Electric Ireland GAA Football All Ireland Minor Championship Quarter-Final – Tyrone 0-17 Kerry 1-12

Tyrone defeated Kerry by 0-17 to 1-12 after extra time in the Electric Ireland GAA Football All Ireland Minor Championship Quarter-Final on Sunday August 4th at Croke Park.

Stubborn Tyrone find that little bit extra to oust wasteful Kerry

Report from the Irish Times newspaper

Tyrone’s stubborn refusal to accept defeat earned them a sensational extra-time win in yesterday’s All-Ireland MFC semi-final at Croke Park. They were trailing by a point and down to 13 men in stoppage time, but Stephen McGrath’s leveller earned them a reprieve, and they got the better of a wasteful Kerry side in the extended 20 minutes.

Kerry stunned the Ulster lads with a third-minute goal, Jack Savage collecting to send a low shot to the net. Lee Brennan, Stephen McGrath and Daire Gallagher slotted over points as Tyrone eased ahead at the end of the opening quarter, but they were pegged back by a couple of Savage frees. However, Tyrone finished the half strongly, with Brennan scoring twice to send his side in with a 0-9 to 1-4 advantage.

Kerry dominated the second half, but were unable to close the game out. Savage did look like he had clinched it with a couple of frees, but the Red Hands, who had Christopher Morris and skipper Ruairi McGlone sent off on second bookings, pulled the game out of the fire with McGrath’s equaliser, tying it up at 0-12 to 1-9. Tyrone, now back to their full complement of players, eased ahead with McGrath’s fourth score, and led 0-15 to 1-11 midway through extra-time.

TYRONE: S Fox; C Byrne, R Quinn, C McCann; S Hamill, C Morris (0-1), P McGirr (0-1); R Nugent F Burns; D Mulgrew, C McKenna (0-3, one 45), D Gallagher (0-1); L Brennan (0-4, one free); R McGlone (0-1), S McGrath (0-4). Subs: P Donnelly (0-1)for McGirr, C McShane for Mulgrew, T Donnelly (0-1, 45), E McElroy, C O’Donnell for Nugent, R McHugh for Hamill, S Fox for Byrne.

KERRY: S Ryan; F Clifford, C Ó Luing, P O Conchuir; M Flaherty, D Foran, S Dillon; G Horan, C Jordan; M Burns, J Savage (1-8, seven frees), E Ó Conchuir; C Keane (0-2), S O’Connor, K Spillane (0-1). Subs: K Murphy (0-1) for E Ó Conchuir, T Ó Se for O’Connor, K Shanahan for Jordan, T Brosnan for Spillane, T O’Sullivan for Burns.

Referee: N Ward (Westmeath)

Team News

KERRY: Shane Ryan (Rathmore); Fionan Clifford (Waterville), Cathal Ó Luing (An Ghaeltacht), Pádraig Ó Conchúir (Dingle); Matthew Flaherty (Dingle), David Foran (St Senan’s), Sean T Dillon (St Senan’s); Greg Horan (Austin Stacks), Conor Jordan (Austin Stacks); Michéal Burns (Dr Crokes), Jack Savage (Kerins O’Rahilly’s), Éanna Ó Conchúír (An Ghaeltacht); Conor Keane (Legion), Shane O’Connor (John Mitchel’s), Killian Spillane (Templenoe).

Subs: Darragh O’Shea (Ballydonoghue), Brian Sugrue (Renard), Kevin Shanahan (Ardfert), Kieran Murphy (Glenflesk), Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle), Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht), Tony Brosnan (Dr Crokes), Barry O’Sullivan (Dingle), Joe O’Kelly (Austin Stacks).