Allianz Football League Division 4 – Waterford 1-18 Limerick 1-14

Late Déise burst proves decisive

Limerick 1-14 Waterford 1-18

By Jerome O’Connell for the Irish Examiner newspaper

A final quarter burst that yielded six unanswered points kept Waterford footballers’ slim hopes of an immediate return to Division Three alive as they recorded an emphatic victory over Limerick at the Gaelic Grounds on Saturday. Despite trailing at half-time and being hit with a Séamus O’Carroll goal immediately on the restart, the visitors packed too much punch up the middle and too many options up front against opponents who depended heavily on Ian Ryan’s frees to stay in contention. Although Limerick built up a three point lead by the 15th minute, they needed two Ryan strikes to put them ahead 0-9 to 0-8 at the break. Waterford’s revival started with Mark Ferncombe’s equalising goal and, with Gary Hurney leading from the front, the visitors took control after Stephen Kelly was sent off for a second yellow card.

WATERFORD: S Enright; M O’Gorman, T O’Gorman, K Connery; T Grey, É Walsh, W Hennessy (0-1); S Ahearne (0-3, 2f), S O’Hare (0-1, f); A Brophy, P Hurney (0-3), C O’Keeffe; M Ferncombe (1-2), G Hurney (0-7, 3f), J Veale (0-1).

Subs: C Phelan for É Walsh (17), T Ó hÚllacháin for K Connery (ht), S Dempsey for S Ahearne (46), S Fleming for A Brophy (49).

LIMERICK: D O’Sullivan; C Coady, S Lavin, D Quaid; J Riordan, P Browne, P Ranahan; P Kinnerk, J Galvin; E O’Connor, S Kelly, E Barry (0-1); Ger Collins (0-3), S O’Carroll (1-0), Ian Ryan (0-10, 7f).

Subs: B Fitzpatrick for C Coady (41), J Cooke for E Barry (54) , J Mullane for S O’Carroll (66), J O’Meara for P Kinnerk (66).

Referee: M Rock (Clare)

Team News

Waterford Team to play Limerick in Allianz Football League – Div. 4. Gaelic Grounds Limerick, Sat 24th March at 5.15pm

1. Kieran Cotter Geraldines

2. Maurice O’Gorman Nire

3. Conor Phelan Brickey Rangers

4. Kieran Connery Clashmore/Kinsalebeg

5. Tony Grey Stradbally

6. Eamonn Walsh Ballinameela

7. Wayne Hennessy Ardmore

8. Shane Ahearne Stradbally

9. Sean O’Hare Ballinacourty

10. Conor McGrath Brickey Rangers

11. Patrick Hurney Ballinacourty

12. Cillian O’Keeffe Clashmore/Kinsalebeg

13. Mark Ferncombe Abbeyside

14. Gary Hurney Ballinacourty

15. Sean Fleming Clashmore/Kinsalebeg