TG4 Munster Ladies Football Intermediate Championship Final – Waterford 2-13 Tipperary 1-13

Waterford defeated Tipperary by 2-13 to 1-13 in the TG4 Munster Ladies Football Intermediate Championship Final on Saturday July 13th at Castletownroche.

TG4 Munster Ladies Intermediate Championship Final

Waterford Claim 5 in a Row

By Donal Barry

Waterford 2-13 Tipperary 1-13

At Castletownroche

Waterford were crowned Munster Intermediate champions after they produced a late burst that finally broke a bold Tipperary resistance in which the premier county made the running for long stages. Waterford’s greater finishing power saw them outscore their opponents by 1-3 in the last quarter as they held Tipperary scoreless and they continue to dominate the Intermediate section in Munster by claiming a 5 in a row.

It was Tipperary that showed their intent early as Gillian O’Brien hit the Waterford net as early as the 3rd minute to give them a 1-1 to 0-0 lead. Edel Hanley had earlier pointed a free. It took Waterford a matter of minutes to get back into the game with Michelle Ryan(F),Shona Curran and Aoife Landers all adding points. Gillan O’Brien was giving the Waterford half back line a torrid time and added 2 further points either side of a Michelle Ryan free to leave them ahead 1-3 to 0-4 by the 16th minute. It may have been the soaring temperatures but the second quarter performance dipped somewhat as both sides contributed a number of wides. Shona Curran was impressive on the half forward line and on the 23rd minute latched on to an Elaine Power pass to send a pile driver to the net to give Helen Kennedy no chance. Both sides swapped pointed frees from Edel Hanly and Michelle Ryan to leave the Waterford girls ahead 1-5 to 1-4.

Gillian O’Brien had them level again by the 27th minute after her impressive run through the Waterford defence resulted in a point. Tipperary were pushing hard now and Aimee Jordan produced a tremendous point blank save from Hanley. It could have been a game changer but it spurred Waterford on as Linda Wall and Michelle Ryan (F) continued to add Waterford scores to give them a 2 point lead. However Tipperary were not for wilting and the a late first half point by the impressive substitute Patricia Hickey saw the sides head to the dressing rooms with only a point between them with Waterford 1-7 to 1-6 to the good.

Tipperary made a bold bid to win this one early in the second half as Sheelagh Carew and Mairead Morrissey got to grips with the midfield battle. Lorraine O’Shea was showing some of her impressive form too as they scored 5 points inside the first ten minutes of the second half. Waterford did not panic and Elaine Power and Michelle McGrath added points to see Tipperary ahead 1-11 to 1-9. The game began to open more as both teams were finding plenty space in the big surrounds of the Castletownroche pitch. Aoife Landers 42nd minute point had the teams back to one but Tipperary added a further brace from the boots of Gillian O’Brien and Patricia Hickey to give them a solid 3 point lead heading into the last quarter. However momentum switched to the champions as Michelle McGrath, Aoife Lander and Aileen Wall moved up the gears. A 51st minute goal by Aileen Wall put Waterford back in front and with Tipperary struggling in all sectors now it was Waterford who relied on their greater experience to close the game out. Michelle McGrath had Waterford’s last score in the 54th minute and despite the best efforts of Gillian O’Brien and Patrica Hickey Tipperary could find no way through as their greater earlier effort seemed to take too much from them.

Waterford will have been delighted to capture their 5th Munster title. Aimee Jordan made a crucial save in the first half, Karen McGrath, Michelle McGrath, Elaine Power, Shona Curran and Aoife Landers all play active roles in their side’s victory. For Sean O’Donovan and Tipperary it was a disappointing end as they came up short again to Waterford. However the Tipperary performance had enough evidence to show that the season could well continue into September. Samantha Lambert, Misread Morrissey, Lorraine O’Shea, Sheelagh Carew, Patricia Hickey and the very impressive Gillian O’Brien were to the fore in the Tipperary side

Waterford: Aimee Jordan, Nora Dunphy, Ann Dunphy, Mary Foley, Roisin Tobin, Grainne Enright, Karen McGrath, Michelle McGrath 0-3, Elaine Power 0-1, Aoife Landers 0-3, Shona Curran 1-1, Mairead Wall, Aileen Wall 1-0, Michelle Ryan 0-4(4F), Linda Wall 0-1

Subs: Shauna Dunphy for Shona Curran(40), Dearbhla Ni Haoda for Mairead Wall (56)

Tipperary: Helen Kennedy, Brid Condon, Samantha Lambert, Rachel Kenneally, Anne O’Dwyer Jennifer Grant, Barbara Ryan, Mairead Morrissey, Sheelagh Carew0-2 , Lorraine O’Shea 0-2, Gillian O’Brien 1-4, Niamh Lonergan, Edel Hanley 0-3(2F), Kelly Hackett, Aisling Mc Carthy

Subs: Patricia Hickey 0-2 for Kelly Hackett (20) Katie Lyne for Rachel Kenneally (44)

Ref: Sean Joy (Kerry)

Main Player: Karen McGrath of Waterford won player of the match but was closely followed by her team mate Michelle McGrath and Tipperary’s Gillian O’Brien who was to the fore in everything good by Tipperary and finished the day with 1-4.

Team News

Tipperary will play Waterford in the TG4 Munster Intermediate Football Championship Final in Castletownroche, Co. Cork on Saturday 13th July at 2.00pm. Tipperary have announced their starting 15 with three changes from the side which defeated Limerick. Rachel Kenneally and Jennifer Grant are introduced in defence replacing Sinead Delahunty and Claire Carroll while Mairead Morrissey comes in at midfield in place of Aoife Ryan.

The Tipperary team in full is as follows –

1. Helen Kennedy (Cappawhite)

2. Brid Condon (Aherlow)

3. Samantha Lambert (Ardfinnan)

4. Rachel Kenneally (Aherlow)

5. Anne O’Dwyer (Cappawhite – Captain)

6. Jennifer Grant (Brian Borus)

7. Barbara Ryan (Moyle Rovers)

8. Mairead Morrissey (Brian Borus)

9. Sheelagh Carew (Cappawhite)

10. Lorraine O’Shea (Mullinahone)

11. Gillian O’Brien (Moyle Rovers)

12. Niamh Lonergan (Moyle Rovers)

13. Edel Hanley (Aherlow)

14. Kelly Hackett (Moycarkey)

15. Aisling Mc Carthy (Cahir)