Waterford Crystal Cup Quarter Final – Cork 4-16 WIT 1-8

Cork defeated the Waterford Institute of Technology by 4-16 to 1-8 in the quarter final of the Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling competition on Saturday at Pairc Ui Rinn.

Team News

CORK (Waterford Crystal Cup SH v WIT): A Nash (Kanturk); J O’Donovan (Bandon), M Ellis (Millstreet), P O’Sullivan (Carrigtwohill); C Spillane (Castlelyons), C Joyce (Na Piarsaigh), S White (Ballygarvan); D Kearney (Sarsfields), R O’Shea (Carrigaline); B Corry (Ballymartle), C McCarthy (Sarsfields), C Murphy (Mallow); A Mannix (Kilworth), M Cussen (Sarsfields), J Coughlan (Newtownshandrum).

Subs: W McCarthy (Carrigtwohill), S O’Neill (Bishopstown), C O’Sullivan (Sarsfields), S McDonnell (Glen Rovers), T Kenny (Grenagh), P Cronin (Bishopstown), S Moylan (Douglas), P Horgan (Glen Rovers), P O’Sullivan (Cloyne), D Pyne (Harbour Rovers)

For the Record

Cork WIT
2012 Waterford Crystal Cup Performance Defeated Kerry in the Quarter-Final before losing to Tipperary in the Semi-Final after extra time by 0-26 to 1-19 Lost to Clare by 3-25 to 0-5 in the Preliminary Round
Number of Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling titles 0 0
Last Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling Title N/A N/A
Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling Record since 2006 Played – 11
Won – 6
Lost – 5
Drawn – 0
Played – 12
Won – 5
Lost – 7
Drawn – 0
Last meeting in the Waterford Crystal Cup 2009 Quarter-Final – January 11th at Pairc Ui Rinn
Waterford Institute of Technology 0-14 Cork 0-9 

Cork: A. Kennedy; E. Clancy, A. Kearney, C. O’Sullivan; E. Keane, A. Ryan, G. O’Connor; B. Johnson (0-7, 0-6 frees), T. Óg Murphy; W. O’Brien, C. O’Leary, C. McCarthy; R. O’Driscoll (0-1), P. Honohan, D. Crowley (0-1)
Subs: C. Brosnan for O’Leary, P. Lynch for McCarthy, B. O’Sullivan for O’Brien

WIT: M. Walsh (Wexford); B. Moroney (Tipperary), C. Cooney (Clare), M. Phelan (Kilkenny); M. Dunne (Tipperary), S. Lillis (Tipperary, 0-1 free), PJ Rowe (Kilkenny); R.Goode (Cork), J. Ryan (Limerick); K. Grehan (Kilkenny), F. O’Leary (Cork, 0-2), J. Gahan (Wexford,0-3); R. McLoughney (Tipperary, 0-1 free), R. McCarthy (Limerick, 0-3), T. Hammersley (Tipperary, 0-4)
Subs: B. Staunton (Kilkenny) for Ryan, R. Horan (Clare) for McCarthy

Referee: Ger Hoey (Clare)

Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling 2013

Preliminary Round

Saturday January 19th

@ Kilmallock                               Limerick 3-15 Mary Immaculate College 0-13

@ The Mardyke                          Cork 3-20 UCC 1-16

Sunday January 20th

@ Abbeydorney                          Kerry 6-17 IT Tralee 0-12

@ WIT GAA Grounds                  University of Limerick 1-20 Waterford 0-18

Quarter-Finals (Extra Time)

Thursday January 24th

@ Abbeydorney                          Kerry v Limerick Institute of Technology            @ 7:00pm

Saturday January 26th

@ Pairc Ui Rinn                           Cork v Waterford Institute of Technology           @ 2:00pm

Sunday January 27th

@ Sixmilebridge                          Clare v University of Limerick                            @ 2:00pm

@ MacDonagh Park Nenagh        Tipperary v Limerick                                        @ 2:00pm

Semi-Finals (Extra Time)

Sunday February 3rd

Clare or UL v Cork or WIT

Venue Permutations

@ TBC                                       Clare v Cork
@ Clare venue                            Clare v WIT
@ Cork venue                             UL v Cork
@ TBC                                       UL v WIT

Tipperary or Limerick v Kerry or LIT

Venue Permutations

@ TBC                                       Tipperary v Kerry

@ Tipperary venue                      Tipperary v LIT
@ TBC         `                             Limerick v Kerry
@ Limerick venue                        Limerick v LIT

Final (Extra Time)

Sunday February 10th

Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling – Odds and Ends

35 goals were scored in the 2012 Waterford Crystal Cup competition over 11 matches (an average of 3.2 goals per match). This contrasts with 23 goals in the 2011 competition over 10 matches (an average of 2.3 goals per match). In the first four matches in last week’s preliminary round of the 2013 competition, there were 14 goals scored (an average of 3.5 goals per match)

Since the Waterford Crystal Cup began in 2006, Clare (15 wins), Tipperary (13 wins) and Waterford (13 wins) have accounted for 41 of the 75 victories in the competition (55%).

