Allianz Hurling League Division 1A – Kilkenny 2-17 Tipperary 0-18

Kilkenny defeated Tipperary by 2-17 to 0-18 in the Allianz Hurling League Division 1A on Sunday February 21st at Nowlan Park Kilkenny.


By Jackie Cahill for

Two late Kevin Kelly goals handed Kilkenny victory over arch-rivals Tipperary at Nowlan Park on Sunday afternoon. The Cats bounced back from last weekend’s defeat against holders Waterford to kickstart their Allianz Hurling League Division 1A campaign in front of 10,892 spectators.

For Kilkenny, this is a hugely significant victory achieved without a host of recognised stars, and against a Tipp side that saw off Dublin by 14 points in their opening fixture. Kilkenny’s win also ensures that Tipp’s dismal record against the Noresiders since 2010 continues.

In 13 competitive League and championship fixtures since Tipp denied the Cats five-in-a-row All-Ireland titles, they have won just two and on paper at least, this was one they would have felt confident of winning. Brian Cody will have left the venue today feeling deeply satisfied with the depth in his panel as forwards Kelly and Man-of-the-Match James Maher put their hands up for long-term inclusion in his starting line-up.

Kelly’s two clinical goals put this one to bed for Kilkenny as Maher chipped in with four points. Hurler of the Year TJ Reid was also mightily impressive for the hosts, collecting ten points. For Tipp, John ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer was their standout performer with a haul of nine points and while other Premier County players produced some nice cameo moments, Kilkenny had the greater stomach for the fight.

The Kilkenny psychological hex is one that Tipp have struggled to shake off for a long time now and this defeat won’t help their cause. Kilkenny could also afford the luxury of 13 wides and in a hard-hitting encounter, they went in just a point down at half-time, 0-8 to 0-9, having played against the breeze.

Goal chances came and went at either end of the pitch before Kelly struck for that late, decisive brace. Walter Walsh’s delivery saw sub Jonjo Farrell get in behind Cathal Barrett, who slipped, and Kelly finished Farrell’s pass from close range. Kelly found the net with a low strike past Darren Gleeson in the third minute of stoppage time as Kilkenny laid down an early-season marker.


Scorers for Kilkenny: TJ Reid 0-10 (6f, 1 65), K Kelly 2-1, J Maher 0-4, P Walsh 01, W Walsh 0-1

Scorers for Tipperary: J O’Dwyer 0-9 (3f, 2 65s), J McGrath 0-4 (1f), C Kenny 0-2, N McGrath 0-2, M Breen 0-1.

KILKENNY: E Murphy; P Murphy, J Holden, S Prendergast; P Walsh, R Lennon, D Cody; L Ryan, C Fogarty; C Fennelly, TJ Reid, J Maher; W Walsh, K Kelly, J Power
Subs: JJ Farrell for Power (62), K Joyce for Holden (62).

TIPPERARY: D Gleeson; C Barrett, T Hamill, M Cahill; B Maher, J Barry, Pádraic Maher; M Breen, D Quinn; D McCormack, Patrick Maher, J O’Dwyer; N McGrath, C Kenny, J McGrath
Subs: N O’Meara for Kenny (50), R Maher for Quinn (52), J Meagher for Pádraic Maher (68), A Coffey for McCormack (68).

Referee: C McAllister (Cork)

Team News

The Tipperary starting XV to line out against Kilkenny in Round 2 of the Allianz Hurling League in Nowlan Park at 2pm next Sunday, February 21st, is unchanged from last Saturday night’s opening fixture and is as follows –

1. Darren Gleeson – Portroe
2. Cathal Barrett – Holycross-Ballycahill
3. Tomás Hamill – Moyne-Templetuohy
4. Michael Cahill – Thurles Sarsfields
5. Brendan Maher (Capt.) – Borris Ileigh
6. James Barry – Upperchurch-Drombane
7. Padraic Maher – Thurles Sarsfields
8. Michael Breen – Ballina
9. Daire Quinn – Nenagh Éire Óg
10. Dan McCormack – Borris-Ileigh
11. Patrick Maher – Lorrha-Dorrha
12. Jason Forde – Silvermines
13. Noel McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney
14. Conor Kenny – Borris-Ileigh
15. John McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney

16. Darragh Mooney – Éire Óg Anacarty
17. Dylan Fitzelle – Cashel King Cormacs
18. Joe Gallagher – Kiladangan
19. Ronan Maher – Thurles Sarsfields
20. John Meagher – Loughmore-Castleiney
21. Conor O’Brien – Éire Óg Anacarty
22. John O’Dwyer – Killenaule
23. Niall O’Meara – Kilruane MacDonaghs
24. Liam Ryan – Drom & Inch
25. Sean Ryan – Sean Treacy’s
26. Willie Ryan – Clonakenny

Kilkenny (Allianz HL Division 1A v Tipperary): Eoin Murphy; Paul Murphy, Joey Holden, Shane Prendergast; Padraig Walsh, Robert Lennon, Diarmuid Cody; Lester Ryan, Conor Fogarty; Colin Fennelly, T J Reid, James Maher; Walter Walsh, Kevin Kelly, Richie Hogan

Important Match Day Information

Construction work is underway at both the Terrace end and on the extension to Ardan O Cearbhaill (Ted Carroll Stand). This means that the Terrace will be closed to the public for next Sunday and indeed our remaining games next month versus Galway and Dublin. The area around Aras O Cearbhaill(Admin Building) is a building site and is completely out of bounds to the public.

All stands will be open but transfer from one side of the ground to the other will not be possible.
Season Ticket Holders will be admitted to Ardan de Gras (Paddy Grace Stand) via Stiles 9 to 12 on Hebron Road.
Wheelchair users should use special entrance beside Stile 8 to access Wheelchair Area in Ardan de Gras (Paddy Grace Stand)

Stiles will open at 12.30.
Cash will not be accepted at the turnstiles. Tickets will be on sale at the Sales Kiosks on Hebron Road(2) and O’Loughlin Rd(2).
Supporters are urged to purchase in advance to avail of reduced rate and to avoid queues on Sunday.

Ticket Prices
Adults €15 (€10 if purchased before Saturday evening)
Students/Pensioners €10
Under 16’s Free