Allianz Football League Division 3 – Longford 1-17 Tipperary 1-11

Longford defeated Tipperary by 1-17 to 1-11 in the Allianz Football League Division 3 on Sunday March 13th at Pearse Park Longford.

Longford first to lower Tipperary colours

Report from the Irish Examiner newspaper

Longford 1-17 Tipperary 1-11: A fine second half display saw Longford record their second league win in a row and inflict a first league defeat on Tipperary who ended the game with 14 men. Longford’s win coupled with results elsewhere see them join Tipperary, Offaly and Clare on six points, just two behind leaders Kildare.

The hosts were full value for victory with fine individual performances from James McGivney, Darren Gallagher and Brian Kavanagh who finished the game with eight points. Michael Quinlivan and Conor Sweeney were central figures for the visitors. Sweeney’s participation in the game ended in the 44th minute when he was shown a black card for a challenge on Longford defender Dermot Brady.

Tipp were dangerous on the attack and in the 13th minute Donagh Leahy was through on goal but Darren Gallagher blocked his shot. After levelling the game in the 26th minute Longford hit a purple patch and despite Sweeney firing over a free in the 35th minute the home side were in front by three going in at the break; 0-10 to 0-7.

Tipp were a lot brighter in the early exchanges of the second half and scored 1-1 in two minutes, Jason Longeran with the goal. Longford replied but Sweeney put his side ahead again in the 40th minute. Four minutes later and Tipp were dealt a blow when Sweeney received a black card. The lead changed again in the 53rd minute when two frees from the boot of Kavanagh put Longford back in front.

Longford were just two ahead when Tipp defender Shane Leahy was shown a red card. Then Longford’s Michael Quinn got a black card but Longford wrapped up the win in stoppage time with a goal from substitute Larry Moran.

Scorers for Longford: B Kavanagh 0-8 (5f), J McGivney 0-5, L Moran 1-0, D Gallagher, B McKeon, L Connerton, M Hughes 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: C Sweeney 0-6 (3f), M Quinlivan 0-4, (2f), J Longeran 1-1.

LONGFORD: P Collum; CP Smyth, B Gilleran, D Masterson; D Brady, D McElligott, D Reynolds; D Gallagher, M Quinn; J McGivney, B Kavanagh, B McKeon; R Smyth, L Connerton, M Hughes.
Subs: L Moran for M Hughes (65), F Battrim for D Reynolds (67); B Farrell for R Smyth (67), R Connor for L Connerton (69), S Kenny for M Quinn (69 BC).

TIPPERARY: C Kendrick; D Leahy, A Campbell, C McDonald; J Feehan, R Kiely, S Leahy; A Moloney, M Dunne; J Keane, P Acheson, J Longeran; C Sweeney, M Quinlivan, P Austin.
Subs: C O’Shaughnessy for D Leahy (31), I Fahey for J Keane (ht), L Casey for C Sweeney (45 BC), K Fahey for J Feehan (50), B Hewitt for J Longeran (63).

Referee: S McLaughlin (Donegal)

Team News

the Tipperary Senior Football panel to face Longford also on Sunday in round 5 of the Allianz Football League Roinn 3 in Glennon Brothers Pearse Park, Longford at 2pm has also been announced by manager Liam Kearns.
With momentum behind his side, Liam’s side will be eager to build on their good work and keep promotion prospects very much alive. There is one change from last week’s starting 15 with Josh Keane named at right half forward.

The team lines out as follows;
1. Evan Comerford – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
2. Kevin Fahey – Clonmel Commercials
3. Alan Campbell – Moyle Rovers
4. Ciarán Mc Donald – Aherlow
5. Jimmy Feehan – Killenaule
6. Robbie Kiely – Carbery Rangers
7. Shane Leahy – Arravale Rovers
8. Alan Moloney – Rockwell Rovers
9. Martin Dunne – Moyle Rovers
10. Josh Keane – Golden-Kilfeacle
11. Peter Acheson – (Capt.) – Moyle Rovers
12. Jason Lonergan – Clonmel Commercials
13. Conor Sweeney – Ballyporeen
14. Michael Quinlivan – Clonmel Commercials
15. Philip Austin – Borrisokane
16. Ciarán Kendrick – Moyle Rovers
17. Niall O’Donovan – Arravale Rovers
18. Donagh Leahy – Arravale Rovers
19. Billy Hewitt – Ardfinnan
20. John O’Callaghan – Ballyporeen
21. Liam Casey – Cahir
22. David Butler – Drom & Inch
23. Ian Fahey – Clonmel Commercials
24. Mark Hanley – Aherlow
25. Donal Lynch – Clonmel Commercials
26. George Hannigan – Shannon Rovers