Dean Ryan Cup Final – DLS 2-15 Gaelcholáiste Mhuire 0-10

Ryan hits 11 points in final cruise for DLS

De La Salle (Waterford) 2-15 G Mhuire AG (Cork) 0-10

By Jackie Cahill for the Irish Independent newspaper

Dean Ryan Cup (SH) final

SHANE Ryan bagged 11 points as De La Salle were crowned champions for a third time in their history at Fraher Field, Dungarvan. Ryan was in outstanding form as DLS crushed first-time finalists Gaelcholaiste Mhuire to win the trophy for the first time since 2008. Ryan had notched eight points by half-time, four from play, as DLS led by 2-9 to 0-6. DLS led by 11 points at one stage in the first half and could afford to miss a penalty in the second half.

Wing-back Craig Brown, scorer of a first-half goal, saw his penalty brilliantly saved by Darragh O’Connell, who was initially penalised for barging into Ryan after collecting a high ball. After Daniel Gunning had opened the scoring for Gaelcholaiste Mhuire with a point in the first minute, DLS took over with a run of 1-3 without reply. The goal was well taken by Dessie Hutchinson, when the unmarked full-forward collected a handpass from Sean Treacy before drilling his shot past O’Connell. De La Salle’s fortuitous second goal arrived midway through the first half when Brown’s free from halfway went into the net.

Scorers – De La Salle: S Ryan 0-11(7f), D Hutchinson 1-1, C Brown 1-0f, P Hogan 0-2, K Crowley 0-1. Gaelcholaiste Mhuire: D Gunning (3f), D Lee (1f) 0-4 each, E Gunning (f), D Tuohy 0-1 each.

DE LA SALLE – E Purcell; N Blanchfield, E Hayden, S Barlow; C Brown, J McCarthy, K Dillon-Murphy; G Flynn, M Shanahan; P Hogan, S Treacy, M Roche; M Mullally, D Hutchinson, S Ryan.

Subs: P Walsh for Roche (36), S Walsh for Barlow (47), K Crowley for Mullally (54), I Long for Hayden (56), B Cunningham for Treacy (58).

GAELCHOLÁISTE MHUIRE – D O’Connell; B O’Callaghan, E Gunning, R O’Meara; E O’Keeffe, C O’Sullivan, A O’Donovan; C Hanafin, E O’Laoire; C Connolly, P White, L Coughlan; D Gunning, D Braham, D Lee.

Subs: D Tuohy for Braham (28), C O’Callaghan for White (42), E Sheehan for D Gunning (48).

Ref – W Barrett (Tipperary)


This year’s Dean Ryan final is a Cork/Waterford affair as Gaelcholáiste Mhuire A.G. the Irish college from the North Monastery on the North Side of Cork City take on De La Salle from Waterford City. The game will take place on the 21/11/12 at 1.30pm in Fraher Field, Dungarvan.

Gaelcholáiste Mhuire overcame fellow Corkonians: St Colmans, Fermoy and Midleton C.B.S. on route to the final. In their quarter final clash the boys from the Northside overcame an early deficit to run out winners by 2-12 to 0-6. However the score line is not a true reflection of what was an extremely tight and tense game. In the semi-final a strongly favoured Midleton C.B.S. team were put to the sword in a thrilling encounter which saw the Gaelcholáiste triumph with the bear minimum to spare on a shoreline of 0-12 to 1-8.

D.L.S. began their campaign with a draw against Clonmel, however the boys from the Newtown Rd proved far too strong in the replay running out comfortable winners on a score line of 3-15 to 0-11. In the quarter final St. Caimans provided the opposition but D.L.S. ran out emphatic winners, displaying top class hurling and a clinical eye for goal. It was an all Waterford affair in the semi-final as Backwater Community College from Lismore the defending champions looked to halt the impressive Waterford City outfit. The Lismore outfit put up a brave challenge but once again the ability of the D.L.S. forwards to get goals proved crucial as they pulled away to win by 4-13 to 0-11.

D.L.S. has an impressive record in this competition winning it on two occasions, their last triumph coming in 2008. On the other hand this is a first Munster Colleges ‘A’ final for Gaelcholáiste Mhuire which is a remarkable achievement for a school with such a limited playing pool to choose from. It promises to be a fascinating final.

