Corn Uí Mhuirí Final-PS Chorca Dhuibhne 1-15 St. Brendans 1-8

Class act O Se puts Brendan’s to the sword

Report from the Sunday Independent newspaper


Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne retained the Corn Ui Mhuiri as they recovered from a poor start to beat 22-time champions St Brendan’s Killarney on a perfect sod at Fitzgerald Stadium. St Brendan’s dominated the opening quarter, with Kerry U-21 panellist Kieran Murphy lording midfield, but all they had to show for it was three points from frees – two from Tony Brosnan and one from Conor Keane. Once Chorca Dhuibhne moved captain Eanna O Conchuir from the edge of the square to midfield and Tomas O Se warmed to the task, the champions scored six unanswered points in the final 10 minutes of the first half, two from O Conchuir and Cathal O Bambaire, and one each from Pol Breathnach and Tom O Suilleabhain to lead 0-7 to 0-3 at the break.

O Se destroyed the St Brendan’s defence after the break and Chorca Dhuibhne struck for a goal inside a minute when, after a wonder pass from Tom O Suilleabhain to Barra O Suilleabhain, the midfielder found Cathal O Bambaire and he rifled the ball to the net. O Bambaire then pointed after a poor kick-out. O Se was at his marauding best, punching a superb point after a 60-metre run in the 40th minute, while St Brendan’s had to wait until the 46th minute for their first point from play from Jordan Kiely. But after Tom O Suilleabhain and sub Seamus O Muircheartaigh each added two more, it was all over. Kelvin Teahan grabbed a consolation goal, but it will be Chorca Dhuibhne who face the Leinster champions in the Hogan Cup semi-final.

Scorers – Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne: C O Bambaire 1-3, E O Conchuir, T O Suilleabhain 0-3 each, S O Muircheartaigh (1f), P Breathnach 0-2 each, P O Dubhain (1f), T O Se 0-1 each. St Brendan’s College Killarney: C Keane 0-4 (4f), K Teahan 1-0, T Brosnan 0-2 (2f), J Kiely, M Burns 0-1 each.

Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne – D O Conchuir; B O Beaglaoich, C O Luing, C O Suilleabhain; M O Flatharta, P O Conchuir, M O Conchuir; B O Suilleabhain C O Beaglaoich; T O Se, P Breathnach, P O Dubhain; T O Suilleabhain, E O Conchuir, C O Bambaire. Subs: C O Muirthuile for C O Beaglaoich (49), S O Muircheartaigh for P Breathnach (50), R O Se for T O Se (59), C O Gairbhia for M O Conchuir (59), M O Caomhanaigh for P O Dubhain (59)

St Brendan’s College Killarney – A O’Connor; D Galvin, B Lynch, P Casey; D Lyne, J McCarrick, D Rice; K Murphy, J O’Neill; M Burns, T Brosnan, K Teahan; L Byrnes, R O’Riordan, C Keane. Subs: J Kiely for T Brosnan (32), G Kelly for L Byrnes (32), D Roche for D Lyne (43), A Moriarty for D Rice (59)

Ref – Eddie Walsh (Rathmore)

Team Panels

St.Brendan’s College Panel

See below the St.Brendan’s College Panel for the Corn ui Mhuiri 2012-2013 –

Kieran Murphy- Killcummin (Captain)

Andrew O’ Connor- Legion

Roy Kelliher- Glenflesk

Diarmuid Galvin- Dr.Crokes

Josh Flynn- Fyries

Brian Lynch- Spa

Philip Casey- Killcummin

Damien Lyne- Legion

James McCarrick- Glenflesk

Darragh Rice- Fossa

Sean Burke- Fyries

Jack O’ Neill- Legion

Micheal Burns- Dr.Crokes

Tony Brosnan- Dr.Crokes

Kelvin Teahan- Killcummin

Laurence Byrnes- Dr.Crokes

Dara Roche- Glenflesk

Gavin Kelly- Glenflesk

Kevin Keane- Glenflesk

Conor Keane- Legion

Rory O’Riordan- Spa

Matthew Keane- Killcummin

Donal Lyne- Legion

Alan Moriarty- Legion

Jordan Kiely- Dr.Crokes

Paudie Clifford- Fossa

Mikey O’Shea- Fossa

Jack Cahill- Spa

Manager – Harry O’Neill

Selection – Arthur Fitzgerald, Micheal Leahy

Maor Uisce – Gavin O’Shea, Paudraig Moynihan


P.S. Chorca Dhuibhne Panel

The P.S. Chorca Dhuibhne panel is as follows –

Dáithí Ó Conchuir Daingean Uí Chúis

Alan Ó Súilleabháin Lios Póil

Brian Ó Beaglaíoch An Ghaeltacht

Cathal ó Lúing An Ghaeltacht

Conchúir Ó Súilleabháin Daingean Uí Chúis

Maitiú Ó Flatharta Daingean Uí Chúis

Pádraig Ó Conchúir Daingean Uí Chúis

Pádraig Ó Dubháin Daingean Uí Chúis

Marc Ó Conchúir Daingean Uí Chúis

Cian Ó Murchú An Ghaeltacht

Caoimhghín Ó Beaglaíoch An Ghaeltacht

Tadhg de Brún Daingean Uí Chúis

Cathal Ó Gairbhia An Ghaeltacht

Aodhán Mac Gearailt Lios Póil

Éanna Ó Conchúir An Ghaeltacht

Barra Ó Súilleabháin Daingean Uí Chúis

Colm Ó Beaglaíoch An Ghaeltacht

Brian Ó Murchú An Ghaeltacht

Séamus Ó Muircheartaigh An Ghaeltacht

Tomás Ó Sé An Ghaeltacht

Colm Ó Muirthile Lios Póil

Pól Breathnach An Ghaeltacht

Tom Ó Súilleabháin Daingean Uí Chúis

Cathal Ó Bambaire Daingean Uí Chúis

Séin Ó hUallacháin An Ghaeltacht

Roibeárd Ó Sé An Ghaeltacht

Conchúir Ó Géibheannaigh Daingean Uí Chúis

Seán Ó Bambaire An Ghaeltacht

Máirtín Ó Gormáin An Ghaeltacht

Alan Ó Cinnéide Daingean Uí Chúis

Micheál Ó Caomhánaigh Lios Póil

Seán Ó Gairbhia An Ghaeltacht