AIB Munster GAA Hurling Intermediate Club Championship Quarter Final – Ballina (Tipperary) 1-12 Dromin-Athlacca (Limerick) 0-14

Ballina (Tipperary) defeated Dromin-Athlacca (Limerick) by 1-12 to 0-14 in the AIB Munster GAA Hurling Intermediate Club Championship on Sunday October 27th at Bruff.

Dromin-Athlacca suffer heartbreak in Munster intermediate club tie

Report from the Limerick Leader newspaper

Ballina (Tipperary) 1-12 Dromin-Athlacca (Limerick) 0-14

DROMIN-ATHLACCA’S dream of adding a Munster intermediate club hurling title to their county final success ended in a heartbreaking 1-12 to 0-14 defeat to Tipperary champions Ballina in an entertaining quarter-final tie played at Bruff this Sunday. Limerick kingpins Dromin-Athlacca, who trailed by six points at the end of the first quarter, looked to have done enough to force the game to extra-time as the sides remained deadlocked deep in stoppage time. However, a terrific pointed free from Ballina’s top scorer Michael Breen, from close to the half way line in the 62nd minute, ensured the visitors recorded a dramatic late victory.

It was tough luck on a brave Dromin-Athlacca side which recovered from a slow start to edge in front in the 58th minute, thanks a superb individual point from James Kelleher. However, two late points for Ballina ultimately swung the outcome in their favour. Dromin-Athlacca were left to rue racking up 11 wides during the hour, an number of them struck from favourable positions.

Ballina deservedly led 1-5 to 0-6 at half-time and would have been further in front had the Tipp side managed to convert a greater number of their scoring chances. Ballina led 1-4 to 0-1 after 18 minutes of a game played on a very good top surface, despite the recent heavy rainfall. A run of four unanswered points for the South Limerick side, scored by David Reidy (2), Jason Lenihan and James Kelleher, had Dromin-Athlacca trailing by just two points at the break.

The Limerick side upped their display in the third quarter to edge in front in the 40th minute, 0-10 to 1-6, when Peter Ryan pointed after excellent approach play by Tom Breen. Ballina edged back in front at 1-10 to 0-11 when less than 10 minutes remaining. However, the Limerick champions hit back once more with points from top scorer David Reidy and a smashing effort from Eoin O’Leary. However, Breen’s injury time score in deteriorating weather conditions guided Ballina through to the semi-final.

SCORERS – Dromin-Athlacca: David Reidy 0-5 (0-4 frees), Michael Reidy, James Kelleher 0-2 each, Peter Ryan, Paul Neenan (free), Tiernan Ryan, Eoin O’Leary, Jason Lenihan 0-1 each. Ballina: Michael Breen 0-5 (0-4 frees), Sean McKeogh 1-0, David Hickey 0-3, Stephen O’Brien 0-2, Brian O’Connor, Brian Stritch 0-1 each.

DROMIN-ATHLACCA – Mark Moynihan; Donal Walsh, Brian Kelleher, Derek Kenny; Gearoid O’Leary, Eoin Benson, Tom Breen; Peter Ryan, Michael Reidy (Capt); Paul Neenan, David Reidy, James Kelleher; Tiernan Ryan, Eoin O’Leary, Jason Lenihan. SUB: Gerry Kelleher for Tiernan Ryan (52 mins).

BALLINA – Martin McKeogh; Donal Kent, Pat Cosgrave, Brian McKeogh; Kevin Cosgrave, Thomas Collins, Donal McKeogh; Gerry O’Brien, Michael Breen; Brian O’Connor, Stephen O’Brien, David Hickey; Sean McKeogh, Brian Stritch, TJ O’Connell. SUBS: Rody Kennedy for Donal McKeogh, Stephen Stritch for O’Connor (both half-time), Eoin Kent for Sean McKeogh (45 mins), Fergal Collins for Donal Kent (48 mins).

REFEREE – Pat Casey (Waterford)


When – Sunday October 27th at 2:00pm

Where – Bruff

Referee – Pat Casey (Waterford)

Extra time – (2 periods x 10 minutes only) to be played if sides finish level at the end of 60 minutes

Replay date – Saturday November 2nd or Sunday November 3rd at a Waterford venue

Next Round – the winners play the Kerry representatives in the Munster Club Semi-Final on Sunday November 3rd at 2:00pm in a Kerry or Tipperary venue.

Admission Prices
Adults – €10
Student/OAP – €5
All Under 16s free

Contact Munster GAA PRO Ed Donnelly at for more information

For the Record

Dromin-Athlacca (Limerick) Ballina (Tipperary)
Number of Munster Club Intermediate Hurling titles
(by County)
2 2
Last Munster Intermediate Hurling Title (by County) 2011 2012
Munster Club Intermediate Hurling Championship Record since 2000 for each county’s representative Played – 17
Won – 8
Lost –  8
Drawn – 1
Played – 18
Won – 10
Lost –  8
Drawn – 0
Last meeting in the Munster Club Intermediate Hurling Championship involving participating county representatives November 6th 2011 at Kilmallock (Munster Club Semi-Final) –
Effin (Limerick) 2-15 Aherlow (Tipperary) 1-17

Munster GAA HURLING Club Intermediate Championship 2013

Quarter-Finals (Extra time)

Sunday October 27th (Replay date – Saturday November 2nd)

@ Pairc Ui Rinn                                  Youghal (Cork) v Ardmore (Waterford) 2:00pm

@ Bruff     Dromin-Athlacca (Limerick) v Ballina (Tipperary) 2:00pm

Semi-Finals (Extra time)
Sunday November 3rd (Replay date – Saturday November 9th)


@ Clare or Waterford venue          Clare representatives v Youghal (Cork) or Ardmore (Waterford) 2:00pm

@ Kerry or Tipperary venue Kerry champions v

Dromin-Athlacca (Limerick) or Ballina (Tipperary) 2:00pm

Final (Extra time)

Sunday November 17th (Replay date – Saturday November 23rd)

2:00pm throw-in

Odds and Ends

Limerick have won two of the last four Munster Club Intermediate Hurling titles courtesy of South Liberties (2009) and Effiin (2011).

Silvermines (Tipperary) defeated Ballina in the 2012 Tipperary Intermediate Hurling Final before going on to defeat Ruan (Clare), An Rinn (Waterford) and Ballyduff (Kerry) to win the Munster title.

Since the competition began in 2003, Cork clubs have won 4 of the 9 Munster titles on offer, the last one in 2010 when Ballymartle were successful. Clare and Tipperary are the only other counties with a winning record in this competition.

Munster GAA Club HURLING Intermediate Championship Roll Of Honour

Cork (4) – 2003, 2005, 2008, 2010

Clare (2) – 2006, 2007

Tipperary (2) – 2004, 2012

Limerick (2) – 2009, 2011

Munster GAA Club HURLING Intermediate Championship
List of Winning Teams

Visit the Munster GAA web site History section to view the complete list of each winning team since the competition began 1888 –

All Ireland GAA Club HURLING Intermediate Championship

In the Club Intermediate Hurling All Ireland Roll of Honour, Cork have secured 2 titles courtesy of Blarney