Munster VS SH ‘A’ semi-final – Roscrea CC vs. Clonakilty CC

Ryan runs riot in Roscrea rout

From the Irish Independent newspaper

Roscrea CC 3-16 Clonakilty CC 0-9

Munster VS SH ‘A’ semi-final

Wednesday February 02 2011

CENTRE-FORWARD Eoin Ryan was the star of the show as Roscrea powered their way into the final when they swept aside the challenge of Clonakilty at Ballyagran, Co Limerick, yesterday. Two early goals, in the eighth and ninth minutes, killed off the Cork side’s spirit and they managed only two points in a one-sided first half. In fact, they had to wait until eight minutes before the break for their first score, a point from a free by Jeremiah Cremins. Roscrea led 2-11 to 0-2 by the interval, and although Clonakilty improved in the second half, the inspirational Ryan — who scored an impressive total of 1-7, just 0-3 from frees — ensured that the Tipperary side remained in complete control. A goal in the last minute by substitute Conor Smith put an added gloss on the scoreline. Their final opponents will be Borrisokane CC who beat St Brogan’s of Bandon by 3-11 to 1-11 in the other semi-final.

SCORERS — Roscrea: E Ryan 1-7 (3f), J Wall 1-1, C Smith 1-0, D Meaney, J Breen 0-2 each, M Collier (f), B Teehan, D Cleary, E Flanagan 0-1 each. Clonakilty: J Cremins 0-3 (1f), A O’Donovan, F Butler 0-2 each, C Culllinane, J Hayes 0-1 each.

ROSCREA CC — D Ryan; J Feeney, C Bergin, E Greene; M Campion, M Collier, J Ryan; J Cleary, J Sampson; B Teehan, E Ryan, J Wall; D Murphy, J Bergin, D Cleary. Subs: E Flanagan for Teehan, C Smith for J Bergin, D McAuliffe for Cleary.

CLONAKILTY CC — J Kirby; D McCarthy, C Hennessy, D O’Donovan; E Hartnett, S O’Donovan, S White; S McCarthy, J Cremins; S Meaney, A O’Donovan, J O’Brien; J Hayes, C Cullinane, F Butler. Subs: M O’Donovan for S O’Donovan, M O’Sullivan for Hayes, F Collins for Cullinane, N Evans for Meaney.

REF — M O’Connor (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick)