Allianz Football League Division 4 – Tipperary 0-15 Limerick 0-9

Tipperary back in promotion race

By Jackie Cahill for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Tipperary 0-15 Limerick 0-09

Peter Creedon’s Tipperary stormed back into the promotion race by ending Limerick’s 100% record in Division 4 of the Allianz NFL on Saturday. Tipp won for the third successive game as the Shannonsiders finally tasted defeat after a run of four successive victories. Limerick boss Maurice Horan watched his side miss two penalties and fumed: “We were going around saying that we were promoted and it was just a mathematical formality more or less.”

Barry Grogan was his side’s leading scorer and after Limerick stormed into a 0-4 to 0-1 lead, the visitors rallied to lead 0-7 to 0-5 at half-time. Eoghan O’Connor’s brace of points early in the second-half brought Limerick level again in front of 585 spectators but once Tipp regained the lead, they would not be caught.

Scorers for Limerick: G Collins, E O’Connor & I Ryan (2f), 0-2 each, S O’Carroll (45), J Riordan & L O’Dwyer, 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: B Grogan 0-5 (0-4f, 0-1 pen), C Sweeney (2f), B Fox, P Acheson & M Quinlivan 0-2 each, G Hannigan & L McGrath, 0-1 each.

LIMERICK: B Scanlon; C Coady, J McCarthy, M O’Riordan; S Lavin, P Browne, P Ranahan; D Treacey, T Lee; J O’Meara, J Riordan, S O’Carroll; G Collins, E O’Connor, I Ryan.

Subs: L O’Dwyer for Coady (20) D O’Sullivan for Scanlon (39), S Buckley for O’Carroll (46), I Corbett for Treacey (54), D Quaid for O’Riordan (63).

TIPPERARY: P Fitzgerald; A Morrissey, P Codd, C McDonald; J Coghlan, R Costigan, D Leahy; P Acheson, G Hannigan; B Fox, H Coghlan, A Matassa; M Quinlivan, B Grogan, C Sweeney.

Subs: L Egan for Morrissey (22), B Mulvihill for Matassa (44), D Lowry for Sweeney (47), L McGrath for Fox (63), T Dalton for Quinlivan (70).

Referee: D Brazil (Offaly)


Limerick footballers lose to Tipp

Report from the Limerick Leader newspaper

Limerick’s unbeaten run in Division 4 of the Allianz Football League came to an end in the Gaelic Grounds on Saturday when they were beaten by 0-15 to 0-9 by Tipperary. After four narrow wins in the earlier rounds, Limerick’s luck finally ran out here as two missed penalties proved to be their downfall. Limerick started well in the opening half but were still 0-7 to 0-5 down at the break, Ian Ryan having missed their first penalty after Ger Collins had been fouled.

When Eoghan O’Connor struck twice in the first three minutes of the second half, it looked as if Limerick were aiming at another second-half comeback but the burst of scores died with the equaliser. A Conor Sweeney free restored Tipp’s lead and, and points from Peter Acheson and Barry Grogan stretched Tipp three clear. Then Limerick missed their second penalty – Collins firing wide after Seanie Buckley had been fouled. Ian Ryan did reduce the deficit to two with a free but Tipp kicked for home and eventually ran out six-point winners. The result still leaves Limerick on top of the table with eight points and they will need to win their final two games – away to London and Clare – to secure promotion. Tipp are now in second on six points and a repeat meeting between the sides in the Division 4 final can’t be ruled out.

SCORERS – Tipperary: Barry Grogan 0-5 (0-4 frees, 0-1 penalty), Michael Quinlivan, Conor Sweeney (both frees), Brian Fox, Peter Acheson 0-2 each, George Hannigan, Liam McGrath 0-1each; Limerick: Ger Collins Ian Ryan (both frees), Eoghan O’Connor 0-2 each, John Riordan, Séamus O’Carroll (‘45’), Lorcan O’Dwyer 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY – Paul Fitzgerald; Andrew Morrissey, Paddy Codd, Ciarán McDonald; John Coghlan, Robbie Costigan, Donagh Leahy; Peter Acheson, George Hannigan; Brian Fox, Hugh Coghlan, Aldo Matassa; Michael Quinlivan, Barry Grogan, Conor Sweeney. Subs: John O’Callaghan for An drew Morrissey (22 mins), Brian Mulvihill for Aldo Matassa (43 mins), Darren Lowry for Conor Sweeney (46 mins), Liam McGrath for Brian Fox (63 mins), Timmy Dalton for Michael Quinlivan (69 mins).

LIMERICK – Brian Scanlon; Cian Coady, Johnny McCarthy, Mark O’Riordan; Steven Lavin, Paudie Browne, Pa Ranahan; Tom Lee, Darragh Treacy; James O’ Meara, John Riordan, Séamus O’Carroll; Ger Collins, Eoghan O’Connor, Ian Ryan. Subs: Lorcan O’Dwyer for Cian Coady (20 mins), Donal O’Sullivan for Brian Scanlon (38 mins), Seanie Buckley for Séamus O’Carroll (45 mins), Damien Quaid for Mark O’Riordan (63 mins).

Referee – Damien Brazil (Offaly)

Team News

There are no changes to the Limerick Senior Football team to play Tipperary tomorrow in the Gaelic Grounds from the team that beat Carlow last Sunday.

1. Brian Scanlan

2. Cian Coady

3. Johnny McCarthy

4. Mark O’Riordan

5. Stephen Lavin

6. Paudie Browne

7. Pa Ranahan

8. Darragh Treacy

9. Thomas Lee

10. James O’Meara

11. John Riordan

12. Seamus O’Carroll

13. Ger Collins

14. Eoghan O’Connor

15. Ian Ryan Captain