Munster Under 17 Football Competition Plate Final – Limerick 4-8 Waterford 0-10

In the Plate Final on Monday, Limerick defeated Waterford by 4-8 to 0-10 at St. Molleran’s GAA Grounds. With wind assistance, Limerick raced in to 1-3 to 0-1 lead after 15 minutes. Waterford added three more points before the interval but a second Limerick goal ensured they led by 2-4 to 0-4 at half-time. Limerick scored two more goals early in the second half to ensure the result was never in doubt but Waterford to their credit scored a number of good points in the final stages to reduce the deficit. After the game Munster Council Vice-Chairman Jerry O’Sullivan presented the Plate to Limerick’s Killian Ryan.

Limerick – Andy Brouder (Newcastlewest); Sean Murphy (Newcastlewest), Brendan Stack (Gerald Griffins), Mark Reidy (Croom); Sean Ivess (Newcastlewest), Cormac Flanagan (Crecora), Killian Ryan (Mungret, Captain); Mickey Morrissey (St Mary’s/Sean Finns), Darragh Noonan (Gerald Griffins, 0-2); Fiachra O’Grady (Oola, 1-0), Stephen Brosnan (Monagea), Conor Burke (Crecora, 1-1); Kieran Daly (Na Piarsaigh, 2-3), Ciaran Brouder (Monagea), Shane McNamara (Galtee Gaels, 0-1)

Subs used: Raymond Noonan (St Kierans), Chris Dunford (Mungret), Colm Nicol (Ballybricken/Bohermore), David Hanley (Ballysteen), Ross Kennedy (Murroe/Boher, 0-1), Declan Guerin (Ballysteen)

Waterford – Paul Curran; John Havens, Jack Curry, James Cuad; Donnchadha Kirwin, Michael Cronin, Darren McGuckian; Michael Kiely, Mark Roynayne; David Looby, 0-5, Gearóid Hearne, Conor Murray, 0-3; Paul Tobin, Pay Whyte, Michael Sweeney, 0-2

Subs – Neil Phelan, Mark Mulvihill, Diarmuid Gallagher

Referee – Sean Lonergan (Tipperary)