Munster Club SHC Q-F – Na Piarsaigh 3-11 Sixmilebridge 1-15

Na Piarsaigh (Limerick) defeated Sixmilebridge (Clare) by 3-11 to 1-15 in the AIB Munster Senior Club Hurling Championship Quarter-Final on Sunday October 25th at Sixmilebridge.

Munster SHC: Na Piarsaigh beat the ‘Bridge

Munster Club SHC quarter-final: Na Piarsaigh (Limerick) 3-11 Sixmilebridge (Clare) 1-15

Report from

Kevin Downes inspired a magnificent second-half comeback for Limerick champions Na Piarsaigh as they overcame Sixmilebridge for the second time in the three years in the Munster SHC quarter-final.

In 2013 they hammered their Clare counterparts 4-14 to 0-8 to pick up their second Munster crown in the three years. This was a much tighter affair in the quarter-final though at O’Garney Park in Sixmilebridge.

With the wind at their backs, the hosts raced into a 1-12 to 1-3 half-time lead, even though Adrian Breen goaled early for Na Piarsaigh. But Cathal Malone’s goal after 20 minutes settled Sixmilebridge.

They dominated the rest of the half, but after the interval Na Piarsaigh took off, led by Downes, who found the net first off, and then relayed to Peter Casey who blasted their third of the afternoon. The 1996 All-Ireland champions were in shock, and a Ronan Lynch free from inside his own-half drew the sides level after 51 minutes, before Na Piarsaigh pushed on for victory, having to survive a Niall Gilligan free that hit the crossbar in the final minute.

Scorers for Na Piarsaigh: A Breen 1-2, S Dowling 0-5 (0-3f, 0-1 ’65); K Downes 1-1; P Casey 1-0; R Lynch 0-1 (0-1f); D Dempsey & K Ryan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Sixmilebridge: N Gilligan 0-7 (0-5f); C Malone 1-1; B Corry & A Morey 0-2 each; C Deasy, B Carey & S Golden 0-1 each.

Na Piarsaigh: P Kennedy; M Casey, K Breen, K Kennedy; C King, R Lynch, M Foley; A Dempsey, W O’Donoghue; K Ryan, D Dempsey, A Breen; S Dowling, K Downes, P Casey.
Subs: P Gleeson for Ryan (57 mins).

Sixmilebridge: D Fahy; B Fitzpatrick, A Quilligan, S Morey; N Purcell, C Morey, P Fitzpatrick; J Shanahan, C Deasy; C Malone, N Gilligan, B Carey; B Corry, S Golden, A Morey.
Subs: A Mulready for Corry (21 mins), D Morey for A Morey (47), P Sheehan for Deasy (47), K Lynch for Malone (50), T Keogh for Purcell (56).

Referee: Cathal McAllister (Cork)

Ticket Information

Adults: €15.00
Children Under 16 years of age: Free of Charge
Student/OAP: Purchase a full price Adult ticket and you can claim a rebate of €5 when you produce appropriate I.D at the stile on match day

Click here to purchase tickets online

Match Programme