Allianz Hurling League Division 1A – Tipperary 2-27 Cork 2-15

Tipperary defeated Cork by 2-27 to 2-15 in the Allianz Hurling League Division 1A on Sunday March 20th at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Interview with Tipperary Senior Hurling Manager Michael Ryan after the game

Cork face relegation play-off as Tipperary book quarter-final place

Tipperary 2-27 Cork 2-15

By Larry Ryan for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Seamus Callanan made a scoring return as Tipperary booked a league quarter-final place in a lacklustre Semple Stadium contest that took the appearance of a puck around long before the end.

Callanan was introduced at half-time to his usual full-forward berth and had three goal attempts foiled before he finally got off the mark, landing the first of two points to the loud acclaim of the sizeable crowd.

Tipp led by 13 points to 10 at half-time, having struck nine first-half wides in a patchy contest that never ignited. Michael Breen was the star turn in that period for Tipp, striding forward to land four points, one a presentable goal chance.

He did hit the net in the second half, following Niall O’Meara’s earlier strike that effectively ended the contest. John Mcgrath set up both goals and scored five points of his own.

For Cork, late goals from Patrick Horgan and sub Paudie O’Sullivan put respectability on the scoreboard but their effort never matched the intensity shown in last week’s narrow defeat by Kilkenny. They now face a relegation play-off with Galway, having lost all five league matches.

Scorers for Tipperary: J O’Dwyer (0-10, 0-9f); M Breen (1-4); J McGrath (0-5); Niall O’Meara (1-1); N McGrath (0-2); D McCormack (0-2), S Callanan (0-2); B Maher (0-1)

Scorers for Cork: P Horgan (1-7, 5 frees); C Lehane (0-3); P O’Sullivan 1-0; B Cooper (0-2); B Lawton (0-1); L O’Farrell (0-1); C Lehane (0-1);

TIPPERARY: D Gleeson; C Barrett, J Barry, C O’Brien; B Heffernan, R Maher, P Maher; B Maher, M Breen; J O’Dwyer, N O’Meara, N McGrath; K Morris, J McGrath, A Ryan
Subs: D McCormack for A Ryan (HT); S Callanan for K Morris (ht; W Ryan for B Heffernan ( A Coffey for N McGrath (58) T Hamill for J Barry( 60)

CORK: P Collins; C Burke, S McDonnell, C O’Sullivan; C Murphy, C Joyce, L McLoughlin; P Haughney, J Cronin; B Lawton, B Cooper, C Lehane; L O’Farrell, A Cadogan, P Horgan
Subs: D Kearney for J Cronin (HT); P Cronin for B Lawton (55) P O’Sullivan for B Cooper (57); S Murphy for K Burke (57);

Referee: Paud O’Dwyer

Team News

The Tipperary team to play Cork in round 5 of the Allianz Hurling League Roinn 1A on Sunday next March 20th in Semple Stadium shows four changes to the side that lined out against Galway.

In defence James Barry starts for the first time since the league opener against Dublin while Conor O’Brien gets his first start of this campaign.

In attack John O’Dwyer is also recalled to the starting fifteen while Kieran Morris from Moycarkey-Borris makes his league debut at top of the right.

The team lines out as follows;

1. Darren Gleeson – Portroe
2. Cathal Barrett – Holycross-Ballycahill
3. James Barry – Upperchurch-Drombane
4. Conor O’Brien – Éire Óg Annacarty
5. Barry Heffernan – Nenagh Éire Óg
6. Ronan Maher – Thurles Sarsfields
7. Padraic Maher – Thurles Sarsfields
8. Brendan Maher (Capt.) – Borris-Ileigh
9. Michael Breen – Ballina
10. John O’Dwyer – Killenaule
11. Niall O’Meara – Kilruane MacDonaghs
12. Noel McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney
13. Kieran Morris – Moycarkey-Borris
14. John McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney
15. Adrian Ryan – Templederry Kenyons
16. Brian Hogan – Lorrha Dorrha
17. Kieran Bergin – Killenaule
18. Seamus Callanan – Drom & Inch
19. Andrew Coffey – Nenagh Éire Óg
20. Tomás Hamill – Moyne-Templetuohy
21. Dan McCormack – Borris-Ileigh
22. Liam McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney
23. John Meagher – Loughmore-Castleiney
24. Daire Quinn – Nenagh Éire Óg
25. Gearóid Ryan – Templederry Kenyons
26. Willie Ryan – Clonakenny

The Cork team for Sunday Allianz Hurling League game v Tipperary in Semple Stadium, Thurles @ 2pm has been announced as follows:

1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
2. Cillian Burke (Midleton)
3. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers) Captain
4. Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfield)
5. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)
6. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
7. Lorcan McLoughlin (Kanturk)
8. Paul Haughney (Midleton)
9. John Cronin (Lisgould)
10. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)
11. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
12. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
13. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton)
14. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)
15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

16. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)
17. Stephen Murphy (Blackrock)
18. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)
19. Niall Cashman (Blackrock)
20. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfield)
21. William Egan (Kilbrin)
22. Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown)
23. Paidie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)
24. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
25. Stephen Moylan (Douglas)
26. William Leahy (Aghada)

Ticket Information

Pre-Purchase Price:
Adult: €10/£8 (Pre-Purchase discount ends midnight on the day before the fixture)

Match-Day Price:
Adult: €15/£12
Concessions: €10/£8 available as an Adult Pre-Purchase ticket in advance or on match day at the grounds only

Juveniles under 16: free of charge

All tickets for this match are UNRESERVED.

Click here to purchase tickets in advance