Allianz Football League Division 4 – Tipperary 2-15 Leitrim 0-14

Grogan haul puts Tipp back in promotion hunt


By Jackie Cahill for the Irish Indepedent newspaper

BARRY Grogan notched 2-3 against Leitrim at Semple Stadium as Tipp claimed a fourth successive win. Tipperary’s latest success leaves them very much in the hunt for promotion – with the scene now set for a dramatic showdown with Offaly on Sunday week. Grogan netted in the ninth minute and again in the first minute of stoppage-time at the end of the half as Tipp led by 2-10 to 0-4 at the break. With Emlyn Mulligan to the fore, Leitrim improved significantly in the second half, outscoring Tipp by 0-10 to 0-5, but the hosts were never in real danger and held on comfortably.

Man of the match: B Grogan (Tipperary)

Scorers – Tipperary: B Grogan 2-3 (1f, 1 ’45’), A Maloney 0-4 (2f), P Acheson, M Quinlivan 0-2 each, P Codd, B Fox, C Sweeney, A Matassa 0-1 each. Leitrim: E Mulligan 0-6 (3f), C Beirne 0-2f, T Beirne, P Brennan, G Hickey, R Cox, C Clarke, S McWeeney 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY – P Fitzgerald 7; J Coghlan 7, P Codd 8, C McDonald 9; B Fox 8, R Costigan 7, D Leahy 7; P Acheson 8, G Hannigan 7; C Sweeney 7, H Coghlan 7, A Matassa 7; M Quinlivan 8, B Grogan 9, A Maloney 8. Subs: D Lynch 6 for Leahy (42), B Mulvihill 6 for Quinlivan (53), D Lowry 6 for Matassa (54), B O’Brien 6 for Grogan (62), R Kiely for McDonald (66).

LEITRIM – B Flynn 6; G Reynolds 6, C Egan 6, P Maguire 6; P Brennan 6, E Williams 5, D Beck 6; B Brennan 6, T Beirne 6; B McDonald 6, E Mulligan 7, G Hickey 6; J Glancy 6, C Beirne 6, R Cox 6. Subs: F McMorrow 6 for Williams (32), S McWeeney 6 for McDonald (h-t), P McGowan 5 for Beck (54), C Clarke for Reynolds (59).

Ref – L Devanney (Mayo)

Team News

The Tipperary senior football team to play Leitrim in the Allianz Football League on Sunday is as follows:

1. Paul Fitzgerald (Fethard)

2. John Coghlan (Moyne Templetuohy)

3. Paddy Codd (Killenaule) Captain

4. Ciaran McDonald (Aherlow)

5. Brian Fox (Eire Og Annacarty)

6. Robbie Costigan (Cahir)

7. Donagh Leahy (Arravale Rovers)

8. Peter Acheson (Moyle Rovers)

9. George Hannigan (Shannon Rovers)

10. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen)

11. Hugh Coghlan (Portlaoise, Laois)

12. Aldo Matassa (Clonmel Commercials)

13. Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials)

14. Barry Grogan (Aherlow)

15. Alan Maloney (Rockwell Rovers)