Waterford Crystal Cup Semi Final – Tipperary 1-20 LIT 2-12

Tipp seal final berth

By Shane Brophy for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Tipperary 1-20 Limerick IT 2-12

A goal two minutes from time from sub Michael Heffernan helped Tipperary reach a second successive Waterford Crystal Cup final after defeating Limerick IT in yesterday’s semi-final at Dolla. Backed by a strong wind, the holders opened up a 10-point lead at half time but were made to endure a nervy finish when Gary Guilfoyle’s second goal reduced the margin to two — but Heffernan’s strike set up a final meeting with Clare next weekend. After an even first 10 minutes, Tipperary — with six debutants — went on to score 11 points without reply with man-of-the-match John O’Dwyer leading the way, scoring five and setting up three more. John O’Neill and Jason Forde also chipped in with five points from play between them with Shane McGrath, John O’Brien, Joey McLoughney and corner back Christy Coughlan were also on target.

The hosts led 0-13 to 0-3 at the break with all LIT’s scores coming from Guilfoyle frees and it took until the 43rd minute for the students to register from play, again through Guilfoyle. Gary Guilfoyle blasted a 20-metre free to the net in the 49th minute and when the same player deflected a John Guilfoyle shot past Darren Gleeson to reduce the margin to two points it looked like a shock was on the cards but sub Heffernan eased any possibility of same a minute later with a goal of his own.

Scorers for Tipperary: J O’Dwyer 0-7 (2f, 2 65s); J Forde, J O’Neill 0-3 each; M Heffernan 1-0; S McGrath, J McLoughney (1f) 0-2 each; J O’Brien, C Coughlan, S Bourke 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick IT: G Guilfoyle 2-10 (1-9f); J Guilfoyle, S Collins 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY: D Gleeson; C Coughlan, T Stapleton, T Treacy; J McLoughney, R Sherlock, O Quirke; S McGrath, C O’Brien; J O’Dwyer, J Woodlock, J Forde; J O’Neill, C Hogan, J O’Brien.

Subs: D Maher for Stapleton (ht); N McGrath for C O’Brien (ht); S Bourke for J O’Brien (45); M Heffernan for Hogan (54); B O’Meara for O’Neill (65).

LIMERICK IT: A Fahy (Clare); A Dempsey (Limerick), P Begley (Limerick), C Barrett (Tipperary); P Ahern (Limerick), J O’Keeffe (Tipperary), P Flaherty (Galway); J Guilfoyle (Clare), E O’Sullivan (Cork); G Guilfoyle (Clare), S Collins (Clare), J Fitzgibbon (Clare); P Greene (Tipperary), P O’Brien (Limerick), P Hickey (Clare).

Subs: C Madden (Limerick) for Fitzgibbon (24); P Dalton (Tipperary) for Hickey (47); C Nelson (Clare) for O’Sullivan (47); S O’Connor (Clare) for Dempsey (59).

Referee: P Casey (Waterford)

Team News

The Tipperary SH team to play LIT on Sunday in Dolla in the semi-final of the Waterford Crystal Cup has a number of senior inter-county debutants – Christy Coughlan (Templederry Kenyons), Tom Treacy (Cappawhite), Ronan Sherlock, Orrie Quirke and Jason Forde (all Silvermines) and Cian Hogan (Lorrha and Dorrha). The team is:

1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)

2. Christy Coughlan (Templederry Kenyons)

3. Thomas Stapleton (Templederry Kenyons)

4. Tom Treacy (Cappawhite)

5.  Joey McLoughney (Toomevara)

6.  Ronan Sherlock (Silvermines)

7.  Orrie Quirke (Silvermines)

8.  Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch)

9. Conor O’Brien (Éire Óg Annacarty)

10. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)

11. James Woodlock (Drom and Inch)

12. Jason Forde (Silvermines)

13. John O’Neill (Clonoulty Rossmore)

14. Cian Hogan (Lorrha & Dorrha)

15. John O’Brien (Toomevara)

For the Record

Tipperary LIT
2012 Waterford Crystal Cup Performance Defeated LIT, UL, Cork and Clare to win the title Lost to Tipperary by 2-24 to 1-16 in the Preliminary Round
Number of Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling titles 3 0
Last Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling Title 2012 N/A
Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling Record since 2006 Played – 18
Won – 14
Lost – 4
Drawn – 0
Played – 10
Won – 3
Lost – 7
Drawn – 0
Last meeting in the Waterford Crystal Cup 2012 Preliminary Round – January 27th at Dolla – Tipperary 2-24 LIT 1-16 

Scorers for Tipperary: P Bourke 0-13 (12f); J O’Neill 1-1; S McGrath 0-3; T Hammersley 1-0; B Maher, A Ryan, B O’Meara 0-2 each; D Collins 0-1.

