Leinster Senior Hurling Championship – Westmeath 1-18 Kerry 1-13

Westmeath defeated Kerry by 1-18 to 1-13 in Round 2 of the Leinster Senior Hurling Championship Round Robin competition on Saturday May 7th at Austin Stack Park Tralee.

Leinster Senior Hurling Championship Round Robin

Westmeath 1-18 Kerry 1-13

By Paul Brennan at Austin Stack Park, Tralee for GAA.ie

Kerry were brought back to earth with a comprehensive five-point defeat to Westmeath in Tralee which means they must go to Offaly in two weeks and not be beaten if they are to advance further in the Leinster Championship.

Improvement was needed on last week’s historic win over Carlow, but Kerry simply couldn’t raise their game enough to compete with a Westmeath team hurling with great skill and confidence. The visitors showed that their comprehensive 14-point win over Offaly a week earlier was no flash in the pan result as they came to Tralee and gave Kerry a hurling lesson on a wet pitch.

Having been four points down at half time, Westmeath outscored Kerry 1-11 to 0-5 in the second half, with Derek McNicholas’ 46th minute goal being the pivotal score. That gave Westmeath the lead for the first time since they opened the scoring in the second minute, and they never looked back against a Kerry team devoid of energy and ideas for most of this contest.

The first half was a curious affair with Westmeath playing the better hurling, but Kerry still enjoyed a four-point lead at the interval, somewhat against the run of play.With Cormac Boyle, Robbie Greville, and Niall O’Brien lending pace and creativity up front Westmeath impressed, but they couldn’t quite convert that dominance into a lead on the scoreboard.

Eoin Price got Westmeath off the mark in the second minute, but Kerry responded with two Shane Nolan converted frees and a John Egan score to nudge ahead. Liam Varley got Westmeath’s second point after 10 minutes, but Kerry, a little against the run of play, engineered a goal. Michael O’Leary did the spade work to get the ball to Mikey Boyle, who scooped it to the net past a flat-footed Westmeath defence.

Kerry’s doggedness deserved that much, but Westmeath were simply hurling better and points from McNicholas, Alan Devine, Niall O’Brien, and Cormac Boyle brought Westmeath back level, 0-6 to 1-3, by the 19th minute. Unanswered Westmeath points from Eoin Price, Niall O’Brien, and Cormac Boyle (2) levelled it, 1-8 to 0-11, by the 41st minute, but then McNicholas took Aaron Craig’s long delivery and drove his shot low past Aidan McCabe.

The goal put Westmeath two ahead but their confidence was rising and they saw out the game easy enough, with the ever influential McNicholas scoring two more from play and Tommy Doyle giving a masterclass at full back. Kerry’s woes were compounded by a 75th minute red card for Mikey Boyle for an off the ball incident, and his loss could be costly against Offaly in a fortnight.

Scorers for Westmeath: D McNicholas 1-3, N O’Brien 0-5 (4fs), C Boyle 0-3, E Price 0-2, A Devine 0-1, R Greville 0-1, L Varley 0-1, A Clarke 0-1, B Murtagh 0-1.

Scorers for Kerry: S Nolan 0-4 (4fs), M Boyle 1-1, J Goulding 0-2, P Lucid 0-2(2fs), B O’Leary 0-2, J Egan 0-1, B Barrett 0-1.

Westmeath: P Maloney; S Power, T Doyle, T Gallagher; A Craig, G Greville, A Clark;, C Boyle, E Price; A Devine, D McNicholas, R Greville; L Varley, D Egerton, N O’Brien
Subs: N Mitchell for Gallagher (25), B Murtagh for Egerton (59), D Clinton for Price (70), C Shaw for Power (70), A McGrath for McNicholas (70).

Kerry: A McCabe; B Murphy, P Kelly, K Carmody; J Diggins, D Dineen, T Murnane; J Griffin, D Collins; B O’Leary, M O’Leary, S Nolan; J Goulding, M Boyle, J Egan
Subs: P Lucid for Nolan (HT), J Conway for M O’Leary (46), T Casey for J Griffin (55), B Barrett for Goulding (60), J Buckley for Collins (65).

Referee: John Keenan (Wicklow)

Fixture Details

07.05.2016 (Sat)
Leinster GAA Hurling Senior Championship Qualifier Group Round 2
Austin Stack Park, Tralee
15:00 Ciarraí v An Iarmhí
Referee: John Keenan (Cill Mhantáin)

Ticket Information

Adult: €10.00
Juvenile (Under 16 Years of Age): Free of Charge
Student/Senior Citizen: €5 rebate is available on full price ADULT tickets on match day only with valid ID

All tickets for this fixure are UNRESERVED

Click here to buy in advance

Team News

The Kerry Senior Hurling Team to play Westmeath in the Leinster Senior Hurling Championship Round Robin Group, Round 2, at Tralee’s Austin Stack Park on Saturday next (3pm) shows just one change in personnel from the side that defeated Carlow in Round 1. Brendan O’Leary replaces Colum Harty in the half forward line – O’Leary replaced the injured Harty, who is named among the subs, early in the game against Carlow.

The team captained by Daniel Collins of Kilmoyley lines out as follows:

1 Aidan McCabe Kilmoyley
2 Bryan Murphy Causeway
3 Patrick Kelly Clarecastle
4 Keith Carmody Causeway
5 Jason Diggins Causeway
6 Darren Dineen St Brendans
7 Tom Murnane Kilmoyley
8 John Griffin Lixnaw
9 Daniel Collins (C) Kilmoyley
10 Brendan O’Leary Abbeydorney
11 Michael O’Leary Abbeydorney
12 Shane Nolan Crotta O’Neills
13 Jack Goulding Ballyduff
14 Mikey Boyle Ballyduff
15 John Egan St Brendans

Fir Ionaid:

16 Martin Stackpoole Lixnaw
17 Brendan Brosnan Lixnaw
18 John Buckley Lixnaw
19 Tommy Casey Causeway
20 Paudie O’Connor Kilmoyley
21 Jordan Conway Crotta O’Neills
22 Dougie Fitzelle Kilmoyley
23 Colum Harty Causeway
24 Philip Lucid Ballyheigue
25 James O’Connor Abbeydorney
26 Sean Weir Crotta O’Neills


Bainisteoir: Ciaran Carey (Patrickswell)
Coach/Selector: Mark Foley (Adare)
Treanálaí: Damien Ryall (Abbeydorney)
Róghnoirí: James McCarthy (Kilmoyley), Michael Conway (Lixnaw)

Additional Players on Panel

Darragh Shanahan Kilmoyley
Jordon Brick Kilmoyley
P J Keane Abbeydorney
Mike Milner Dr Crokes
Rory Horgan St Brendans
Stephen Murphy Causeway
Fionan Horgan St Brendans
Joseph Diggins Causeway

The Ballyduff pair, Paud Costelloe and Padraig Boyle, are rehabbing from injury.

Westmeath: Paddy Maloney; Shane Power, Tommy Doyle, Tommy Gallagher; Aaron Craig, Gary Greville, Aonghus Clarke; Cormac Boyle, Eoin Price; Alan Devine, Derek McNicholas, Robbie Greville; Liam Varley, Brendan Murtagh, Niall O’Brien.