Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Football Championship Semi-Final – Kerry 1-11 Derry 1-6

Kerry defeated Derry by 1-11 to 1-6 in the Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Football Championship Semi-Final on Sunday August 23rd at Croke Park.

Kerry remain on course to retain minor title

Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Football Championship Semi-Final: Kerry 1-11 Derry 1-6

By Brian Murphy at Croke Park for GAA.ie

All-Ireland champions Kerry remain on course to retain their title after an excellent five-point defeat of Derry at Croke Park on Sunday.

Jack O’Connor’s charges delivered a measured, polished performance to see off the challenge of a Derry side that struggled to cope with the tough conditions and the quality of Kerry’s attacking play. Corner forward Michael Foley was the star of the show for the Kingdom, scoring 1-3 from play, including a vital goal in the 37th minute, just four minutes after Derry had blown the game wide open with a freak goal from Conor Maunsell just after the break.

Kerry led by 0-6 to 0-3 at half-time, and but for a period at the start of the second half when Maunsell’s goal had them in trouble, O’Connor’s young men were the better side, their superb defensive display showing all the hallmarks of a side managed the three-time All-Ireland winning senior boss.

Kerry got to grips with the torrid conditions first and were 0-3 to 0-0 ahead after just five minutes. Conor Geaney, Michael Foley and the impressive John Mark Foley all hit the target for the Kingdom in that spell. Shane McGuigan’s free in the seventh minute had the Ulster champions up and running, but they struggled to contain the defending All-Ireland champions in the first quarter.

Efficient in possession and by far the more impressive side, Kerry kicked on with further scores from Geaney and John Mark Foley, who was having a fine game in midfield. Derry finally established a foothold in the game around the middle of the half, and they might well have snaffled a goal on 21 minutes, but Francis Kearney fisted the ball over the bar after a mishit shot flashed across the goal.
McGuigan cut the gap to two with another free for Derry, but Damian McErlain failed to get the rewards their efforts deserved, and Kerry led by 0-6 to 0-3 at the break when John Mark Foley kicked his third point from play in the 27th minute.

Maunsell hit Kerry with a bombshell within three minutes of the restart, his booming shot from long-range catching Kerry goalkeeper Billy Courtney off guard and floating to the back of the net. Derry were level, but Kerry hit back with a goal of their own on 37 minutes, Andrew Barry splitting the Derry defence with a searing run and before Conor Geaney set up Michael Foley with the simple finish.

Derry had the gap back to three in the 49th minute when Conor Glass kicked a free, but they had lost Shane McGuigan to a black card a minute earlier and it was always going to be an uphill task from there. Kerry kicked late points through Michael Foley and Conor Geaney to seal an excellent win to set up a shot at becoming the first side to retain the minor title since Laois did it in 1996 and 1997.
Scorers for Kerry: Michael Foley 1-3, John Mark Foley 0-3, Conor Geaney 0-5 (0-3f).

Scorers for Derry: Conor Maunsell 1-0, Shane McGuigan 0-2 (0-1f), Francis Kearney 0-2, Conor Glass 0-1 (0-1f), Niall McAtamney 0-1 (0-1 45).

KERRY: Billy Courtney; Darren Brosnan, Jason Foley, Jack Morgan; Gavin White, Mike Breen, Daniel O’Brien; Andrew Barry, John Mark Foley; Brian Ó Seancháin, Seán O’Shea, Brandon Barrett; Micheal Foley, Bryan Sweeney, Conor Geaney. Subs: Tom Sullivan for Gavin White (16-18), Tom O’Sullivan for Darren Brosnan and Mark O’Connor for Mike Breen (both 39), Stephen O’Sullivan for Brandon Barrett (45), Evan Cronin for Seán O’Shea (56).

DERRY: Callum Mullan-Young; Niall Keenan, Conor McGrogan, Conor Maunsell; Oisín Duffin, Michael McEvoy, Eoghan Concannon; Patrick Kearney, Jack Doherty; Patrock Coney, Shea Downey, Conor Glass; Tiarnan Flanagan, Francis Kearney, Shane McGuigan. Subs: Niall McAtamney for Patrick Kearney (HT), Gearoid McLuaghlin for Oisin Duffin (35), Fergal Higgins for Conor Maunsell and Barry Grant for Patrick Coney (both 41), Seamus Higgins for Shane McGuigan (48, BC).

Referee: Jerome Henry (Mayo)

Fixture Details

23.08.2015 (Sun)
Electric Ireland GAA Football All-Ireland Minor Championship Semi Final
Páirc an Chrócaigh 13:30
Ciarraí v Doire
Referee: Jerome Henry (Maigh Eo)
(E.T. if Necessary)

Team News

The Kerry Minor Football Team to play Derry in the Electric Ireland GAA Minor Football Championship Semi Final in Croke Park on Sunday next shows one personnel and a number of positional changes from the side that defeated Sligo in the Quarter Final – Spa’s Michael Foley regains his place in the full forward line at the expense of Stephen O’Sullivan. Team Captain, Mark O’Connor, who missed the Quarter Final due to injury, is named among the substitutes.

The team, captained by Dingle’s Conor Geaney, is as follows:

1. Billy Courtney Dr. Crokes
2. Darren Brosnan Gneeveguilla
3. Jason Foley Ballydonoghue
4. Jack Morgan Austin Stacks
5. Gavin White Dr. Crokes
6. Mike Breen Beaufort
7. Daniel O’Brien Glenflesk
8. Andrew Barry Na Gaeil
9. John Mark Foley Kilgarvan
10. Brian Ó Seanacháin Ballydonoghue
11. Sean O’Shea Kenmare
12. Brandon Barrett Ardfert
13. Michael Foley Spa
14. Bryan Sweeney Listowel Emmets
15. Conor Geaney (C) Dingle

Fir Ionaid

16. Eoghan O’Brien Churchill
17. Mark O’Connor Dingle
18. Stephen O’Sullivan Templenoe
19. Tom O’Sullivan Dingle
20. Ronan Buckley Listry
21. Graham O’Sullivan Dromid Pearses
22. Dara O’Shea Kenmare
23. Evan Cronin Spa
24. James Duggan John Mitchels