Allianz Hurling League Division 2 – Limerick 1-24 Kerry 1-9

Limerick 1-24 Kerry 1-9

From the web site

All the promotion and relegation issues in Division Two of the Allianz Hurling League have been tied up after Limerick comfortably beat Kerry in Kilmallock on Sunday. It puts Limerick in an unassailable position at the top of the league going into the final week of fixtures and they are the team who will be promoted regardless of the outcome of the league final as promotion is decided on league standings alone.

With Westmeath already relegated, the only issue is whether it’s Clare or Antrim who face the Treaty Men in the league final. Limerick never looked like being in trouble against Kerry, with young gun Kevin Downes in sparkling form. The exciting forward grabbed the goal for Limerick and is clearly one to watch for Donal O’Grady’s men.

Team News

The Kerry Senior Hurling team to play Limerick on Sunday 3rd April in Kilmallock at 1pm is as follows:

1. Bernard Rochford (Killeagh, Cork)

2. Eamon Fitzgerald (Causeway) 3. Tom Murnane (Kilmoyley) 4. Colin Harris (Ballincollig)

5. Padraig O’Grady (Ballyduff) 6. Mike Conway (Lixnaw) 7. Jason Casey (Ballyheigue)

8. Paud Costello (Ballyduff) 9. Darren Dineen (Ardfert)

10. Shane Nolan (Crotta O’Neills) 11. Liam Boyle (Captain) (Ballyduff) 12. David Fitzell (Kilmoyley)

13. John Egan (Ardfert) 14. Aidan Boyle (Ballyduff) 15. Darragh O’Connell (Abbeydorney)


16. John B. O’Halloran (Kilmoyley)

17. Brendan Brosnan (Lixnaw) 18. Adrian Royle (Kilmoyley) 19. James Flaherty (Lixnaw)

20. Patrick O’Keeffe (Glenflesk) 21. Darren Wallace (Ardfert) 22. Thomas Moloney (Ardfert )

23. Ronan Kenny (Ballyheigue) 24. Gary O’Brien (Ballyduff)


Manager: John Meyler

Selectors: John Hennessey & Sean O’Shea

Coach/trainer: Joe O’Connor


The Limerick Senior Hurling team to play Kerry is as follows –

1 Nicky Quaid Effin

2 David Moloney Blackrock

3 Gavin O’Mahoney (Capt) Kilmallock

4 Tom Condon Knoockaderry

5 Wayne McNamara Adare

6 Seamus Hickey Murroe/Boher

7 David Breen NaPiarsaigh

8 Donal O’Grady Granagh/Ballingarry

9 Paul Browne Bruff

10 Niall Moran Ahane

11 Richie McCarthy Blackrock

12 James Ryan Garryspillane

13 Sean Tobin Murroe/Boher

14 Kevin Downes NaPiarsaigh

15 Pat Tobin Murroe/Boher