1962 Munster Under 21 Football Finalists honoured

1962 Munster Under 21 Football Finalists to be honoured

The 2011 Cadbury Munster Under 21 Football Final between Cork and Kerry will take place on Wednesday April 6th at 7:30pm in Pairc Uí Rinn. This will be the 50th year of the competition. As a result, the Munster Council has decided it is appropriate to honour the teams which contested the first Munster Final in this grade back in 1962.

On that occasion, Kerry proved successful over their old rivals Cork on a score line of 2-7 to 1-4 in a game played at Kenmare on December 9th 1962. The panels of both teams which lined out in the 1962 Munster Under 21 Football Final will be the guests of honour at next week’s final. The respective panels will be introduced to the Pairc Ui Rinn audience at half-time while refreshments will be arranged for after the match for the players to relive the rivalries of yesteryear.

The 1962 Kerry and Cork teams were as follows –

Kerry: Peter Hanley (Kenmare); JJ Barrett (Austin Stacks), Brendan Galvin (Waterville), Pa Kerins (Kerins O’Rahilly’s); Pat Aherne (Ballymacelligot), Paudie O’Donoghue (Ballylongford – RIP), Joe Driscoll (Castlegregory); Mick Fleming (Currow), Denis O’Sullivan (Kerins O’Rahillys); Weeshie Fogarty (Legion), Seamus Roche (John Mitchel’s), Derry O’Shea (John Mitchel’s); Dom O’Donnell (John Mitchel’s), Roddy O’Donnell (John Mitchel’s – RIP), John “Thorny” O’Shea (John Mitchel’s – RIP). Sub: Declan Lovett (Ardfert), Batty Burns (Sneem), Kieran O Connor (Tarbert), Jimmy O’Mahony (John Mitchel’s)

Cork: Ray Cawley (Nemo Rangers); Dermot Kehilly (Newcestown), John McGrath (Mitchelstown), Des Nangle (Ballincollig); Jimmy O’Donoughue (Macroom), Eugene O’Connor (Lees), Gus Harrington (St.Finbarrs); Brendan Larkin (Douglas), Ned Coughlan (Mitchelstown); Paddy Barry (St.Vincents), Donal Barrett (Nemo Rangers), Patsy Harte (St.Nicholas); Mick Archer (St.Finbarrs), Mick Burke (Mitchelstown), Tom Monaghan (Mitchelstown)
Subs: Frank Cogan (Nemo Rangers), Donal Buckley (Ballincollig), Fred Humphries (Douglas)

The Munster Council are working closely with the Cork and Kerry County Committees to send out invitations to all the panel members involved for what promises to be a memorable occasion.

For more information, please contact Munster PRO Ed Donnelly at pro.munster@gaa.ie or 087-2055642