EirGrid GAA Football Under 21 All-Ireland Championship Final – Mayo 5-7 Cork 1-14

Mayo defeated Cork by 5-7 to 1-14 in the EirGrid GAA Football Under 21 All-Ireland Championship Final on Saturday April 30th at Cusack Park Ennis.

EirGrid All Ireland U21 Final: Mayo win thriller in Ennis


Mayo 5-7 Cork 1-14

By Cian O’Connell at Cusack Park, Ennis for GAA.ie

Mayo finished a brilliant EirGrid All Ireland Under 21 Final with a flourish to claim a first national title at this level since 2006. Conor Loftus and Liam Irwin netted late goals for Mayo, who shaded a gripping game at Cusack Park. Cork had fought back to level with five minutes remaining, but Mayo pinched two goals to seal a dramatic triumph.

A lively opening period was laced with drama as Mayo finished strongly to depart at the break armed with a 2-5 to 0-7 advantage. Despite being backed by the wind Mayo trailed by three points as the interval approached, but Michael Solan’s team struck 2-1 without reply. That Mayo burst ensured they went in heartened at the interval even though Cork were productive early on.

Brian Coakley, Ryan Harkin, and Sean Powter all impressed for the Rebels, who led by 0-7 to 0-4 as the first half entered stoppage time. Mayo then pounced for a goal when Diarmuid O’Connor palmed home following smart approach work by Michael Plunkett. Liam Irwin subsequently banged over a free and Mayo netted a second goal with Plunkett again the provider. On this occasion Plunkett’s pass was gathered by Irwin, who supplied a crisp finish, and suddenly Mayo were ahead by four at the turnaround.

Loftus bagged a 37th minute goal to edge Mayo 3-6 to 0-10 on front, but Cork kept battling away to narrow the gap. A 46th minute Peter Kelleher major injected Cork with confidence and a Brian Coakley point on 55 had the Rebels trading at parity again. But Mayo weren’t going to be denied as they punished costly Cork lapses in concentration late on with Loftus and Irwin supplying the decisive blows.

Scorers for Mayo: L Irwin 2-2 (1f, 145), C Loftus 2-2 (2fs), D O’Connor 1-0, M Plunkett 0-2, M Ruane 0-1.

Scorers for Cork: B Coakley 0-5 (3fs), S O’Donoghue 0-4 (3fs, 145), P Kelleher 1-0, R Harkin 0-2, R O’Toole 0-1, M Hurley 0-1, S Powter 0-1.

Mayo: M Flanagan; E O’Donoghue, S Cunniffe, D Kenny; S Akram, J Kelly, M Hall; M Ruane, S Coen; F Boland, C Loftus, D O’Connor; L Irwin, F Duffy, M Plunkett
Subs: J Carr for Duffy (44 mins), B Duffy for Kelly (56 mins), M Lyons for Plunkett (56 mins).

Cork: A Casey; J Mullins, M McSweeney, K Histon; K Flahive, S Cronin, E Lavers; R O’Toole, S White; S O’Donoghue, S Powter, R Harkin; B Coakley, P Kelleher, M Hurley
Subs: S O’Leary for O’Toole (37 mins), D O’Duinin for White (45 mins, bc), C Kiely for Harkin (54 mins), S Sherlock for Hurley (57 mins), D Quinn for McSweeney (60 mins).

Referee: P Hughes (Armagh

Fixture Details

EirGrid GAA All-Ireland Under 21 Football Championship Final
Cork v Mayo
Venue: Cusack Park, Ennis
Date: Saturday April 30th, 6pm
Referee: Padraig Hughes (Armagh)
Extra Time If Necessary

Team News

The Cork team to play Mayo in the EirGrid GAA All-Ireland U21 Football Championship Final on Saturday April 30th at 6pm in Cusack Park Ennis has been announced as follows.

Cork Team

1. Anthony Casey – Kiskeam
2. Michael McSweeney – Newcestown
3. John Mullins – Eire Og
4. Dylan Quinn – St Finbarrs
5. Kevin Flahive – Douglas
6. Stephen Cronin – Nemo Rangers Captain
7. Kieran Histon – Cobh
8. Sean White – Clonakilty
9. Sean O Leary – Bantry Blues
10. Sean O Donoghue – Inniscarra
11. Sean Powter – Douglas
12. Ryan Harkin – Mallow
13. Brian Coakley – Carrigaline
14. Peter Kelleher – Kilmichael
15. Michael Hurley – Castlehaven
16. Ross Donovan – Nemo Rangers
17. Kevin Cremin – Boherbue
18. Eoin Lavers – Dohenys
19. Cian Kiely – Ballincollig
20. Ronan O Toole – Eire Og
21. Stephen Sherlock – St Finbarrs
22. Dan O Duinin – Cill Na Martra
23. Sean O Donovan Ilen Rovers
24. Cian Dorgan – Ballincollig

Ticket Information

Adults: €20.00
Concession: €15.00 available on the day at the venue or €5.00 rebate will be in operation for those with valid ID that purchased full price Adult tickets at the designated concession stile
Juvenile (Under 16 years of Age): Free of Charge

All tickets for this fixture are UNRESERVED

Ticket available on http://corkgaa.tickets.ie/ and in Centra/Supervalu Stores as listed below

Centra/Supervalu Ticket Outlets
Centra Carrigtwohill Cork
Centra Fermoy Cork
Centra Mallow Cork
Centra Bishopstown Cork
Centra Crosshaven Cork
Centra Charleville Cork
Centra Tower Cork
Centra Togher Cork
The Pavilion Cafe Bar Cork
Pluggd Records Cork
Hurley’s SuperValu, Midleton, Co Cork
Singleton’s SuperValu, Hollyhill, Co Cork
Collin’s SuperValu, Blarney, Co Cork
Murphy’s SuperValu, Castletownbere, Co Cork
Healy’s SuperValu, Dunmanway, Cork City
Twohig’s SuperValu, Kanturk, Co Cork
O’ Keefe’s SuperValu, Newmarket, Co Cork
O’ Keefe’s SuperValu, Millstreet, Co Cork
Fields’s SuperValu, Skibereen, Co Cork
Collins’ SuperValu, Carrigaline, Co Cork
Scally’s SuperValu, Blackrock, Co Cork
Dano’s SuperValu, Mallow, Co Cork
Caulfield’s SuperValu, Merchants Quay, Cork City
Riordan’s SuperValu, Fermoy, Co Cork
Caulfield’s SuperValu, Bandon, Co Cork
Down’s SuperValu, Ballincollig, Co Cork
Scally’s SuperValu, Clonakilty, Co Cork
Quish’s SuperValu, Ballincollig, Co Cork
Dick’s SuperValu, Charleville, Co Cork
Garvey’s SuperValu, Cobh, Co Cork
Brooke’s SuperValu, Youghal, Co Cork
Ryan’s SuperValu, Glanmire, Co Cork
Ryan’s SuperValu, Togher, Co Cork
O’Leary’s SuperValu, Macroom, Co Cork
SuperValu, Kinsale, Co Cork
SuperValu, Mayfield, Co Cork
SuperValu, Boherbue, Co Cork
SuperValu, Mallow, Co Cork
SuperValu, Macroom, Co Cork
Biggs SuperValu, Bantry, Co Cork
Reidy’s SuperValu, Michelstown, Co Cork
Ryan’s SuperValu, Grange, Co Cork