Scorers for LIT: J Canning 1-8 (0-6f); P Browne, S O’Brien 0-2 each; C McInerney 0-2f; E Ryan, C Madden 0-1 each.

Tipperary: D Gleeson; D Maher, P Curran, M Cahill; S Maher, J Coghlan, Padraic Maher; B Maher, J Woodlock; Patrick Maher, S McGrath, A Ryan; P Bourke, B O’Meara, J O’Neill.
Subs: J Ryan for Woodlock (51); T Hammersley for O’Neill (60); D Collins for McGrath (62); C O’Brien for Cahill (66).

LIT: A Fahy (Clare); E Glynn (Clare), R McCarthy (Limerick), B Glynn (Clare); O Whelan (Waterford), J O’Keeffe (Tipperary), P O’Brien (Limerick); P Browne (Limerick), E Ryan (Limerick); S O’Brien (Limerick), S Collins (Clare), C Madden (Limerick); C McInerney (Clare), J Canning (Galway), C O’Connell (Clare).
Subs: J Hayes (Limerick) for Whelan (ht); S Lambert (Galway) for Ryan (ht); C Nelson (Clare) for McInerney (63).

Referee: J Sexton (Cork)

Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling 2013

Preliminary Round

Saturday January 19th

@ Kilmallock                               Limerick 3-15 Mary Immaculate College 0-13

@ The Mardyke                          Cork 3-20 UCC 1-16

Sunday January 20th

@ Abbeydorney                          Kerry 6-17 IT Tralee 0-12

@ WIT GAA Grounds                  University of Limerick 1-20 Waterford 0-18

Thursday January 24th

@ Abbeydorney                          Limerick Institute of Technology 1-25 Kerry 3-7

Saturday January 26th

@ Pairc Ui Rinn                           Cork 4-16 Waterford Institute of Technology 1-8

Sunday January 27th

@ Sixmilebridge                          Clare 3-13 University of Limerick   1-13
@ MacDonagh Park Nenagh        Tipperary 0-22 Limerick 1-9

Semi-Finals (Extra Time)

Friday February 1st

@ Sixmilebridge                          Clare 0-20 Cork 2-11

Sunday February 3rd

@ Dolla                                      Tipperary v Limerick Institute of Technology      @ 12:00pm

(Extra Time)

Sunday February 10th

Clare v Tipperary or LIT

Venue Permutations

@ Tipperary venue                            Clare v Tipperary (last meeting – 2012 Final at Sixmilebridge)
@ Clare venue                            Clare v LIT

Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling – Odds and Ends

35 goals were scored in the 2012 Waterford Crystal Cup competition over 11 matches (an average of 3.2 goals per match). This contrasts with 23 goals in the 2011 competition over 10 matches (an average of 2.3 goals per match). In the first eight matches in the 2013 competition, there were 28 goals scored (an average of 3.5 goals per match)

Since the Waterford Crystal Cup began in 2006, Clare (16 wins), Tipperary (14 wins) and Waterford (13 wins) have accounted for 43 of the 79 victories in the competition (54%).

Tipperary hold the record for the longest winning streak in the Waterford Crystal Cup since the competition began under that guise in 2006 when they won 10 consecutive matches between 2007 and 2009.

None of the five teams who take part in the Munster Senior Hurling Championship have a losing record in the Waterford Crystal Cup since 2006.

Since the Waterford Crystal Cup began in 2006, 74 games have been played with just 1 draw – the 2012 Limerick v Clare Quarter-Final after two periods of extra time.

The record of the Third Level Colleges in the Waterford Crystal Cup since 2006 is Won 21, Lost 44, a 32% success rate.

Clare are the only team who have won at least one game each year since the Waterford Crystal Cup competition began in 2006.

Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling Roll Of Honour

Tipperary (3) – 2007, 2008, 2012

Waterford (2) – 2010, 2011

Clare (1) – 2009

Limerick (1) – 2006