Allianz Hurling League Division 1A – Dublin 2-20 Tipperary 0-14

Dublin defeated Tipperary by 2-20 to 0-14 in Round 1 of the Allianz Hurling League Division 1A on February 15th in Parnell Park.

D1A: Impressive Dublin romp past Tipp


Dublin defeated last year’s All Ireland runners-up Tipperary to get their league campaign off to a perfect start. Eamon Dillon and Liam Rushe grabbed the goals while Paul Ryan notched eight points for the home side.

Tipperary started with six All Stars but were wasteful throughout with Séamus Callanan, last year’s talisman, missing a number of scoreable frees. John O’Dwyer did his best to inspire the visitors but Dublin defended well and were worthy winners.

Dublin were sharp in the first half and led 1-11 to 0-5 at half time. Ger Cunningham’s side scored an unanswered 1-4 in seven first half minutes with Dillon raising a green flag in the 18th minute after being played through on goal by Liam Rushe.

Tipperary struggled in the first half and shot 11 wides. They managed only two points from play with the remainder of the scores coming from Seamus Callanan frees. Gearóid Ryan had brief sight of goal in the 13th minute but the angle was too narrow and his shot flashed across the face of Alan Nolan’s goal.

After their involvement in the Walsh Cup, Dublin were accurate in their passing and movement. Paul Ryan scored five first half points and Chris Crummy, Danny Sutcliffe and Mark Schutte all added excellent scores.

Tipperary improved in the second half with O’Dwyer in fine form. They abandoned their short puck-out tactic which put more pressure on the Dublin defence. But Nolan’s goal was well protected by a defence marshalled by full-back Michael Carton.

Dublin were clinical with the chances they got and Ryan punished any Tipperary indiscipline with his accuracy from placed balls. The smallest points difference in the second half was eight points as Dublin kept Tipperary at arm’s length.

Rushe’s injury time goal put twelve points between the teams to add gloss to the Dubs’ victory. Dublin play Kilkenny in Nowlan Park next week while Tipperary will look to make amends at home to Galway.
Scorers for Dublin: P Ryan 0-8 (5f), E Dillon 1-2, L Rushe 1-1, D Sutcliffe 0-2, M Schutte 0-2, R O’Dwyer 0-1, C Crummy 0-1, C Cronin 0-1, S Durkin 0-1, C Boland 0-1

Scorers for Tipperary: J O’Dywer 0-6 (1f), S Callanan 0-4 (3f), J Forder 0-1 (1f), S McGrath 0-1, J Woodlock 0-1, C O’Brien 0-1

DUBLIN: A Nolan; C O’Callaghan, M Carton, P Schutte; S Durkin, P Kelly, C Crummy; D Sutcliffe, R O’Carroll; C Keaney, E Dillon, C Cronin; P Ryan, L Rushe, M Schutte.
Subs: R O’Dwyer for R O’Carroll (15), C Boland for R O’Dwyer (59), D O’Callaghan for P Ryan (65), J McCaffrey for S Durkin (68).

TIPPERARY: D Gleeson; C Barrett, P Curran, Joe O’Dywer; K Bergin, C O’Mahony, Padraic Maher; S McGrath, B Maher; D Maher, G Ryan, J Woodlock; John O’Dwyer, S Callanan, J Forde
Subs: R Maher for S McGrath (h-t), T Stapleton for D Maher (h-t), C Kenny for G Ryan (45), C O’Brien for C O’Mahony (52), M Breen for Joe O’Dwyer (67).

Referee: Barry Kelly (Westmeath)
Report: Ciarán McGreal for

Fixture Details

15.02.2015 (Sun)
Allianz Hurling League Roinn 1A 2015 Round 1
Parnell Park 14:00
Áth Cliath v Tiobraid Árann
Referee: Barry Kelly (An Iarmhí)

Ticket Information

This is an all ticket fixture – save €5 by purchasing your ticket in advance!

Pre-purchase price
Adult: €10 (Pre-Purchase discount ends midnight on the day before the fixture)

Match Day Price
Adult: €15 Concessions: €10 (available at the grounds only)
Juveniles can attend this match free of charge and do not need a ticket. All tickets for this match are UNRESERVED – arrive early to avoid disappointment.

Tickets are available via participating Supervalu and Centra stores

Team News

The Tipperary Senior Hurling team to play Dublin in the Allianz Hurling League Round 1 on Sunday in Parnell Park has been announced. Manager Eamon O’Shea has handed a hurling league debut to Joe O’Dwyer from Killenaule, to line out with his cousin John and club mate Kieran Bergin. It also shows a return for Paul Curran and Conor O’Mahony to their old positions of Full Back and Centre Back respectively and despite being an experienced team it also gives a fresh chance for young players like Denis Maher and Jason Forde to make their mark. Eamon O’Shea’s team includes eleven that started last year’s Allianz Hurling League Final.

Darren Gleeson (Portroe), Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill), Paul Curran (Mullinahone), Joe O’Dwyer (Killenaule), Kieran Bergin (Killenaule), Conor O’Mahony (Newport), Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch), Brendan Maher Capt. (Borris-Ileigh), Denis Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Patrick Maher (Lorrha & Dorrha), James Woodlock (Drom & Inch), John O’Dwyer (Killenaule), Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch), Jason Forde (Silvermines).

Manager: Eamon O ‘Shea
Assistant Manager: Mick Ryan
Selectors: Paudie O’Neill & Declan Fanning

1. Alan Nolan (St Brigid’s)
2. Cian O’Callaghan (Cuala)
3. Michael Carton (O’Toole’s)
4. Paul Schutte (Cuala)
5. Shane Durkin (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
6. Peter Kelly (Lucan Sarsfields)
7. Chris Crummy (Lucan Sarsfields)
8. Danny Sutcliffe (St Jude’s)
9. Ross O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes)
10. Conal Keaney (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
11. Eamonn Dillon (St Finbarr’s)
12. Colm Cronin (Cuala)
13. Paul Ryan (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
14. Liam Rushe (St. Patrick’s)
15. Mark Schutte (Cuala)

Match Coverage

This game will be shown live on TG4