2014 Munster GAA Awards – Club of the Year announced


Camogie, Ladies Football, Handball and Club Winners Announced for 2014 Munster GAA Awards

Cratloe of Clare following their success in winning both the Clare senior hurling and football titles have been named Club of the Year for 2014. They subsequently bowed out of the AIB Munster club campaigns as a result of extra time defeats in the football semi-final and hurling final. It was a long but rewarding year for an exceptional club. Cratloe will receive their award at Munster GAA’s annual award ceremony which will take place at Dromoland Castle, Co. Clare on Saturday, December 13.

Cork star, Jennifer O’Leary has been announced as the winner of the Camogie Award for the 2014 Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Awards. She has been a key member of Cork Camogie teams for over a decade, has won 8 All Star awards and her goal in this year’s All Ireland final helped turn the game in Cork’s favour.

The Ladies Football Award goes to another Cork lady, Angela Walsh who played a big part in Cork’s thrilling All Ireland final comeback and victory over Dublin. A dual ladies football and camogie player, she represents the Inch Rovers club. Her list of successes is extraordinary and among them are 10 Munster senior football titles, 9 All Ireland senior titles and 6 All Star awards.

The Handball Award goes to the Mullins brothers – Pakie, Billy, Jimmy and Kevin from Clonmel, Co. Tipperary. They have been involved in competitive handball as far back as 1970, have represented Tipperary and Munster on numerous occasions and won 5 Munster titles between them in 2014.

Munster GAA Chairman Robert Frost said “I would like to congratulate Jennifer, Angela, the Mullins brothers and Cratloe on their well-deserved awards following their outstanding displays during 2014. They have set very high standards of achievement in their varied contributions to the family of Gaelic Games”

Other 2014 award winners announced today are Seadhna Morey of Clare for under 21 hurling; Alan Cadogan of Cork for under 21 football; Tom Morrissey of Limerick who receives the minor hurling award and Matthew Flaherty of Kerry who receives the minor football award.

For further information, please contact:
Ger Ryan
Munster GAA PRO
Email: pro.munster@gaa.ie