Gaelcholáiste Mhuire Cork Panel

Dónal Ó Connaing Na Piarsaigh

Evan Ó Síocháin Na Piarsaigh

Dónal Mac Uidhir Na Piarsaigh

Adam Ó Súilleabháin Fanaithe na Ghleanna

Daithí Braham Fanaithe na Ghleanna

Pól De Faoite Fanaithe na Ghleanna

Conchúir Ó Briain Carraig na bhfear

Cian Mac Ghiolla Chainnigh Na Piarsaigh

Liam Ó Cochláin Fanaithe na Ghleanna

Coilín Ó Súilleabháin Na Piarsaigh

Rian Mac Eochain Fanaithe na Ghleanna

Seán Ó Ceallacháin Na Piarsaigh

Darragh Ó Conaill Na Piarsaigh

Ciarán Ó hAinifín Na Piarsaigh

Eoin Ó Laoire Na Piarsaigh

Dayne Ó Laoi Na Piarsaigh

Craig Ó Conghaile Na Piarsaigh

Roibéard Ó Méara Na Piarsaigh

Brian Ó Ceallacháin Na Piarsaigh

Eric Ó Caoimh Na Piarsaigh

Ailéin Breathnach Na Piarsaigh

Adam Ó Donnabháin Fanaithe na Ghleanna

Eadbhard Ó Connaing Na Piarsaigh

Cathal Ó Ceallacháin Fanaithe na Ghleanna

Seán Ó hArgáin Fanaithe na Ghleanna

Eoin Ó Conaire Na Piarsaigh

Darragh Ó Tuathaigh Na Piarsaigh

De La Salle Panel

Eoin Purcell Mooncoin

Niall Blanchfield Mooncoin

Eddie Hayden Ballygunner

Shane Walsh Piltown

Craig Brown Erins Own

Jack MacCarthy De La Salle

Kieron Dillion Dunphy Mooncoin

Gus Flynn Ballygunner

Mark Shanahan Erins Own

Peter Hogan Ballygunner

Sean Treacy Passage East

Michael Roche De La Salle

Mark Mullally Ballygunner

Dessie Hutchinson Ballygunner

Shane Ryan De La Salle

Luke Power Portlaw

Eddie Meaney De La Salle

Patrick Walsh Mooncoin

Brian Cunnigham De La salle

Kevin Crowley Mooncoin

Sean Barlow Passage East

Adam Power Ballygunner

Jeff Frampton Ballygunner

Ian Long Piltown

Adam Roche Passage East

Eddie Doherty Mooncoin

Conor O’ Sullivan Ballygunner

Darragh Lynch Passage East

Evan Whelan De La Salle

Stephen Lynch Passage East

John Phelan Passage East

Josh O’ Brien Roanmore

Jason Kirwin Erins Own

Denis Lynch Passage East

Jamie Roche De La Salle

David Cullinane Ballygunner

Sean O’ Sullivan Ryan Ballygunner

Jamie Burke (inj) Passage East

Shane Hannon Ballygunner

Roll of Honour – Corn an Rianaigh

Meanscoil na mBr. Dúrlas (12): 1936, 39, 45, 47, 50, 52, 55, 56, 65, 92, 2010

Coláiste Fhlannain (12): 1957, 61, 62, 67, 73, 76, 88, 97, 99, 2004, 2006, 2011

Coláiste Cholmain (11): 1970, 72, 77, 79, 83, 93, 94, 95, 2000, 2001, 2003

An Mhainistir Thuaidh (10): 1958, 59, 71, 75, 78, 80, 81, 84, 85, 90

Coláiste Mhichil Luimneach (5): 1937, 54, 64, 66, 68

Mainistir na Corann (5): 1940, 48,49,86,89

Coláiste Barra (3): 1069, 82, 98

Dún Garbháin (2): 1951, 53

Scairbh (2): 1991, 96

DLS Port Láirge (2): 2005, 2008

Inis (1): 1941

Coláiste Chriost Rí (1): 1963

Coláiste Iognaid Ris (1): 1974

Tiobraid Árann (1): 1987

P.S. Caiseal (1): 2002

Teampall Mór (1): 2007

Ard Scoil Rís (1): 2009

P.S. Blackwater (1): 2012