All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Round 4A – Galway 4-17 Tipperary 4-12

Galway defeated Tipperary by 4-17 to 4-12 in Round 4A of the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship on Saturday July 26th at O’Connor Park Tullamore.

SFC Round 4A: Galway hold on to win thriller

GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Round 4A: Galway 4-17 Tipperary 4-12

Galway made short work of Tipperary thanks to four goals each side of half-time which set up a meeting with Kerry in next weekend’s All-Ireland football quarter-final. Fiontán Ó Curraoin and Tom Flynn hit the net before the break, while Danny Cummins and Michael Lundy put the result beyond all doubt with goals in the 36th and 37th minutes.

Brian Fox got one back for Tipp in the 12th minute of the second-half, but at that stage Galway were rampant and it hardly interrupted their canter to victory. Three goals from Brian Mulvill and Colin O’Riordan and a Conor Sweeney penalty meant Galway’s lead was well trimmed in the end, but they had the work done at that stage.

The opening 20 minutes were dominated by Tipperary though and they led by 0-6 to 0-4 after Colin O’Riordan’s sweet score. But Galway took over from there to the interval and after a Shane Walsh point earned with a sublime piece of control, O’Curraoin and Flynn’s goals set them on the road to victory with a 2-7 to 0-7 half-time lead.

Fifty seconds after the restart Cummins rattled the Tipp net for the third time, while Lundy followed suit just over a minute later following good work from Michael Martin and Paul Conroy. Fox – who was lucky to escape a black card earlier – rattled home a fine Tipperary goal in the 47th minute, but Galway eased to the win as Paul Varley, Walsh and Sean Armstrong all kicked late points.
Scorers for Galway: S Walsh 0-5 (3f), M Lundy, D Cummins 1-1 each, M Martin, P Conroy 0-3 each, F Ó Curraoin, T Flynn 1-0 each, S Armstrong 0-2, P Varley, D Comer 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: C Sweeney 1-4 (1-0 pen, 4f), C O’Riordan 1-2, B Fox 1-0, P Acheson 0-2, S O’Brien, M Quinlivan, B Grogan 0-1 each.

GALWAY: T Healy; D O’Neill, F Hanley, J Moore; G Bradshaw, G O’Donnell, P Varley; F Ó Curraoin, T Flynn; M Lundy, S Walsh, J Kavanagh; M Martin, P Conroy, D Cummins
Subs: D Burke for O’Donnell (33 mins), S Armstrong for Cummins (51), A Varley for Martin (56), J O’Brien for Lundy (57), D Comer for Kavanagh (57), S Flynn for Austin (63), E Hoare for Walsh (69).

TIPPERARY: P Fitzgerald; P Codd, J Coghlan, C McDonald; C O’Riordan, R Kiely, G Mulhair; S O’Brien, G Hannigan; M Quinlivan, B Fox, P Acheson; C Sweeney, B Grogan, P Austin
Subs: I Fahey for Mulhair (31 mins), C Kennedy for Quinlivan (43), A Campbell for Grogan (50), H Coghlan for O’Brien (BC 53), B Mulvihill for Fahey (61).

Referee: Barry Cassidy (Derry)

Team News

The Tipperary team to play Galway is unchanged from the side which defeated Laois in Round 3 of the Qualifiers.

1. Paul Fitzgerald Fethard
2. John Coghlan Moyne Templetuohy
3. Paddy Codd (Capt) Killenaule
4. Ciarán McDonald Aherlow
5. Colin O’Riordan J K Brackens
6. Robbie Kiely Arravale Rovers
7. Ger Mulhair Aravale Rovers
8. Steven O’Brien Ballina9. George Hannigan Shannon Rovers
10. Michael Quinlivan Commercials
11. Brian Fox Eire Óg Annacarty
12. Peter Acheson Moyle Rovers
13. Conor Sweeney Ballyporeen
14. Barry Grogan Aherlow
15. Philip Austin Borrisokane

16. Colum Nugent Ardfinnan
17. Alan Campbell Moyle Rovers
18. Hugh Coghlan Moyne Templetuohy
19. Lorcan Egan J K Brackens
20. Ian Fahey Commercials
21. Sean Flynn Fr Sheehys
22. Seamus Grogan Aherlow
23. Colman Kennedy Commercials
24. Conal McCullough Commercials
25. Andrew Morrissey Galtee Rovers
26. Brian Mulvihill Moyle Rovers

GALWAY (SFC v Tipperary): T Healy; D O’Neill, F Hanley, J Moore; G Bradshaw, G O’Donnell, P Varley; F O Curraoin, T Flynn; M Lundy, S Walsh, J Kavanagh; M Martin, P Conroy, D Cummins