AIB Munster GAA Football Intermediate Club Championship Semi-Final – St. Vincent’s (Cork) 0-7 O’Curry’s (Clare) 0-6

Barry bags late winner for Vincent’s

By Peter McNamara for the Irish Examiner newspaper

St Vincent’s (Cork) 0-7 O’Curry’s (Clare) 0-6

Just as extra-time loomed at Páirc Uí Rinn yesterday Cian Barry conjured a match-winning score for St Vincent’s. But they will be far from relaxed facing into the final. The standard of shooting was awful in this semi-final. In the first half alone there were 10 wides and 11 balls dropped short into the respective goalkeepers’ hands. Only the performance of St Vincent’s Derek O’Connor counter-balanced the overriding negatives as he scored 0-4 and created Barry’s winner. St Vincent’s led 0-3 to 0-2 at half-time and it took O’Curry’s 56 minutes to score from play, that from Jack Scanlon to level the match at 0-6 apiece.

O’Curry’s were far too reliant on Ger Quinlan – the midfielder expertly nailed five frees – and it eventually came back to haunt them as despite playing against 14 men from the 45th minute after Stephen Ray was sent off for a second bookable offence, Dinny McMahon’s men could not penetrate a resolute St Vincent’s defence. Quinlan gave O’Curry’s a fifth minute lead however Anthony Buckley and O’Connor, firing over a beauty in the 21st had St Vincent’s in front. Quinlan levelled two minutes later however O’Connor ensured St Vincent’s led at the interval. Jonathan Buckley (free) and O’Connor then extended St Vincent’s advantage by the 41st minute, 0-5 to 0-2. However, three frees from Quinlan in seven minutes levelled the sides on 49. O’Connor restored St Vincent’s advantage with a 30m free before Scanlon equalised. Yet Barry would have the final say drilling over in additional time.

Scorers for St Vincent’s: D O’Connor 0-4 (0-1 f), J Buckley (0-1 f), A Buckley, C Barry 0-1 each.

Scorers for O’Curry’s: G Quinlan 0-5fs, J Scanlon 0-1.

ST VINCENT’S: P O’Shea; A O’Callaghan, P Aherne, W Murphy; C Kenneally, K Goulding, D O’Regan; S Ray, S Buckley; T O’Connell, A Harte, D O’Connor; J Buckley (capt), A Buckley, C Barry.

Subs: D Duggan for A Buckley (35), F Murphy for J Buckley (43), G Kelleher for F Murphy (56).

O’CURRY’S: PJ Greene; O Quinlan, M O’Shea (capt), P Roche; B Troy, S Haugh, T Downes; G Quinlan, D Troy; E Brew, D Clohessy, M Foran; E Troy, J Scanlon, D Carmody.

Subs: M Carmody for Foran (37), J Downes for Clohessy (51).

Referee: Maurice Condon (Waterford)

For the Record

St. Vincent’s (Cork) O’Curry’s (Clare)
Number of Munster Club Intermediate Football titles
(by County)
3 0
Last Munster Intermediate Football Title (by County) 2005
(Carbery Rangers (Cork) 1-10 Pallasgreen (Limerick) 1-7)
Munster Club Intermediate Football Championship Record since 2000 for each county’s representative Played – 17
Won – 10
Lost –  6
Drawn – 1
Played – 17
Won – 8
Lost –  9
Drawn – 0
Last meeting in the Munster Club Intermediate Football Championship involving participating county representatives November 22nd 2009 at Cusack Park Ennis
(Munster Club Semi-Final)
Cratloe (Clare) 3-4 Valley Rovers (Cork) 0-5

Munster GAA FOOTBALL Club Intermediate Championship 2012

Quarter-Finals (Extra time)
Saturday November 3rd

@ Pairc Ui Rinn                                St. Vincent’s (Cork) 1-12 Moycarkey-Borris (Tipperary) 0-6

Sunday November 4th (Replay date – Saturday November 10th)

@ Cappoquin            Pallasgreen (Limerick) 2-8 Ballinameela (Waterford) 2-7

Semi-Finals (Extra time)
Sunday November 11th (Replay date – Saturday November 17th)

@ Bruff                                               Finuge (Kerry) v Pallasgreen (Limerick) 2:00pm

@ Pairc Ui Rinn St. Vincent’s (Cork) v O’Curry’s (Clare) 2:00pm

Final (Extra time)

Sunday November 25th (Replay date – Saturday December 1st)

2:00pm throw-in

Odds and Ends

Since the competition began in 2003, Kerry clubs have won 6 of the 9 Munster titles on offer, including the last 6 in a row. Cork clubs have won the other 3 Munster titles in 2003, 2004 and 2005.

Clare clubs have reached the Munster Club Intermediate Football Final in 4 of the last 6 seasons dating back to 2006.

The victory of Pallasgreen (Limerick) over Ballinameela (Waterford) in the 2012 Munster Club Quarter-Final broke a losing streak of 6 matches for the Limerick representatives in this competition dating back to 2006.

Kerry’s Club Intermediate Football champions have won their last 15 matches in this competition.

Munster GAA Club FOOTBALL Intermediate Championship Roll Of Honour

Kerry (6) – 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011

Cork (3) – 2003, 2004, 2005

All Ireland GAA Club FOOTBALL Intermediate Championship

In the Club Intermediate Football All Ireland Roll of Honour, Kerry clubs have secured 3 titles courtesy of Ardfert (Kerry – 2006/2007), St. Michael’s Foilmore (Kerry – 2008/2009) and Milltown-Castlemaine (Kerry – 2011/2012). Cork clubs have won 2 All-Ireland titles at this grade – Ilen Rovers (Cork – 2003/2004) and Carbery Rangers (Cork – 2004/2005).