Allianz Football League Division 4 – Tipperary 1-13 Clare 0-10

Tipperary too powerful for Clare

Report from the Irish Times newspaper

Tipperary proved too strong for Clare on Saturday at Cusack Park in Ennis when they had a merited six point win, to collect their second brace of Allianz Football League Division 4 league points, after four outings. The visitors were dominant throughout and after the whistle Tipp manager Peter Creedon, said, “we were solid and on the day we’ll take a win but I suppose on the day we should have been more comfortable in many respects. But we are happy enough that the guys applied themselves and next week now, six or seven day turnover we’ll look forward to taking on Limerick. ” The home-side trailed by 0-9 to 0-5 at the break with the Premier county enjoying the advantage of a strong wing in the opening half. Hugh Coghlan found the Clare net in the 60th minute while the game ended with fourteen apiece after Clare’s Enda Coughlan and Tipperary’s Alan Maloney were red-carded close to the end.


Tipperary:B Grogan (0-8) 5 f’s, 2 ‘45’s, A Maloney (0-4) 1 f, H Coghlan (1-0), P Acheson (0-1).

Clare: D Tubridy (0-3) 2 f’s, S McGrath (0-2), G Brennan (0-2), A Clohessy, E Coughlan, C O’Connor (0-1).

Tipperary:P Fitzgerald, J Coghlan, P Codd (Capt.), C McDonald, B Fox, R Kiely, D Leahy, G Hannigan, B Jones, P Acheson, H Coghlan, A Matassa, A Maloney, B Grogan, C Sweeney.

Subs: M Quinlivan for Jones (half-time), D Lowry for Matassa (54), D Lynch for Fox (62), L Egan for H Coghlan (64), J O’Callaghan for Kiely (69).

Clare:J Hayes, M McMahon, S McNeilis, E Coughlan, D Callinan, G Kelly, S Haugh, G Brennan (Capt.), C O’Connor, A Clohessy, S McGrath, C Dunning, M McCarthy, R Donnelly, D Tubridy.

Subs: P McMahon for Dunning (46), S Ryan for Haugh (46), G Quinlan for Donnelly (57).

Referee: D Maher (Westmeath)

Team News

The Tipperary senior football team to play Clare in the Allianz Football League Division 4 game against Clare on Saturday is:

1. Paul Fitzgerald (Fethard)

2. John Coghlan (Moyne Templetuohy)

3. Paddy Codd (Killenaule) Captain

4. Ciaran McDonald (Aherlow)

5. Brian Fox (Eire Og Annacarty)

6. Robbie Kiely (Arravale Rovers)

7. Donagh Leahy (Arravale Rovers)

8. George Hannigan (Shannon Rovers)

9. Brian Jones (Arravale Rovers)

10. Peter Acheson (Moyle Rovers)

11. Hugh Coghlan (Portlaoise, Laois)

12. Aldo Matassa (Clonmel Commercials)

13. Alan Maloney (Rockwell Rovers)

14. Barry Grogan (Aherlow)

15. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen)