Allianz Football League Division 4 – Limerick 1-13 Clare 0-10

Limerick defeated Clare by 1-13 to 0-10 in the Allianz Football League Division 4 on Sunday in Cusack Park Ennis.

O’Sullivan’s saves crucial in keeping Limerick on the up

Report from the Irish Independent newspaper

Limerick 1-13 Clare 0-10

LIMERICK clinched promotion to Division 3 with an emphatic victory over Clare at Cusack Park. Having won the toss, Limerick elected to play with breeze at their backs and were 0-5 to 0-0 ahead after 18 minutes courtesy of points from Ian Ryan (twice from frees), Eoghan O’Connor, Ger Collins and captain Seanie Buckley. Clare, who were finding their attacks repeatedly broken down by a stout Limerick half-back line, finally got off the mark in the 23rd minute when corner-forward Mark McCarthy found the target. The Banner men had a great chance for a goal just before the break when, after Ian McInerney’s shot was saved by Donal O’Sullivan, the rebound fell to Shane McGrath only for the midfielder to kick it wide. Still, they were only two points behind at the interval, with Limerick leading by 0-6 to 0-4.

Clare secured an early second-half point through substitute Micheal O’Shea to increase hopes among the home supporters. Then, came the turning point. With Limerick leading 0-8 to 0-7, Clare were awarded a penalty when Mark McCarthy was fouled inside the square. David Tubridy stepped up to take the responsibility, but the Doonbeg clubman’s shot was saved by O’Sullivan, handing the momentum back to the visitors. Limerick subsequently kicked three unanswered points through Ryan from a free and one each from play by Eoghan O’Connor and substitute Iain Corbett.

Clare were out of luck again when McGrath’s shot hit the crossbar before Gary Brennan scored a point from play in the 57th minute to leave his side trailing by 0-11 to 0-8. There was to be no comeback, however, and tenacious Limerick struck for the game’s only goal two minutes later, when Ryan latched on to a fine Collins handpass to punch to the ball home. This score gave the Shannonsiders some real breathing space and Collins then added a point to put his side 1-12 to 0-8 in front with 10 minutes remaining. Points from McInerney and Brennan reduced the deficit, but Limerick had the last say with a point from Ryan.

Man of the match: I Ryan (Limerick)

Scorers – Limerick: I Ryan 1-5 (3fs), S Buckley 0-3, G Collins, E O’Connor 0-2 each, I Corbett 0-1. Clare: G Brennan 0-4 (1f), I McInerney 0-3 (1f, 1 ’45’), M O’Shea 0-2, M McCarthy 0-1.

Limerick – D O’Sullivan 8; J McCarthy 8, A Lane 7, M O’Riordan 7; S Lavin 8, P Browne 7, P Ranahan 7; T Lee 7, B O’Brien 7; S Buckley 8, G Collins 8, J Riordan 7; E O’Connor 7, D O’Connor 6, I Ryan 9. Subs: I Corbett 7 for D O’Connor (34), J Galvin 6 for O’Brien (57), S Lucey for Lee (69).

Clare – Joe Hayes 8; C Dixon 6, S McNeilis 7, E Coughlan 7; D Callinan 8, G Kelly 7, John Hayes 7; G Brennan 8, C O’Connor 7; S McGrath 6, D Tubridy 6, C Dunning 6; R Donnelly 6, I McInerney 7, M McCarthy 7. Subs: M O’Shea 7 for Donnelly (25, inj), G Quinlan 6 for Dunning (55), M McMahon 6 for Dixon (61).

Ref – J Henry (Mayo)


Clare 0-10 Limerick 1-13

Round-up from the web site

Limerick finished top of the Allianz Division IV table and sealed promotion with their sixth win of the campaign against Clare at Cusack Park on Sunday afternoon. With Mick O’Dwyer’s side also in search of a win that would have seen them promoted, this was a tense and cagey game, which Limerick dominated in the opening stages playing with the aid of a strong breeze. Indeed, Maurice Horan’s charges were 0-5 to 0-0 ahead after 20 minutes thanks to scores from Ian Ryan (2), Eoghan O’Connor, Ger Collins and Seanie Buckley.

David Tubridy hit a few early wides for Clare early on and they didn’t manage to get off the mark until the 23rd minute, when Mark McCarthy landed a score. Michael O’Shea chipped in with another soon after. Clare cut the gap to two at the break with further scores from Gary Brennan and Ian McInerney and might have been ahead at half-time but Limerick goalkeeper Donal O’Sullivan made a brilliant save to deny McInerney in added time. McInerney pointed a 20-metre free seven minutes into the second half to leave Clare just a point in arrears, but they then missed a glorious goal chance when they were awarded a penalty for a foul on Gary Brennan. However, Tubridy’s spot kick was superbly saved once again by goalkeeper O’Sullivan. Limerick hit three scores in two minutes to move well clear and the game was over as a contest when Limerick struck for the only goal of the game on 59 minutes, Ryan fisting to the back of the net after neat build-up play by Collins and Iain Corbett.

Team News

The Limerick management announce the team to play Clare in the NFL next Sunday in Ennis at 3.00pm.

1 Brian Scanlan

2 Andy Lane

3 Johnny McCarthy

4 Mark O’Riordan

5 Stephen Lavin

6 Paudie Browne

7 Pa Ranahan

8 Thomas Lee

9 Bobby O’Brien

10 Derry O’Connor

11 Seanie Buckley Captain.

12 John Riordan

13 Eoghan O’Connor

14 Ger Collins

15 Ian Ryan