Munster Club SFC Final – Commercials 1-7 Nemo Rangers 0-9

Clonmel Commercials (Tipperary) defeated Nemo Rangers (Cork) by 1-7 to 0-9 in the AIB Munster Senior Club Football Championship Final on Sunday November 29th at Mallow.

Munster SFC Final: Clonmel make history


By Denis Hurley for

Clonmel Commercials became the first Tipperary club to win the Munster Club SFC as Michael Quinlivan’s late goal gave them victory over Nemo Rangers at Mallow on Sunday.

As the game moved into its 62nd minute, Nemo were on the verge of a record 16th provincial senior title after reeling off four unanswered points to lead by 0-9 to 0-7, but Clonmel had time to mount one last attack. From Aldo Matassa’s delivery, Quinlivan pounced on the ball when Nemo didn’t clear and his low shot evaded the reach of Micheál Martin to nestle in the bottom corner of the net, sparking wild celebrations.

While they may have needed good fortune to seize victory at the death, it couldn’t be said that Clonmel didn’t deserve victory as they battled well with Nemo throughout. In front of 1,175, the first half saw 10 points shared as Nemo’s good start was neutralised, with Jason Lonergan and Kevin Harney impressing for the Tipperary champions.

Things got better for them upon the resumption as Michael Quinlivan scored a 45 and then a long-range free to put them ahead for the first time, but, as is their wont, Nemo refused to wilt.

It took them until the 45th minute to get a second-half score, through Kerrigan, but the same player almost put them ahead with a goal, unlucky to see his shot hit the post and go wide. Nevertheless, they were level when Luke Connolly scored a fine free from the left and then Kerrigan put them in front before Jack Horgan added another.

The black and green ribbons were being prepared for the cup, but Quinlivan had the decisive say.

Scorers for Clonmel Commercials: Michael Quinlivan 1-3 (2 ’45’, 1f), Jack Kennedy 0-1, Aldo Matassa 0-1, Kevin Harney 0-1, Jason Lonergan 0-1

Scorers for Nemo Rangers: Paul Kerrigan 0-3, James Masters 0-2 (1 free), Jack Horgan 0-1, David Niblock 0-1, Luke Connolly 0-1 (1f), David O’Donovan 0-1

NEMO RANGERS: M Martin; A O’Reilly, C O’Shea, D O’Donovan; K Fulignati, T Ó Sé, A O’Donovan; D Niblock, M Dorgan; C O’Brien, P Kerrigan, D Mehigan; J Masters, B O’Driscoll, C Horgan. Subs: L Connolly for Mehigan (half-time), C Dalton for Horgan (39), P Morgan for Dorgan (45), W Morgan for Masters (50), J Horgan for O’Brien (53).

CLONMEL COMMERCIALS: J McDonald; J Peters, D Lynch, F Condon; L Moore, K Fahey, K Harney; J Kennedy, A Matassa; P White, J Lonergan, I Fahey; J Harney, M Quinlivan, S Kennedy. Subs: I Barnes for J Harney (40), P Looram for Kennedy (43), D Madigan for White (47), E Fitzgerald for I Fahey (59)

Referee: R Hickey (Clare)

Ticket Information
Adults: €15.00
Children Under 16 years of age: Free of Charge
Student/OAP: Purchase a full price Adult ticket and you can claim a rebate of €5 when you produce appropriate I.D at the stile on match day

This is an unreserved fixture

Click to purchase tickets online