Munster Under 17 Football Competition – Clare 1-8 Waterford 0-9

Clare 1-8 Waterford 0-9

After suffering two heavy defeats against Limerick and Tipperary, the Waterford Under 17 Footballers faced an uphill task against an unbeaten Clare side in Clonoulty on Monday night. However a much improved Waterford display with great work rate and intensity in the play was almost enough to beat the Banner boys.

Playing against a strong breeze, Waterford trailed by 0-7 to 0-1 at half time having missed a golden opportunity for a goal just before the break. With the wind at their back Waterford were hoping for a bright start to the second half. However Clare struck for an early goal from full-forward Niall Murray to increase their interval lead. Despite this set-back, Waterford took control of the game in the third quarter and picked off some excellent scores with all eight of their second half points coming from play. Waterford could not find the goal required to take the lead and when the Decies were reduced to 14 men in the final minutes, Clare held out for victory.

Both sides are to be complimented on playing good football in hard conditions helped by the good condition of the Clonoulty pitch.

Waterford: Paul Curran (St Oliver’s, 0-1); John Havens (Dungarvan), John Frampton (Sacred Heart), John Elsted (Ballinacourty); Diarmuid Gallagher (Brickey Rangers), Conor Prunty (Ballinacourty, 0-2), Darren McGuckian (Stradbally); Michael Kiely (St Oliver’s), Mark Roynayne (St Oliver’s); David Looby (Ballinacourty, 0-1), Pat Whyte (Kilrossanty, 0-1), James Coad (De La Salle, 0-1); Shane Stafford (Sacred Heart), Michael Sweeney (Stradbally, 0-2), Paul Tobin (Stradbally, 0-1)

Subs – Sean Cullinane (Affane/Cappoquin) for Paul Curran, Cormac Dwyer (Ballinacourty) for Shane Stafford

Clare: Eoin O’Kelly (Cratloe); Liam Tierney (St. Breckans Lisdoonvarna), Conor Downes (Naomh Eoin), Gary Meaney (Coolmeen); Pierce Lillis (Cooraclare), Darren Nagle (Liscannor), Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora, 0-1); Eoin Callinan (Kilmihil), Eoin Hanrahan (St. Josephs Doora Barefield); Michael Duffy (Kilfenora, 0-1), Cathal Downes (O’Currys, 0-2), Sean Malone (St. Josephs Miltown Malbay, 0-3); Davy Foran (Killimer), Nigel Murray (O’Currys, 1-0), Keelan Cunningham (Killimer, 0-1)

Subs used – Conor Tevlyn (Naomh Eoin), Alan Sweeney (St. Breckans), James Murphy (Naomh Eoin)

Referee – David Grogan (Tipperary)