Allianz Football League Division 4 – London 2-10 Waterford 0-9

London defeated Waterford by 2-10 to 0-9 in round 4 of the Allianz Football League Division 4 on Sunday March 9th at WIT Sports Campus.

Crowley goal paves way for Exiles to keep Deise winless

London 2-10 Waterford 0-9

Report from the Irish Independent newspaper

Fourteen-man London mustered their first win of the campaign as goals in either half through Greg Crowley and Adrian Moyles paved the way to victory against Waterford at Carriganore. Niall Carew’s side stay with just one point after four outings.

London, wearing the Waterford IT colours, led 1-7 to 0-5 at halfway, with Crowley grabbing their goal. Joe Feeney, Marcus Miskelly and Sean Hickey hit two points apiece for London. Paul Whyte scored three frees for the hosts with JJ Hutchinson and Shane Ahearne also on target.

The away side lost Stephen Curran to a second bookable offence on 41 minutes and midfielder Martin Carroll to a black card on 45. Waterford got to within three points (1-7 to 0-7) after 48 minutes. London ‘keeper Adrian Flaherty kicked two frees and sub Moyles rubbed salt in with a goal in added time. It could have been more, as Deise ‘keeper Stephen Enright saved a last-gasp Lorcan Mulvey penalty.

Scorers – London: G Crowley 1-1, A Moyles 1-0, M Miskelly 0-3, A Flaherty (2fs), S Hickey (2fs), J Feeney 0-2 each. Waterford: P Whyte 0-6fs, S Ahearne 0-2, JJ Hutchinson 0-1.

London – A Flaherty 7; S Hannon 6, S Curran 6, P Butler 6; S Mulligan 6, S Kelly 6, D McCarthy 6; M Carroll 7, M Gottsche 6; G Crowley 7, C McCarron 6, J Feeney 7; M Miskelly 7, B Mitchell 6, S Hickey 6. Subs: B Mitchell for Feeney (38), A Moyles for Carroll (45, bc), D McCreedy for Crowley (52), B Collins for McCarron (64), L Mulvey for Hickey (67).

Waterford – S Enright 6; D Crowley 6, T O Gorman 6, K Connery 6; T Grey 6, S Briggs 6, B Wall 6; W Hutchinson 6, P Whyte 7; C O’Keeffe 6, C Phelan 6, D Allen 5; N Walsh 5, S Ahearne 7, JJ Hutchinson 6. Subs: T O hUallachain for Walsh (41), T Prendergast for Allen (55), R Ahearne for JJ Hutchinson (57), O Keevers for Connery (75).

Ref – J Bermingham (Cork)

Team News

The Waterford Senior Football Team to face London in Carriganore at 12:45pm on Sunday 9th March is as follows:

1. Stephen Enright – Ballinacourty

2. Cillian O’Keeffe – Clashmore/Kinsalebeg

3. Thomas O’Gorman – The Nire

4. Kieran Connery – Clashmore/Kinsalebeg

5. Dean Crowley – St. Saviours

6. Shane Briggs (Captain) – Ballinacourty

7. Conor Phelan – Brickey Rangers

8. Tommy Prendergast – Kilrossanty

9. Shane Ahearne – Stradbally

10. Tony Grey – Stradbally

11. Liam Ó Lonáin – An Rinn

12. Tadhg Ó hUallacháin – An Rinn

13. JJ Hutchinson – Gaultier

14. Paul Whyte – Kilrossanty

15. Brian Wall – The Nire