Corn Mhic Ruairí Senior C Hurling Final – St Declan’s, Kilmacthomas 0-15 Salesian College, Pallaskenry 0-13

Power points St Declan’s to victory

St Declan’s, Kilmacthomas 0-15 Salesian College, Pallaskenry 0-13

By John Redington for the Irish Examiner newspaper

St Declan’s made it a memorable year for Waterford schools hurling with victory in the Munster SCHC decider in Tipperary on Saturday. The victory came six days after Coláiste na nDéise claimed the A title. DJ Power inspired the Kilmacthomas outfit to victory with the full-forward hitting 11 points. The Waterford side had too much firepower in key sectors for their spirited Limerick opponents who depended heavily on the free-taking of full-forward Bryan Griffin and the inspired goalkeeping of Cian Hedderman to keep in touch. However, despite their edge in experience and physique, the winners were forced to fight right up to the final whistle after trailing 0-8 to 0-6 at the break.

SAINT DECLAN’S KILMACTHOMAS: A Byrne; P Lavery, B Coffey, L Mulligan; J Walsh, J Power, A Coady; J Lyons (0-1, ‘65’), C Walsh; S Power (0-1), D Cheasty, J Gleeson (0-1); DJ Foran (0-11, 6f), P Hunt, N Burns (0-1).

Subs: W Brazil for J Gleeson (38), S Behan for S Power (59).

SALESIAN COLLEGE PALLASKENRY: C Hedderman; R Griffin, C O’Brien, R O’Grady; J O’Keeffe, M Nunan, D Hall; P Reidy, K Power (0-1); L Doolan, A Roberts (0-2), T O’Shea; T McCarthy, B Griffin (0-9, 7f), Andrew Cliffe (0-1).

Referee: John O’Brien (Tipperary)