Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor B Hurling Championship Final – Kerry 3-18 Meath 2-15

Kerry defeated Meath by 3-18 to 2-15 in the Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor B Hurling Championship Final on Saturday September 6th at MacDonagh Park Nenagh.

14-man Kerry bag three in-a-row

By James Hayden for the Irish Examiner newspaper

All-Ireland MBHC final: Kerry 3-18 Meath 2-15

A powerful start to the second half provided the necessary impetus for Kerry to secure their third All-Ireland MBHC title in-a-row following an absorbing battle with Meath in Nenagh on Saturday. In a game that saw both sides reduced to 14-men, Ian Brick’s side managed to stave off a strong Meath challenge thanks to second half goals from sub Jordan Conway and man-of-the-match Brandon Barrett.

The opening half proved a nip and tuck affair with Kerry gifted a tonic start when full-forward Fionán O’Sullivan netted after just three minutes. Meath responded well with points from Josh Wall, Ross Ryan and scorer-in-chief, Charlie Bird (free) to bring them back level.

Despite playing into a stiff breeze, Kerry managed to keep pace with a physical Meath side before successive Bird frees in the 20th and 22nd minutes fired Meath into a deserved two-point lead. Indeed, midfielder Bird was on fire throughout the half but his impact for the remainder of the game was lessened somewhat after he picked up a 27th minute knock.

Kerry upped the tempo as the interval approached with Johnny Buckley deftly cutting the deficit to one before the Kingdom elected to re-jig their attack with the hugely impressive Jack Goulding drafted into the fray. Late points from Barrett (free) and Fionán Mackessy ensured the sides went in level at the break, 1-7 to 0-10.

Kerry emerged determined to build upon their impressive finish to the opening half and three-quick-fire points from Jason Diggins, Mackessy and sub, Jonathan Brick had Meath reeling. Bird, now operating at full-forward, had a goalbound shot well saved by Stephen Murphy in the 39th minute before a Brandon Barrett free edged Kerry four clear.

Meath battled on gamely but their challenge suffered a huge blow on 47 minutes when Josh Wall was straight red-carded following an altercation with Johnny Buckley on the ground. Kerry gleefully seized the initiative, pulling seven points clear before midfielder, Jason Diggins, was dismissed for a second yellow-card offence.

Meath were offered hope when Martin Healy netted in the 58th minute but a point from Jack Goulding coupled with a Jordan Conway goal dismissed the possibility of any Royal comeback. Kerry added a third goal from Barrett deep in injury-time before Gavin McGowan netted a consolation goal for Meath.

Scorers for Kerry: B Barrett (1-7, 0-6fs), F O’Sullivan, J Conway (1-0 each), F Mackessy, J Buckley (one free) (0-3 each), J Goulding (0-2), J Diggins, J Brick, D O’Carroll (0-1 each).

Scorers for Meath: C Bird (0-12, 8fs, 1 65, 1 s/l), M Healy, G McGowan (1-0 each), J Wall (0-2, 1f), R Ryan (0-1).

KERRY: S Murphy; A Mahony, M Leen, S O’Sullivan; B Lyons, D Shanahan, M Lynch; R Collins, J Diggins; J Buckley, B Barrett, A Murphy; J Diggins, F O’Sullivan, F Mackessey.
Subs: J Goulding for A Murphy (28), J Brick for Lynch (30), J Barrett for Collins (36), Daniel O’Carroll for O’Sullivan (44), J Conway for J Diggins (55).

MEATH: A McGee; J Bird, L Swaine, J Hackett; J Payne, C Dempsey, K Dixon; C Bird, L Moran; J Wall, M Healy, L Martin; R, Ryan, L Carey, R Ryan.
Subs: I Hughes for Dixon (25), G McGowan for Carey (44), D Brogan for Hackett (54).

Referee: D Hughes (Carlow)

Fixture Details

06.09.2014 (Sat)
Electric Ireland GAA Hurling All Ireland Minor B Championship Final
MacDonagh Park Nenagh, 13:00
An Mhí v Ciarraí
Referee: David Hughes (Ceatharlach)
(E.T. if Necessary)

Team News

The Kerry Minor Hurling Team to play Meath in the All Ireland Minor “B” Championship Final in Nenagh on Saturday (1pm)shows 2 changes in personnel from the side that defeated Roscommon in the semi final – Stephen O’Sullivan and Jason Diggins come in for Jack Goulding and Jamie Barrett
The team, captained by Fionán MacKessy is as follows:

1. Stephen Murphy (Causeway)
2. Adrian O’Mahony (Crotta O’Neills)
3. Michael Leane (Ballyheigue)
4. Stephen O’Sullivan (Abbeydorney)
5. Billy Lyons (Causeway)
6. Darragh Shanahan (Lixnaw)
7. Mike Lynch (Causeway)
8. Robert Collins (Kilmoyley)
9. Jason Diggins (Causeway)
10. John Buckley [Lixnaw]
11. Brandon Barrett (Causeway)
12. Aaron Murphy (Dr. Crokes)
13. Joseph Diggins (Causeway)
14. Fionán O’Sullivan (Kenmare)
15. Fionán MacKessy (St. Brendan’s) (Capt)
Fir Ionaid:
16. David Silles (Lixnaw)
17. Jordan Brick (Kilmoyley)
18. Jack Goulding (Ballyduff)
19. Jamie Barrett (Causeway)
20. Daniel O’Carroll (Ballyduff)
21. Jordan Conway (Crotta O’Neills
22. Brian O’Riordan (Ballyheigue)
23. Dylan Burke (Causeway)
24. Jack Lenihan (Dr. Crokes)
Bainisteoir: Ian Brick (Kilmoyley)
Roghnoirí: Aidan O’Mahony (St Brendans), Stephen Goggin (Causeway)

Additional Panel Members
Tom McElligott (Crotta O’Neills)
Chris Doncel (Dr. Crokes)
Dara Ryan (Crotta O’Neills)
Shane Lyne (Dr. Crokes)