Corn Uí Mhuirí Senior A Football Quarter-Final – DLS Macroom 1-8 St. Fachtna’s Skibbereen 1-7

Lucey’s late show sinks Saints

Report from the Irish Independent newspaper

DLS Macroom 1-8 St Fachtna’s 1-7

Last year’s defeated finalists made it into the last four as Pa Lucey’s late point enabled them see off Skibbereen’s St Fachtna’s in Ballineen. When Josh Pickett found the net for Fachtna’s in the 50th minute, they led 1-7 to 1-5, having responded to Daniel Cahalane putting Macroom 1-5 to 0-5 ahead, but they would not score again. A free from Lucey cut the gap to a point, before midfielder Peter Kelleher punched another Lucey free over the bar.

Macroom started well before falling 0-4 to 0-2 behind, with Paul Hickey unlucky not to push Skibb further ahead. By half-time it was 0-4 apiece and, after an even start to the second half, Macroom pushed clear. Cahalane scored a goal from a move started by full-back Dermot O’Callaghan. Hickey and Brendan Hayes got Fachtna’s back into it and they led again after Pickett’s goal, but ultimately it was Macroom’s day.

Scorers – De La Salle: P Lucey 0-5 (4f), D Cahalane 1-0, P Kelleher, P Berhanu, J Moynihan 0-1 each. St Fachtna’s: J Bushe, P Hickey 0-2f each, J Pickett 1-0, B Hayes, D Cahalane, M Hurley 0-1 each.

DE LA SALLE – D Dineen; K O’Dwyer, D O’Callaghan, C Noonan; A Healy, B O’Leary, S Creedon; P Kelleher, P Lucey; S Foley, J Moynihan, W Coakley; P Berhanu, S O’Sullivan, D Cahalane. Sub: J Berhanu for P Berhanu (51).

ST FACHTNA’S – C O’Driscoll; R Fitzgerald, D Kingston, T Bushe; B Hayes, A Hassett, D O’Callaghan; J Pickett, D Cahalane; P Hickey, J Bushe, C Nolan; S O’Donovan, C Newman, M Hurley.

Ref – N Wall (Cork)

Match Preview

Without a doubt the tie of the round will see these two west Cork rivals go head to head in what should be an excellent game. Indeed the two schools clashed earlier in the year in the Simcox Cup (Cork Colleges Senior ‘A’ Football) with the Macroom school emerging winners on a score of 1-16 to 1-9. Macroom went on to impressively account for Rochestown College in the final of the Simcox, who are also quarter-finalists. To date St Fachtna’s have shown enough form to suggest that they are capable of competing with any team in the competition and as they have shown in the past the challenge of the Macroom School will see them raise their game.

DLS Macroom results to date:

DLS Macroom 0-15 Killorglin I.S. 0-2

DLS Macroom 1-10 Rochestown Coll. 1-8

St. Fachtna’s results to date:

DLS Skibbereen 1-8 St. Brendan’s Killarney 3-7

Skibbereen 1-14 Tralee CBS 0-11


DLS Macroom Panel

The DLS Macroom Panel is as follows –

Dylan Dineen Macroom

Kevin O’Dwyer Macroom

Dermot O’Callaghan Aghinagh

Ciaran Noonan Ballingeary

Adam Healy Kilmurry

Shane Foley Kilmichael

Shane Creedon Macroom

Peter Kelleher Kilmichael

Barry O’Leary Iveleary

Padraig Berhanu Kilmurry

James Moynihan Canovee

William Coakley Aghinagh

Patrick Lucey Macroom

Sean O’Sullivan Aghabullogue

Daniel Cahalane Kilmurry

John Murphy Macroom

Sean Kelleher Aghinagh

Michael Dunne Canovee

Chris Foskett Macroom

James Berhanu Kilmurry

Cian Creedon Clondrohid

Finbarr Mcsweeney Iveleary

Michael John Grainger Kilmurry

Brian McMahon Macroom

Padraig Hinchion Kilmurry

Shane O’Donoghue Kilmichael

Ciaran O’Donoghue Kilmichael

Brendan O’Sullivan Macroom

Don Creedon Macroom

Daniel Mcsweeney Clondrohid

St. Fachtna’s de la Salle Senior Football Panel

Corn Uí Mhuirí Quarter Final v De la Salle Macroom

1. Colm O Driscoll (Castlehaven)

2. Richard Fitzgerald (O’Donovan Rossa)

3. Daniel Kingston (Tadhg MacCárthaigh)

4. Diarmuid O’Callaghan (Kilmacabea)

5. Brendan Hayes (Clann na nGael)

6. Alex Hassett (Ilen Rovers)

7. Darren Collins (Clann na nGael)

8. Cillian Newman (O’Donovan Rossa)

9. Josh Pickett (Ilen Rovers)

10. Paul Hickey (Clann na nGael)

11. Darragh Cahalane (Castlehaven)

12. Conor Nolan (Castlehaven)

13. Seán O Donovan (Ilen Rovers)

14. Jack Bushe (Ilen Rovers – Captain)

15. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)

16. Finbarr Maguire (Castlehaven)

17. Tom Bushe (Ilen Rovers)

18. Patrick Bohane (Castlehaven)

19. Oisín Coffey (Ilen Rovers)

20. Kevin Whooley (Kilmacabea)

21. Ronan Walsh (Castlehaven)

22. Brian Leonard (Ilen Rovers)