Munster Club Intermediate Ladies Football Final – Boherbue (Cork) 3-6 Aherlow (Tipperary) 0-12

Munster Intermediate Club Final

Boher see off Hanley inspired Aherlow

Boherbue 3-6 Aherlow 0-12

Boher put back-to-back Munster Junior and intermediate titles together after a hard fought contested in Kilmallock last Sunday. However, they were put to the pin of their collar when Aherlow who successfully chased down an 8-point lead to get back level just ran out of steam and failed to score in the last ten minutes of the game to leave the Cork side out of sight again.

Julie Dennehy and Claire O’Connor’s early brace of goals put Boher on the road to a 2-2 to 0-2 lead after 12 minutes. When Julie Dennehy crashed another to the net on the 22nd minute, it looked as if the mountain was too high to climb for the Tipp girls. However almost single handed Edel led the line for Aherlow and slowly began to reel off points, mostly frees that she won herself to leave a better reflection on the half time score board 3-2 to 0-6 in favour of the Cork girls.

Both sides swapped early points in the second half before Aherlow got to grips with the Boher challenge. In the next fifteen minutes, they raised five white flags all from the boot of Hanley who at times had lines of black and amber jerseys to break through.

The biggest roar of the day came when Aherlow got back to level terms by the 48th minute. However, the effort they used in getting back was to tell in the final ten minutes as Boher with points from Dennehy (2) and Rosie Twohig put sufficient day light between again.

Boherbue’s Shelly Twohig accepted the Cup and Edel Hanley was player of the game with a personal haul of 0-11 out of her sides 0-12.

Aherlow: L Grogan, L Ivory, G Wade, B Condon, A Meaney, R Kenneally, G Ryan, S Condon, B Watters, C Mullins, A Staunton 0-1, AM Fahey, K Crowe, E Hanley 0-11(8F), M Condon

Subs: M O’Gorman for L Grogan (Inj- 16M), G Blackburn for L Ivory (27M)

BoherBue: M Murphy, A Clifford, E Casey, H O’Connor, O McAuliffe, U Twohig, B Casey, S Twohig, L Dineen, Caroline O’Connor, S Kelly, R Twohig 0-1, Claire O’Connor 1-0, J Dennehy 2-4 (2F), S Heelan

Referee: Jason Mullins (Kerry)