Allianz Football League Division 4 – Leitrim 3-14 Waterford 3-7

Beirne goal seals victory for Leitrim

By PJ Leddy for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Leitrim 3-14 Waterford 3-07

Leitrim easily overcame Waterford in a low-key tie in Carrick-on-Shannon on Saturday. Leitrim led 1-9 to 2-3 at the interval, thanks to Ray Cox’s 13th minute goal, but a goal apiece by Robert Aherne and Darren Guiry kept Waterford in contention. A third Leitrim goal, from Conor Beirne in the 55th minute, sealed the home side’s win.

Scorers for Leitrim: R. Cox 2-1, E. Mulligan 0-7 (0-5 f); C. Beirne 1-2, E. Williams 0-2, G. Reynolds, B. Brennan 0-1.

Scorers for Waterford: T. Grey 1-2, G. Hurney 0-4 (frees), R. Aherne 1-0, D. Guiry 1-0, S, Aherne 0-1.

LEITRIM: B. Flynn; F. McMorrow, C. Egan, P. Maguire; G. Reynolds, E. Williams, D. Beck; B. Brennan, T. Beirne; R. Lowe, E. Mulligan, P. Brennan, B. McDonald, C. Beirne, R. Cox.

Subs: G. Hickey for Lowe (HT); S. Moran for McDonald (62); Gavin Reynolds for Cian Reynolds (65), B. Prior for Beck (68); P. McGowan for Mulligan (69).

WATERFORD: S. Enright; C. Phelan, S. Prendergast, M. O’Gorman, T. Grey, S. Briggs T. Ó hUallacháin; S. Aherne, T. Prendergast; L. Ó’Lonáin, S. Ó hEithir (5), Paul Whyte; D Guiry, R, Aherne, G. Hurney.

Subs: P. Hurney for T. Prendergast (41), J. Hurney for Guiry (45); B. Wall for S. Aherne (54); D. Hallahan for S. O’Hare (61), S. Dempsey for S. Prendergast (64).

Referee: E. McHugh (Tyrone)

Team News

Waterford Senior Football team to play Leitrim in Carrick On Shannon tomorrow is as follows:-

1. Stephen Enright Ballinacourty

2. Conor Phelan Brickey Rangers

3. Stephen Prendergast Kilrossanty

4. Maurice O’Gorman Nire

5. Tony Grey Stradbally

6. Shane Briggs Ballinacourty

7. John Hurney Ballinacourty

8. Shane Aherne Stradbally

9. Tommy Prendergast Kilrossanty

10. Liam Ó Lonáin An Rinn

11. Sean O Hare Ballinacourty

12. Patrick Hurney Ballinacourty

13. Darren Guiry Nire

14. Robert Aherne Stradbally

15. Gary Hurney Ballinacourty (Captain)