to be a tricky assignment today and I’m happy to be getting out of here with the win. Goals win games and the two at the start were the killer blow. I was disappointed with our second-half display, I think there is more in us than what we showed. We’ll have to up the ante for the next round but hopefully the same result again will take us to Croke Park.”

Two first half goals from Shane O’Riordan provided the platform for the Meelin victory. His first came after five minutes when he fired a low shot past John Farrell. Quarter of an hour later O’Riordan again seized the initiative from half-forward and sprinted towards goal to fire another low effort past Farrell. Farrell came to his side’s rescue with two fine saves to deny DJ O’Sullivan and hat-trick chasing O’Riordan. Eamonn Brosnan was proving proficient from the set piece landing his sixth score of the game on the 40th minute mark as Gaels struggled to keep in touch.

Scorers for Meelin: S O’Riordan (2-3), E Brosnan (0-6), B O’Sullivan (0-2), W Buckley, J Forrest, L Collins, J Forrest (0-1) each.

Scorers for Fullen Gaels: K Codd (0-4), C Maskey (0-2), P O’Brien, A Gray (0-1) each.

MEELIN: S M O’Sullivan; M Forrest, D O’Riordan, D Linehan; W Buckley, K Collins, J Forrest; L Collins, W Murphy; B O’Sullivan, S O’Riordan, J Forrest; E Brosnan, C Murphy, D J O’Sullivan.

Subs for Meelin:B Collins for L Collins (53), TJ Brosnan for W Murphy (55), J O’Doherty for J Forrest (61), D O’Callaghan for D.J. O’Sullivan (65).

FULLEN GAELS: J Farrell; B Griffiths, E Hansberry, S O’Hanlon; P Breen, P Murphy, K Driver; K Codd, N Morris; P Gray, R Connor, C Maskey; P O’Brien, C Cafferkey, A Gray.

Sub: C Vaughan for B Griffiths (55).

Referee: R Mathews