Tipperary hold the record for the longest winning streak in the Waterford Crystal Cup since the competition began under that guise in 2006 when they won 10 consecutive matches between 2007 and 2009.

None of the five teams who take part in the Munster Senior Hurling Championship have a losing record in the Waterford Crystal Cup since 2006.

Since the Waterford Crystal Cup began in 2006, 70 games have been played with just 1 draw – the 2012 Limerick v Clare Quarter-Final after two periods of extra time.

The record of the Third Level Colleges in the Waterford Crystal Cup since 2006 is Won 20, Lost 42, a 32% success rate.

Waterford have won 8 of the last 10 matches in the Waterford Crystal Cup.

Clare are the only team who have won at least one game each year since the Waterford Crystal Cup competition began in 2006.

IT Tralee is the only team not to win a game in the Waterford Crystal Cup since 2006, losing their first match in the last 6 seasons.

Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling Roll Of Honour

Tipperary (3) – 2007, 2008, 2012

Waterford (2) – 2010, 2011

Clare (1) – 2009

Limerick (1) – 2006

Waterford Institute of Technology Panel

Stephen O’Keeffe, Waterford

Ciaran Hough, Tipperary

Liam Lawlor, Waterford

Noel Connors, Waterford

Luke Harney, Luke Harney

Wayne Hutchinson, Waterford

Tomas Hamil, Tipperary

Harry Kehoe, Wexford

James Dowling, Kilkenny

Eoin Murphy, Kilkenny

Martin O’Neill, Waterford

Pauric Mahony, Waterford

Gavin O’Brien, Waterford

Bernard Burke, Galway

Mark Fanning, Wexford

Luke O’Loughlin, Clare

Shaun Murphy, Wexford

Aidan McGrath, Tipperary

Liam McGrath, Tipperary

Eoin Madigan, Waterford

Martin Gaffney, Kilkenny

Mike Sheedy, Tipperary

Waterford Crystal Cup – 2013 Scorers

Patrick Horgan (Cork) 2-8 (1-4 frees, 0-2 65s) 

Shane Dowling (Limerick) 2-5 (0-4 frees)
Willie Griffin (UCC) 1-7 (1-5 frees)

Daniel Collins 2-3 (Kerry)
Shane Nolan (Kerry) 2-2 (0-2 frees)

Willie O’Dwyer (Kerry) 1-4

Kieran Morris (UL) 0-7 (0-6 frees)
Mark Deegan (IT Tralee) 0-7 (0-7 frees)
Paudie O’Sullivan (Cork) 1-3

Shane O’Sullivan (Waterford) 0-6 (0-2 frees, 0-1 65)

Seamus Harnedy (UCC) 0-5

John Conlon (Mary Immaculate College) 0-5 (0-4 frees)

Pa Cronin (Cork) 0-4 (0-2 frees)

Sean Maunsell (Kerry) 1-1

Niall Moran (Limerick) 0-4
Eamonn Murphy (UL) 0-4
Stephen Moylan (Cork) 0-3

David Breen (Limerick) 1-0
Paul Kelly (UL) 1-0

Sean Curran (Mary Immaculate College) 0-3 (0-1 free)

Richie Foley (Waterford) 0-3

Jake Dillon (Waterford) 0-3 (0-2 frees, 0-1 penalty)

Darren Dineen (Kerry) 0-2
Brendan O’Leary (Kerry) 0-2 

Conor Allis (Limerick) 0-2
Adrian Ryan (UL) 0-2

David Butler (UL) 0-2
Colm Galvin (Mary Immaculate College) 0-2
Seamus Prendergast (Waterford) 0-2


Michael Cussen (Cork), Rob O’Shea (Cork), Darragh O’Connell (Kerry) (0-1 free), Padraig Boyle (Kerry), PJ Connolly (Kerry), Seanie Tobin (Limerick), David Reidy (Limerick), Kevin Downes (Limerick), Seamus Hickey (Limerick), P. Walsh (UL), Shane Golden (UL), T. Heffernan (UL), C. Ryan (UL), Brian Stapleton (UL), Kevin Moran (Waterford), Shane Walsh (Waterford), J. Barron (Waterford), Gavin O’Brien (0-1 free), Brian Hartnett (UCC), Conor Lehane (UCC), Dan McCormack (UCC), B Murray (UCC), Jack Walsh (IT Tralee), Giles O’Grady (IT Tralee), S Conlon (IT Tralee), Podge O’Connor  (IT Tralee), Darren Wallace (IT Tralee), Declan Hannon (Mary Immaculate College) (0-1 ’65), Luke O’Farrell (Mary Immaculate College), Brian O’Halloran (Mary Immaculate College) 0-1 each