Allianz Football League Division 1 – Roscommon 0-14 Kerry 1-10

Roscommon defeated Kerry by 0-14 to 1-10 in Round 2 of the Allianz Football League Division 1 on Sunday February 7th at Fitzgerald Stadium Killarney.

Roscommon score first win over Kerry in 15 years

By Eoghan Cormican for the Irish Examiner

Roscommon 0-14 Kerry 1-10

The footballers of Roscommon sprung a major upset this afternoon in Fitzgerald Stadium when scoring their first win over Kerry in 15 years. Kevin McStay and Fergal O’Donnell’s charges delivered a rousing closing 20 minutes, hitting four points while holding their opponents to just one.

A Stephen O’Brien point on 48 minutes moved Kerry two ahead, but Fitzmaurice’s side would add to their tally on only one further occasion during the remainder of the contest – that a Conor Cox free seven minutes into stoppages – as Cathal Cregg (0-2), Ciaran Murtagh (free) and Enda Smith kicked the Rossies to a famous win.

Kerry held the interval advantage despite going scoreless for 20 minutes of that first period and finding themselves five adrift after 25 minutes. The home outfit started much the brighter and were three to the good following opening scores from Johnny Buckley and a pair of Johnny Buckley frees inside eight minutes.

The visitors, having been turned over seven times in those opening eight minutes, eventually settled, kicking eight unanswered points between the 10th and 25th minute. Chief contributors were Fintan Cregg (two frees) and two massive kicks from Cathal Cregg.

A Barry John Keane free on 28 minutes ended Kerry’s barren spell and they moved back in front thanks in the main to a fine individual goal from Stephen O’Brien on 31 minutes. It was a lead they would not hold as they are now pointless from their opening two league games.

Scorers for Roscommon: C Cregg (0-4); C Murtagh (0-1 free), F Cregg (0-2 frees), E Smith, C Devanney (0-2 each); C Connolly (0-1 each)

Scorers for Kerry: BJ Keane (0-5, 0-4 frees); S O’Brien (1-1); J Buckley (0-2), C Cox (0-1 free), T Walsh (0-1 each).

Kerry: B Kelly; B Ó Beaglaoich, M Griffin, S Enright; P Murphy, A O’Mahony, K Young; D Moran, J Buckley; J Lyne, D O’Sullivan, D Walsh; BJ Keane, T Walsh, S O’Brien
Subs: T O’Sullivan for Lyne (12 mins, inj), A Fitzgerald for D Walsh (49), C Cox for Keane (57), F Fitzgerald for Enright (58), Barry O’Sullivan for Buckley (52, inj), Brendan O’Sullivan (33)

Roscommon: D O’Malley; N McInerney, N Collins, S McDermott; N Daly, D Murray, R Stack; E Smith, I Kilbride; F Cregg, C Devanney, C Daly; C Connolly, C Cregg, C Murtagh
Subs: C Shine for Kilbride (54), S Purcell for C Daly (57), R Daly for C Cregg (59, bc), C McHugh for Connolly (53)

Referee: F Kelly (Longford)

Fixture Details

Sunday February 7th
Allianz Football League Roinn 1 Round 2
Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney 14:00
Ciarraí v Ros Comáin
Referee: Fergal Kelly (An Longfort)

Match Coverage

This game will be shown live on TG4

Team News

The Kerry Senior Football Team to play Roscommon in Round 2 of the Allianz League in Fitzgerald Stadium on Sunday shows three changes in personnel from the side defeated by Dublin in Round 1.

Brian Kelly takes over from Brendan Kealy in goal, Aidan O’Mahony comes into the side in the half back line in place of Fionn Fitzgerald and up front, Jonathan Lyne replaces Philip O’Connor.

Castlegregory’s Alan Fitzgerald is named in the substitutes list as is Barry O’Sullivan from Dingle who won an All Ireland Minor medal with Kerry in 2014.

The team, captained by Killian Young is as follows:

1. Brian Kelly Killarney Legion
2. Brian Ó Beaglaoich An Ghaeltacht
3. Mark Griffin St Michaels/Foilmore
4. Shane Enright Tarbert
5. Paul Murphy Rathmore
6. Aidan O’Mahony Rathmore
7. Killian Young (C) Renard
8. David Moran Kerins O’Rahillys
9. Johnny Buckley Dr Crokes
10. Jonathan Lyne Killarney Legion
11. Darran O’Sullivan Glenbeigh-Glencar
12. Donnchadh Walsh Cromane
13. Barry John Keane Kerins O’Rahillys
14. Tommy Walsh Kerins O’Rahillys
15. Stephen O’Brien Kenmare

Fir Ionaid:
16. Brendan Kealy Kilcummin
17. Fionn Fitzgerald Dr Crokes
18. Philip O’Connor Cordal
19. Padraig O’Connor Killarney Legion
20. Pa Kilkenny Glenbeigh/Glencar
21. Alan Fitzgerald Castlegregory
22. Brendan O’Sullivan Valentia
23. Gavin O’Grady Glenbeigh-Glencar
24. Conor Cox Listowel Emmets
25. Tom O’Sullivan Dingle
26. Barry O’Sullivan Dingle

Bainisteóir: Eamonn Fitzmaurice (Finuge)

Róghnóirí: Diarmuid Murphy (Dingle), Mikey Sheehy (Austin Stacks), Padraig Corcoran (Dingle), Liam Hassett (Laune Rangers).