Cork Senior Hurling Selectors for recommendation

Jimmy Barry Murphy has recommended the appointment of the following as selectors with the Cork Senior Hurling team, pending ratification by the Cork County Board at its Meeting next Tuesday, Sept 6th.

All four are former inter-county players and All-Ireland medal winners with Cork.

Kieran Kingston (Tracton)

A member of the Cork Senior Hurling panel in the late 1980s, Kieran Kingston hails from the Tracton club based in Minane Bridge. He won Munster and All-Ireland Senior Hurling medals with Cork in 1986, and has been heavily involved in coaching in his club.

Johnny Crowley (Bishopstown)

Johnny Crowley played hurling with his local club Bishopstown and was a member of the Cork Senior Hurling team from 1976 until 1987, winning 9 Munster titles and 5 All-Irelands. He previously served as a selector with Jimmy Barry-Murphy from 1996-2000, including Cork’s All-Ireland victory in 1999.

Ger Cunningham (St. Finbarr’s)

Cunningham’s status as one of Cork’s all-time greats is self-evident. In a senior inter-county career that lasted for eighteen years, he won three All-Ireland titles, seven Munster titles, three National Hurling League titles and three Railway Cup titles with Munster. Cunningham also won an unprecedented seven consecutive All-Ireland Poc Fada titles between 1984 and 1990. He later served as a selector and goalkeeping coach to the Cork team under the managerial reigns of both Donal O’Grady and John Allen from 2003 until 2006.

Seánie McGrath (Glen Rovers)

From the Glen Rovers club in Cork city, McGrath was a member of the Cork Senior Hurling panel from 1997 to 2003, winning two Munster titles, one All-Ireland (1999) and an All-Star award. He also won back-to-back Fitzgibbon Cup titles wih UCC in 1997 and 1998. He was a Cork Minor Hurling selector for the past two years.