Kerry Senior Hurling Championship Final – Kilmoyley 3-15 St Brendan’s Ardfert 1-13

Kilmoyley defeated St. Brendans by 3-15 to 1-13 in the Kerry Senior Hurling Championship Final on Sunday September 27th at Abbeydorney.

Collins stars as Kilmoyley take Kerry honours

Kilmoyley 3-15 St Brendan’s Ardfert 1-13

By Murt Murphy

Kilmoyley have captured their 23rd Kerry Senior Hurling Championship title after they put St Brendan’s Ardfert to the sword in ideal conditions in Abbeydorney.

The win sees Kilmoyley move to within one of championship table toppers Ballyduff. It was vintage Kilmoyley in the opening half as they completely outplayed a St Brendan’s side who were labouring up front, while John Meyler’s men were ruthless at the other end.

Kerry senior star Daniel Collins, who ironically won an All-Ireland Club Football title with opponents Ardfert last February, tormented St Brendan’s along with Paudie O’Connor and Adrian Royle. St Brendan’s enjoyed a brief period of supremacy in the opening five minutes thanks to two John Egan points, but it was merely a blip as Kilmoyley took over and points from Daniel Collins and Paudie O’Connor steadied the ship, before a long-range free from Collins went all the way to the net in the 15th minute.

St Brendan’s were reliant on Egan for scores, while Collins punished the Ardfert side with unerring accuracy from placed balls, adding four points. Scores from Sean Maunsell, James McCarthy and Paudie O’Connor left Kilmoyley 1-10 to 0-6 ahead at the interval.

St Brendan’s rallied briefly after half time, with three early Egan points, but their world fell apart when Kilmoyley veteran Micheal Regan finished to the net in the 40th minute. Any hopes of a St Brendan’s revival were dashed when Egan received a second yellow midway through the half and that was that.

Darren Wallace did get a consolation goal for the losers, but man of match Daniel Collins completed the Kilmoyley rout with a 58th goal as they won their first title since 2009.

St Brendan’s: D Delaney; C Flaherty, R Horgan, F Horgan, S Leen, E Corridan, K Orpen; D Dineen (0-02s/l), F Mackessy; K Skinner, T Hannafin, D Griffin, E Leen (0-02), C Hussey, J Egan (0-08, )-06f).
Subs: K Hannafin (0-01) for T Hannafin (h/t), D Wallace (1-00) for K Skinner (41), J Wallace for E Corridan (45).

Kilmoyley: A McCabe; S Murnane, S Dowling, S Nolan , F McCarthy, D Fitzelle, T Murnane; James Godley, J Brick; J McCarthy (0-01), S Maunsell (0-02), R Collins, P O’Connor (0-02), A Royle, D Collins (2-10, 1-09f).
Subs: M Regan (1-00) for A Royle (21), M O’Connor for J Brick (50), I Brick for P O’Connor (59), T Maunsell for R Collins (59).

Referee: J Mullins (Limerick)